We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birmingham's best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is amazing. The hotel room was great and the staff was friendly and professional. The hotel is tucked away in an exclusive Birmingham subdivision and boasts a golf course for your pleasure.
If you are traveling for work and can take your spouse - they will enjoy the amenities.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony that looks out at the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaykayMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a great Alabama hotel on a great golf course. The hotel itself is clean with good rooms. I will say that the check in was extremely un professional. We are Marriott gold and are always either offered an upgrade, or are apologized to for not having one, we were given neither. The food was great and the rest of the service was good though.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Hotel is highly overrated ...especially by locals who have never been to a real 5 star this is big time for Birmingham. The restaurants food is mediocre and dirty, beat up looking and the linens and silverware are not clean. Take a close look the tables, the bar and you will see how bad it is. Also, if you pick up food from the Grill, the servers have a tendency to tip themselves without your knowledge or if they take your card they actually authorize it for MORE than your total bill but when it finally settles after 5 days it goes back to the original amount (unless of course the servers have illegally tipped themselves for a take out order- wire fraud) ...The front lobby furniture/area is just bizarre, as it looks like the furniture came a flea market or garage sale. The building structure I would give a thumbs up but insofar as service, quality of food, amenities, I would rate anywhere from a 1 start to 3 at best. The bar drinks tasted like swamp water and I am not sure what was served to me... I ended up throwing up in the ladies room after two sips. I had two other guests with me taste the drink and both agreed it tasted strange. The bartender definitely did not have a southern hospitality about her ...but we were the only people there and it took her 35 minutes to get the drink order out.. Disgusting atmosphere.

Room Tip: go to a real 5 star hotel then go to this one and note the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick S, General Manager at Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for letting me know about your recent experience. If you can contact me at 205-916-7677, I sincerely would like to hear more about your visit.

Rick Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This is by far the premier place to stay when visiting Birmingham. Nothing even comes close to the quality of service and sheer pampering available at Ross Bridge. I'm a frequenter of this property, and my only real complaint would be they do not participate in the platinum complimentary breakfast that all Marriott resorts, even the Cosmopolitan in Vegas, are doing. The golf is out of this world, and the Spa is the best I've seen in these parts. If you are lucky, visit in the summer and sit out by the incredible pool. At night they have fires out on the patio. Maybe you even get a complimentary upgrade to one of the suits or corner units. Overall this is my favorite property in Alabama.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlisleC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is the fourth time we stayed at this beautiful hotel and we will definitely be back - it was great!! The facilites are brilliant, swimmingpool fine and a real treat is to hear the bagpipes every evening! Rooms are clean and nicely furnished, the bathroom is wonderful - with the separate showerunit - really nice! And - of course, not to forget the most outstanding Golfcourse - a gem amongst the Robert Trent Jones courses and fun to play it!!The area is very pleasant - and I would recommend this hotel for business as well as relaxtion - you can do both and still relax!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudrun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Roos Bridge for a business outing. The hotel is located in the back of a beautiful community of homes and shops. From the outside it takes your breath away. The lobby is gorgeous with dark wood and metal tones. The front desk staff was very friendly accommodating and got me into my room in a quick fashion. The room itself was clean and nicely arranged. I wish I could take the lounger back with me home it was so comfy. The bathroom was the real standout. It was beautiful with great tile work and a nicely sized glass door shower. The view of the golf course was beautiful as well and made sitting on the porch a wonderful experience. Onsite are tennis courts and bikes, both of which I took advantage of. The restaurants were great with fantastic burgers and sweet tea. Overall I had a fantastic experience and when returning to Alabama I will definitely look at staying here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mgobluebison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel and golf resort. Upon arrival we were given an upgrade to a pool view room. In many hotels, a room with a view of the pool might not be considered an upgrade but this hotel is certainly an exception. We arrived in our room just in time to see and hear the bag pipe player from our balcony. Our experience with the staff was great including the valet. Dinner in the hotel's restaurant was outstanding as was the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
10.1 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#19 of 80 in Birmingham
451 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
9.7 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#26 of 80 in Birmingham
458 reviews
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
9.0 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Mountain Brook, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 4000 Grand Ave, Birmingham, AL 35226-6201
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £141 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the beautiful rolling hills and experience one of the finest Birmingham, AL hotels. Secluded from every day cares, yet close to a vibrant city, Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa embodies comfortable sophistication and the casual elegance of a royal retreat. Our AAA Four-Diamond Birmingham golf resort's plush guest rooms include balconies overlooking stunning grounds, and a signature pool featuring enchanting waterfalls and fountains that will truly amaze you. Boasting the third-longest golf course in the world, the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail course is highlighted by sweeping majestic views of the surrounding foothills. Stimulate your senses at the lavish 12,000-square-foot European spa located inside of our hotel. It is exclusively designed to ensure complete relaxation and tranquility. Experience our Birmingham, AL hotel’s luxury and discover a delightful escape at Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Hotel Birmingham
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort And Spa
Renaissance Ross Bridge Resort
Renaissance Ross Bridge Hotel
Renaissance Birmingham
Birmingham Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing