We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and under-managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced and under-managed”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Ugh. We spent $185 on a room - the most expensive hotel stay of our 10-day trip in the Southeast. One bed was missing a bed skirt. The other was missing a comforter. There was a bottle cap left in our room from the previous guest. It just felt dirty. To top it all off, we found out upon arrival the pool was closed! This hotel is too overpriced for the amenities offered and level of service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcny2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I apologize regarding the pool closure during your stay. We are completing emergency repairs over a two week period and will be done this Monday. As soon as we were aware of the issues we posted the closure on our website and reservations systems to properly inform guests. I will share your Housekeeping comments with the Executive Housekeeper to review with the attendant who serviced your suite. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    249
    177
    159
    125
See reviews for
407
140
36
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Heather night audit is wonderful. The complimentary bar and bartenders are great. My room is always clean thanks to Bertha. Heather the manager is accommodating. Make sure you chose this hotel when coming to Birmingham.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the staff! We appreciate your loyalty over the past several years.

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Rucker, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had to go to Birmingham for an appointment and ended up having last minute surgery the following day. They were able to assist us as we were scrambling for lodging with our newborn.
A month later for a follow up appointment we chose to stay again and they were fantastic. This also happened to be the night a tornado came through Birmingham and we were evacuated in the middle of the night to the ball room.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Tristan at the front desk was EXTREMELY helpful! Wonderful service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the staff. I appreciate your understanding and cooperation during Monday evenings evacuation to our Ballroom during the tornado warnings. Our guest safety is top priority and we are thankful the hotel was not affected. We look forward to serving you and your family when you return to the Birmingham area.

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is unfortunate to say, but this hotel HAD and HAS had great potential with amenities and location... BUT CONSISTENTLY HAVE PROVEN TO BE POORLY MANAGED over my 15 year history of periodically staying at this location. THE complimentary breakfast is SO POORLY MANAGED YOU NEED TO BE PAID TO PUT UP WITH IT VERSUS GET IT FREE!!! Be prepared to clean your own table!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kaydee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I apologize regarding your weekend experience with your grandchildren. We did have planned emergency repairs for the pool that were do to start the day after Easter for 2 weeks. Due to the requests the pool was opened Sunday afternoon and the repairs delayed until late Monday after the pool was drained. I am glad they were able to enjoy the pool after it was re opened.
I will share your comments with our Breakfast team and review visible and staffing over Easter weekend.

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I had a great experience, it was a very nice place to stay. the food was really great and the staff was very helpful. I would choose this embassy suites hotel again if I had business to attend in this area. there was alot to do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff and hotel! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capiitol Heights, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I've stayed in many Embassy Suites, however, the design and landscaping was very nice. However, the breakfast was kinda of weird, having to show tickets in order to eat was a little tacky to me. There was an event going on as well and there were a great deal of issues where the Birmingham police were involved. It wasn't much of a distraction, but I'm sure the neighbors of that particular room was pretty annoyed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Benjamin,

Thank you for the nice comments regarding our landscaping and atrium. We do require Breakfast tickets to ensure the Breakfast Buffet is available to registed hotel guests. Due to the Ballroom location and other meeting space we have found this is the best system to control traffic and verify guest occupants. We did require some police assistance for a confidential matter which was addressed quickly and quietly.

We hope you will stay with us again when in Birmingham!

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent. Best hotel in Birmingham Alabama. This should say it all , But Trip Adviser Makes you put 200 characters in the comments section which is ridiculous and keeps people from posting want they want.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank donaldm249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful stay on TripAdvisor. We look forward to serving you again during your next business trip to Birmingham!

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
8.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
1.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
0.6 mi away
aloft Birmingham Soho Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Address: 2300 Woodcrest Pl, Birmingham, AL 35209-1304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Southbridge Office complex off of the Red Mountain Expressway, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale, all-suite hotel in the Birmingham area. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception served daily. Three miles from UAB Campus, St. Vincent's Hospital, the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Civil Rights Institute and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing