We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Prattville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant get-away”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had a speaking engagement in Birmingham and decided to treat my wife to a night there and found the Cobb Lane the only B & B in or around the city. We spent Tuesday afternoon at the Birmingham Zoo, then checked into Cobb Lane and walked 1 mile on a pleasant evening to the Fish Market Restaurant downtown. The next day we enjoyed a nice breakfast, then went to the Botanical Gardens, then to the Galleria mall before my speaking engagement. A very nice little short getaway. The house is beautiful and the antique furnishings and decorations really add authenticity to the atmosphere. We stayed in the Magnolia Suite, which was clean, filled with amazing old pieces, and was very nice. Not a great TV, but we weren't there to watch TV, so no problem for us. Internet, though a little slow, was provided. When we reserved the room online, we received an email, and were offered an "upgrade" to another property owned by the same people not far from there, but after consideration, my wife thought she would like the Cobb Lane best, so we passed on the upgrade. When we arrived, the nice young lady reminded us again about the "upgrade" and it became obvious that other guests were there at the other property and it would have been more convenient if we were all together in the same place, since we were the only ones left at Cobb Lane. They are trying to promote this new house and get some good reviews, but my wife likes the older, more antique atmosphere, and the other house seemed more modern. We were told we could go and have our breakfast at 7 with the other guests in the morning or they could make it just for us there at 8. We felt that we were being a bit of an imposition, but we really preferred an 8:00 breakfast anyway, so we opted to stay there. The host was very nice and kind, and we asked about the history of the house and enjoyed getting to know him. The breakfast was very good and enjoyed in a beautiful dining room setting. We would certainly recommend Cobb Lane, and if you think you might like the other property, I'm sure they would give you a good deal as they are trying to expand their business.

Room Tip: If you like antique furniture and a "fainting couch" choose the Magnolia Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrentMsldn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for selecting our Southern Magnolia suite at COBB LANE BED AND BREAKFAST. It is often the Honeymoon or Anniversary get-away for couples. Our other Inn is HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BED AND BREAKFAST, just 2 blocks away in the same historic district. Its favorite Honeymoon and Anniversary room is Enchanting Turrett with a 4 post high king size bed and also a queen bed inside the turret (Victorian architectural element that looks like an inverted snow cone and you sleep in its middle). This reviewer thought our other Inn is more modern. Actually, both are 1898 Victorian Mansions, Cobb Lane is 4,500 sq ft built by the Tax Collector and nearby is Hassinger Daniels Mansion 10,500 sq ft built by the President of the Iron Company and more grand in its scale, materials, and details. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    24
    15
    15
    6
See reviews for
13
59
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at Cobb Lane. We both had never stayed at a place like it before and so we didn't know what to expect. First, the house is beautiful and quaint from the outside. It shows little signs of aging but that is to be expected from an old house and it adds to the experience. The inside is filled with antiques and old pictures. Each room has its own theme and character. We stayed in the Periminkle room which was great. Breakfast was served in a dining room on beautiful china. It was fun to talk to the other guests from out of town. If you aren't social there are a few other tables off on the side that you may choose. The owner, Shelia, was very hospitable and made everyone feel welcome. We also appreciated the soda and bottles of water in the community fridge for the guests as well as the cookies and brownies set out in the parlour when we arrived! We will definitely be back, and possibly try out their other bed and breakfast in the future!
One mistake we made is booking through orbitz which I would not recommend. Just book through them directly. We were told on orbitz that we had the zebra room which we did not in fact have. It wasn't a huge deal to us but I know for some it would be. You will be guarenteed a room if you just book directly :)
Thank you Cobb Lane Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are delighted that we happened to be the first BB that this delightful couple stayed in and hope they'll continue to try other BBs in other cities and countries. Each one is different and you learn alot about the local community and culture by doing so. Their praise is much appreciated. Thank you so much for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

One night's stay at the Hassinger Daniels Mansion in the "Blue Serenity". We were not there for pleasure as my friend's 2 week old baby was in the nearby Childrens hospital undergoing heart surgery. We booked this location for the experience of a B&B instead of an hotel. Although, I have tourned many B&B's I have never actually stayed in one.
My friend is disabled and after walking alot at the hospital we regretted the 3rd floor stair case. The Hassigner house is beautiful however, it did have small details that they were still working on & repairing. No biggie's to us. We just wanted a place to lay our heads as we were wiped after an exhausting long day at the hospital. To relax, kick back and watch some TV.
Booking, I called expeida firstly but because of our need for special accomodations, I called the B&B myself. I recommend you all do this and speak with Shelia. Shelia, the owner was curtious and offered us an 10% discount due to the situation as to why we were there. We recommended this Inn to the hospital staff and as a side not for Shelia, the hospital said send them some information to be on their hotel discounted list for hospital family stays.
I called to get information and Shelia was told that I would be getting the information and at a later time my friend would reserve our room. Somehow we ended up on the third floor. However when my friend called, she was distracted from her other grandbaby and didn't feel Shelia was to blame totally.
When we arrived, we were greeted by a large tasty punch bowl full of punch as soon as you entered. There were cookies and cakes both days. This was a special touch and homey feel, being southern ourselves we can appreciate southern hospitality especially since we were not there for pleasure, it was comforting. Shelia was rather busy when we arrived yet still courteous. The Inn was hosting an parent guided graduation dinner, Shelia was sure to tell us that it wasnt going to be loud. We were out during that time and when we returned it was all fine. We dined across the street at Blackmarket bar and grill. It was the closest and we did not feel like walking further! It was ok if your into this atmosphere, a little different but we could appreciate the experience in "different". The burgers were half price which was an added bonus and to be honest, where the price should stay. Alot of history there as it's building was old and the decor was amusing.
When we first saw our room it was nice but due to the room's shapes we were not able to see the TV, a nice antique wardrobe didn't have many places to be placed. I just feel that comfort is more important when you are away. Yes, it was a delight to see all the nice pieces but this room needed to be re arranged so that the TV was not blocked. We understand the charm's and uniqueness of Inn's but this room could be made for comfort while showing the pieces. Shelia is an proud owner and she does have room to brag, but due to our circumstances we would have liked to hear more about comfort instead of each room's uniqueness, clawed feet bathtubs etc. while booking. We chose the B&B for an comfort of that down home feel while viewiing it's history and beauty. There were two beds, one full and half bed in an odd shaped nook. This bed was unmade when we arrived and we apologized to and were told that it had been a rush. They did fix the bed and to us it was an minor detail but we are greatful we didn't arrive at bedtime as we were exhausted. Shelia did make accomodations for us for a later check out if we desired to do so.
The AC was feeling great a little noisey and cut off in the night and it was a little warm, it woke us up. We didn't say anything the next morning as we managed to fall back to sleep. Breakfast was served at 8am instead of 7am, I believe this was accomdated for another guest. Ira was introduced to us, her crafty spouse and he led the converstation at breakfast time with all the guest sitting at the beautifly displayed table. Ira being from the north, is understood but he's had to learn alot of southern ways. We thought it was inpolite to be given our check at the breakfast table surrounded by all the other guest that did not sign for their rooms. Today's breakfast at hotels can be rather fully displayed. We did ask what was for breakfast from Danielle (employee) she did not knnow but gave us what the usual was through out the week and weekends. Had we have known, we could request the type of breakfast we desired, we would have asked, this was not made known ahead of time. The sliced frozen cooked quiche and although beautifully displayed on the plate, fresh grapes, kiwi and a type of hot danish, fresh coffee, orange juice and water. If you don't ask for more or say what you prefer the night before you will get only what is served. I can understand the quaintness of an B&B however the displays of furniture, relics and history are more played upon rather than comfort. To us, it's needed more southern charm of hospitality with breakfast and the understanding of great southern hosting. Shelia was really nice but Ira lacks this southern charm. Perhaps the Inn needs this southern girl to show their guest some real southern hospitality. Respectfully speaking. IMHO, play more on comfort as guest who do appreciate the unique charm of an Inn, comfort is what beyond what look's good when your staying over night. The other staff was great as we mixed and mingled with other guest's and staff.
The Hassinger house web site is not up and running and im unsure as to why. Be sure to ask for internet password for free wifi if needed.

Room Tip: Be sure to land the room that accomodates you best. Blue Serenity at Hassingers Mansion is on top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAMA-Girl-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BED AND BREAKFAST. Our hearts go out to these wonderful ladies and others who must travel suddenly for medical reasons. In this case, it was for the surgery of their granddaughter. A very difficult emotional time, for sure. We learned in this review that one had mobility issues but we were not advised of this at the booking. Rather, the request was for the most affordable room with 2 beds, which is Blue Serenity and Vulcan Vista rooms. Since we are at "start-up" on our 2nd Inn, their comments are helpful to guide some easy modifications -- shift the TV location in their room, sign credit card slips in private (my husband now does this), better communication about what is for breakfast and who likes what. All good suggestions. We hope the baby is OK. Thank you for coming and please come again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton Massachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our family truly enjoyed the Cobb Lane B&B. The house is beautifully decorated, though it may not be everyone's taste. Sheila, the hostess was warm and friendly upon arrival and we had no issues with her. Our family of three stayed in the Country French Suite, which we felt was a great deal. In Country French our teenage son had his own bedroom, though he did have to come into our room to watch TV or use the bathroom. The two rooms are across the hall from each other at the end of the hallway and can be locked off for privacy. The only downside we found here was the music playing from a nearby restaurant/bar late into the night that could be heard clearly in our room. Over breakfast other guests told us they heard the music as well and tried going to the source only to find the restaurant closed, while still pumping out the recorded music all night. While this was not the fault of Cobb Lane it did detract from our night's sleep. Breakfast was good, but not excellent. There were no choices and not everyone in our family would choose eggs if another option were offered. We enjoyed our visit and if we return to Birmingham we would happily return to Cobb Lane.

Room Tip: Country French is a great deal for families, though you may be listening to music whether you like i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are glad you would recommend Cobb Lane Bed and Breakfast and plan to come again. We also thank you for being our guests. Regarding breakfast selections, we make other selections when requested, such as for vegetarians, gluten free, medical patients, or those with religious preferences. Next time, please let us know your preferences when you arrive that night. We plan to show your comment to the other property owner abut their night music that you heard during your stay. Please write to me at info@cobblanebandb.com with the date of your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whispering Pines, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The B & B and the working staff were great. The breakfast however gave us a different taste for the B & B. The owner definitely caters to the "employed" guests vs the vacationing guests. We were first to enter the dining room and since there was a table to the side set for 2, we chose that in case there were families or singles and left the dining room table for them. Big mistake! The owner sat and chatted with those folks exclusively and other than our initial cup of coffee totally ignored us. She actually circled the dining room table with coffee refills for all - except us. Never asked, never once looked in our direction. My husband got up, walked behind her, filled his cup, returned to our table, picked up my cup and refilled it. No acknowledgement of having been ignored by the owner! Needless to say, we left immediately and will not have this B & B on our list of favorites.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We owe you an apology from your description of how it seemed to you. Typically those who sit in the smaller side table have told us previously that they do not want to be disturbed, are choosing that location for a private conversation, and don't wish to sit with the group at the larger table. We've learned something today and wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Cobb Lane B&B is a lovely traditional house which has been beautifully restored and furnished by the owners, Sheila and Ira Chaffin. It's ideally located in Five Points and an easy walk (downhill) to the downtown area, the medical district and the Railroad Park. The homemade biscuits (cookies) on offer when we arrived were delicious, the breakfast was also very nice indeed and we enjoyed chatting to Ira and the other two guests (a charming couple from Chicago).

I have just a couple of small gripes. Firstly, breakfast is served at 7am on weekdays, which is the middle of the night as far as I'm concerned, especially when I'm on holiday! I appreciate that business guests may like to have an early breakfast but even the most dedicated of tourists would find it hard to find any sightseeing to do so early, particularly in winter when it's barely light.

Also, a word of warning about the Camellia Room. It's clear from Cobb Lane's website, but not on the generic hotel booking websites, that the bathroom is not en suite but across the hall. I realised this too late and emailed a couple of times asking if we could change the booking and pay extra for a room with a fully en suite bathroom. Unfortunately I had no response until after the event, when Sheila told me that I should have cancelled online and made another booking for a different room. A small complaint perhaps but it could have been handled better. As it turned out it was unimportant because there were only two other guests but at busy times it could be an issue as the bathroom has no lock on the door and it's in the corridor close to the kitchen, dining room and other communal areas.

Having said that, the place is otherwise delightful and I'd recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The Camellia room is slightly cheaper than the others but does not have an en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
COBB LANE BED AND BREAKFAST
We have 2 Inns in the same Five Points Historic District: Cobb Lane BB with 7 guest rooms (sleeps 14 persons), and Hassinger Daniels Mansion BB has 10 guest rooms (sleeps 26 persons). All guest rooms have private baths inside the bedrooms, except for Camellia's Room where it's bath is across the hall from the bedroom, resulting in the lowest room rate of both Inns. This is clearly described in room descriptions so guests may choose which features at which price they desire when booking. We've had about 17,000 guests over the years and our mid-week guests are mainly business persons going to 8 AM meetings who wish 7 AM breakfast, Saturday and Sunday guests tend to be vacationers so breakfast is 8 AM Saturdays and 9 AM Sundays. If a guest wishes a different breakfast time, they usually tell us when being received the night before and we arrange a suitable time. We regret this communication apparently didn't occur in this instance. We encourage questions and comments from our guests because we wish to please them. Thank you for coming and please make your wishes known next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The room was inadequate. Not at all as advertised. Not clean. Not warm. In basement. B&B in need of maintenance. The lady owner was gracious her husband was not saying 'do you think you will be ok for five minutes' after replacing a tv that was inoperative. Cannot recommend these accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Regretfully, the TV in the Zebra room malfunctioned. My husband brought them another one that worked well when this was discovered. He had just received news that his Father had died and was holding back his grief when he did so. He apologizes for any inconvenience they may have experienced and he meant no offense to them. We wish them well. Thank you for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.6 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1309 19th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-4801
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Victorian Mansions from 1898 on the National Historic Registry offering 17 guest rooms from $99 to $159 per night plus tax; full hot cooked breakfast; daily maid service; free parking and high speed wireless internet; enjoy parlor cookies and complimentary beverages; cable TV; air conditioning; near UAB and 26 restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobb Lane Hotel Birmingham
Cobb Lane Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing