We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to take a rest while shopping”
Review of Primeaux Cheese and Vino - CLOSED

Primeaux Cheese and Vino
Cuisines: Cafe, Wine Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice Place to take a rest while shopping”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

They have great blue cheese chips. Great choice of wines and cheeses. They have a selection of salads, fish and burgers so everyone should find something they will enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ben-jam-in-done-that
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Primeaux is PRIMO”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Primeaux Cheese and Vino
300 Summit Blvd Ste 104
Birmingham, AL 35243

We visited a new place in the Summit called Primeaux Cheese and Vino. We were both pleasantly surprised to find such a jewel in Birmingham. It seems that each day more and more places pop up with promise. This one is a keeper. Not only do they have a decent wine selection they have a good and decent staff to tell you about the pairings and choices. Christopher was our server and although new he did a good job earning a 20% plus tip.

They have a cheese and meat counter as well as a full bar serving cocktails and also a couple of local craft beers on tap. This combination, along with outdoor dining too! Im there! OK I was there, but Im going back!

We started with the charcuterie plate and cocktails and finished with red wine and the bleu cheese chips. OMG! This appetizer is a real value packed with enough crunchy kettle chips for two or three and if you like bleu, just ask for extra chutney and bleu cheese and just douse it. Delish!

LOVED it! We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Urban_Cowgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crane Hill, Alabama, United States
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great retreat at a mall!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We visited, the waiter Christopher was fantastic, took his time, explained things well and let us pace ourselves. First we had signature cocktails ... Dirty blue martini and manhattan. Both were good and the quality of the stuffed olives on my martini was kickin,!

We did a small charcuterie plate, really excellent tastes. We ordered the homemade potato chips with blue cheese and chutney...wow. Huge portion and Chris offered up more cheese sauce and chutney and bread. By then we were stuffed. Our wines were good but they seemed a touché under poured but whatever. We will go back based on value and convenience!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolB347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit of France!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Warmed up a January night! We walked into a silver beaded curtain entrance, no one came to seat us, so we sought a waiter out, minor glitch. French bistro atmosphere with black and white decor, red touches, including red bags for your cheese purchases from cases in the rear of the restaurant. You can order a tasting of wine which is half a glass, which I did, in order to try more than one red. Under small plates, tried Rogue blue cheese chips with bacon and apple chutney--outstanding! Had the redfish special and asked for lentils as a side instead of potatoes--perfect.
My husband's hanger steak special was fine he said. He thought the accompanying truffle fries were greasy, but I liked. Will definitely be back, we said!
They have Thursday wine tastings 4-6 p

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anglophilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Brook, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Don't let the fact that it's in the mall fool you!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Living in Birmingham and being somewhat of a "foodie" I thought I knew about most of the fare available around here. Well...I was wrong. Found this place by accident and throughly enjoyed myself. The atmosphere is good, the staff seemed trained and interested in my experience and my food was delicious. I started with some truffle oil infused popcorn which was outstanding followed by the fried egg sandwich which was cooked to perfection and enjoyed a bottle of wine (which seemed reasonably priced) during my meal (a late lunch/early dinner). The look and ambiance of the interior of the restaurant is good with the exception of some tacky "paper balls" of some sort hanging in the window reminiscent of high school prom decorations. Nevertheless, this place is on my "go back soon" list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgall92016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Primeaux Cheese and Vino also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing