We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo! Brava!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alabama Symphony Orchestra
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bravo! Brava!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

One of the finest, smaller symphony ensembles anywhere. Our band was invited to Carnegie Hall to perform in May, 2102. And a memorable performance it was. 700 symphony enthusiasts from Birmingham attended the concert (including my wife and I). One cannot do better when in Birmingham than to experience the Alabama Symphony (indoors or out-of-doors in the summer).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Birmingham Cultural Jewel”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Having lived in NYC for the past decade, we'd become accustomed to excellent classical music at Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall, but when we arrived in Birmingham we wondered if the Alabama Symphony would measure up. It does, superbly, in every way. We've enjoyed their consistently high quality performances in the acoustically and aesthetically wonderful Jemison Concert Hall, and were impressed with their recent well-received appearance at Carnegie Hall. A pair of season tickets to the Masterworks Series at ASO is our response to this mid-South musical gem.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollittap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

I have been attending at least 10 performances a year for the last few years, including their performance at Carnegie Center in NYC. They are a joy to listen to and a true treasure for Birmingham and Alabama. I was very proud to see them in NYC. They always put on a great performance. The energy in the audience is great as we all support the ASO. BRAVO!!!

Helpful?
Thank vinjcir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An enjoyable day”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Like most small symphonies, the Alabama Symphony struggled to remain relevant. It almost disappeared, but has come back strong with a group of talented musicians. Their concerts are always well attended and so is the pops series.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottondale, Alabama, United States
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“They are ok”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

They preformed at my work place in december. They are ok and they only orchestra we have in the state, seing them for free is nice, but i would not pay to see them.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alabama Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Alabama Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing