We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad ownership and management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport
Ranked #55 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad ownership and management”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I recently had the displeasure of staying at this dump of a hotel that's located in a crack infested area. The hotel itself is totally ran down and not clean at all, the towels look more off white/ tan than your usual white towels for a hotel. The hotel is old and doesn't look like its been renovated ever. They offer free Internet but the connection is so bad I think dial up is better. To make matters worse i had a billing issue and when I called the owner Shane Armstrong he was totally RUDE and not compassionate at all. Instead of empathizing with me and listening to rectify the problem he went on defending the hotel. I went on BBB and low and behold they have billing complaints and was rated an F. I would not recommend my worse enemy or a bum on the street to stay at this hotel. This hotel give the whole franchise holiday inn a black eye and I will never frequent this establishment again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jefferyw673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo J, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
While I look forward to guest comments good and bad, in this case I am very upset. This review is simply untrue and was sent by a disgruntled guest. The guest offered us a credit card that was declined by the bank and the guest blamed us for the credit card being declined. The hotel was totally renovated a little over 5 years ago and presently we just finished renovating the kitchen, dining room, pool, and are working on the fitness room ventilation system. Guest rooms and hallways are scheduled to have carpet and wall covering replaced over the next 2 years. We are constantly working to keep the hotel in the best condition for our guests. The hotel is inspected by the Jefferson County Health department with a near perfect score, the hotel has received the City of Birmingham Beautification Award for our landscaping, and we are not only AAA rated we are an approved property which is a above the status of simply rated. I thank the guest for pointing out the BBB rating. Upon contacting the BBB we found the rating to be caused because previous management had not responded to their inquiries. These issues go back to 2010. The only recent problem was about a leasee that operated a business in the hotel not the hotel itself. I hope everyone that reads the comments from this guest will understand that their comments are based on a declined credit card that we have no control over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    84
    95
    66
    60
See reviews for
81
65
35
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family was traveling in from the east coast , we stopped in Alabama to sleep for a few hours before we headed home. When i was checking into the hotel the guy behind the desk took my bank card, i stepped away to get my kids together and when i stepped back to front desk he advised me that my card had been denied. I thought it was a bit strange, but i figured since i had been traveling and using my card a lot my bank had stopped it, so I continued to give him my husbands bank card. Needless to say my card was not declined, because they actual charged a dollar so they could get the number. They also charged my husband card. From that moment on our ACCT was wiped out, transactions from everywhwere. This was the only place where my card, and my husbands card was presented at the same time. Our bank did give us our money back while they investigate, but its has still been a nightmare. So we decided to call MOnday morning first thing just so the manager would know what happened. SHANE ARMSTRONG (who says is the owner of the hotel)got on the phone , didnt offer an apology at all, first thing he did was start defending his hotel , telling my husband he was LIEING. After what we had been through a little compassion is all we ask for. He said he wanted bank statements and police reports. We explained to him it just happened yesterday , so none of that information was available, but we would not be sending him a bank statement. We just wanted him to be aware. He was very rude, yelling, and accusing us of being liers. NOw im not sure if others have time, but i dont have the time to call a hotel manager to make a false report. He also threatened to sue us if we put up a bad review. PLEASE BE AWARE OF THIS HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo J, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
The management of the hotel has answered this same comment previously. The comments are untrue and all stem from a debit card that the guest tried to use that was declined by her bank. I have never been rude or yelled or accused anyone of being untruthful. I have refused to terminate a long time employee whose only access to credit card numbers is the last four digits without some proof which the guest has refused to supply us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn due for business. About the only positives I can say about it was that the room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Here are issues that I encountered on my stay. There was a group of three in our party and I was the only individual in the group that was charged a higher rate (nearly $30.00 higher). Our reservations were booked through our employer and I saw the fax that was sent by my employer at the front desk when I checked in. That fax contained the company credit card information for my stay. I can understand upon arrival that a credit card is required but when you bill my credit card for my stay that part is unacceptable. My representative who booked my reservation never got an adequate response from anyone at this Holiday Inn as why my credit card was billed and why I was charged a higher rate. After six weeks of no response from this Holiday Inn my company reimbursed me for the expense.

For the price that your charged for a room you would expect a free continental breakfast. If this is your expectation your going to be let down because they do not serve a continental breakfast. They have signage about starting your morning our right. Our party started our morning out right, by going to the IHOP that was in the area.

This hotel is close to the airport and as other reviewers have posted this hotel is not in the best area.

If your wondering what's above the drop ceiling in the bathroom the last couple photo provides you with the answer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HooksFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo J, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you for your comments, I wish we had done better to impress you. We failed to WOW you and for that I am deeply sorry. Please give us another chance to prove to you that there are many more things to be positive about at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Location, as in close to the airport (not the neighborhood.)

No big rig parking here, but I dumped my rig last night and I am on my way to the airport in the AM.

This place is up to all Holiday Inn standards, the only issue I had was when I showered in the AM, I was up to my ankles in water. (The desk didn't ask how my stay was so I forgot to mention it). Other than that a great room, I will be back, I hope to be back a few more times this summer.

Restaurant is closed in June so they have a shuttle to an area of downtown where a bunch of restaurants are. I didn’t wont to spend a couple of hours so I walked across the street to the Kabob house. … great food.

Someone else mentioned the neighborhood, I agree, it is not the best. Even walking to the Kabob House directly across the street, it was crossing my mind that I could get mugged even though I did not come in contact with anyone. As I walked back to the Inn, I noticed that it looked like the Inn security guard is armed, something I don’t see in most of the country.

The airport shuttle and some corporate pricing is what got me here, and I’ll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo J, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
It is wonderful to hear you complement our GREAT STAFF. Each and every one of our team tries to make each guest’s stay a special one. I will pass this on to them. We look forward to being your home away from home again when you need accommodations in the Birmingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I am from Birmingham. Both my parents died in the last several years and so I am not back there very often. When I am I normally stay at the downtown Sheraton or outside the city. I've known of this hotel for YEARS (back in the 70's when I'd see the Ernest Angele buses parked outside it).

I had a flight at about 5am and needed an overnight close to the airport. I booked this hotel with FEAR! It was, I thought, old, dirty and rundown. WAS I EVER WRONG!

First off they allow parking for $5 a night or $20 a week if you are traveling and a free shuttle to the airport!!! Then when I got there the front desk staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel seemed clean. When I got to my room it was well lit, clean, smelled good, cool and looked like it had just been refurbished!!! Everything about my stay was AWESOME. I will actually TRY to stay here from now on when I am in or through B'ham.

Room Tip: You have to call for the shuttle from the airport - don't wait on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo J, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed our airport parking; many guests love to park and fly. For future reference we have a rate that includes parking, check it out, it just might save you money. I am so glad that our front desk staff wowed you; we expect them to take extra care with our entire guest. Thanks for calling your visit AWESOME, we think all of our guests are AWESOME too. All of our great staff work very hard to make each travelers stay special. We look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Clean rooms. Lots of noise but great location. Restaurant and loung were not open. Pool was broken. No laundry/ dry cleaning services a cording to the trainee at the front desk... Bummed they were suppose to offer such ammenities and didnt... Breakfast buffet 9.95 for what you would get for free as continental other than some scrambled eggs and bacon.... Over priced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo J, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I am sorry that the restaurant and lounge were not open while you visited our hotel. They will be open very soon with a great menu and great service. We look forward to all our guests enjoying it and telling us what they think. Our pool had an unexpected problem and needed some serious construction done to it. While it has taken longer than expected soon our beautiful pool will be open again for all guests to enjoy. It is unfortunate that you were told we do not have laundry/dry cleaning service. We offer same day service Monday thru Friday. I hope you will return after renovations are complete to enjoy our great new restaurant and newly upgraded pool. We thank you for your comments. It is always important to us to know what our guests like and dislike so we can continue to improve our service to each guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I was on the third floor and there was no noise issues. I had no problems with the "area" bc this is an airport hotel, you aren't choosing it for its location aside from being close to the airport. I was traveling alone with a baby and did not feel like I was in danger. I am a smart, frequent traveler who works for a major police department and while I would not go exploring the area on foot, the hotel had proper security measures. Breakfast was a little slim pickings- I would've preferred real milk or cream instead of powdered creamer for the coffee but I'm a yogurt and an apple kind of person so it was fine for me. If you want bacon and eggs go to the eight thousand different cracker barrels within a stone's throw and spend the 7 dollars. Ashanti was my check in and check out receptionist and she was very very sweet and polite. The room was clean and has the same updates I've seen in other holiday inns, and I must commend them in general for improving their rooms. They are now on par with some of the more expensive hotels I've stayed at only they give you free wifi and parking. All I needed was a clean, safe room for the night and I was happy. Especially because it also had a flat screen tv and HBO so I didn't have to miss the Red Wedding episode of Game of Thrones!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drmrsmonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo J, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
It is wonderful to hear you complement our GREAT STAFF. Each and every one of our team tries to make each guest’s stay a special one. I will pass this on to them. We look forward to being your home away from home again when you need accommodations in the Birmingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#45 of 80 in Birmingham
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Fultondale
Days Inn Fultondale
#1 of 8 in Fultondale
469 reviews
3.2 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport
Address: 5000 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spectacular Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is known for the highest in quality service and accommodations. Located just 1 mile from the Birmingham International Airport, just off I-20/I-59 and I-459. We are consistently top rated nationally in overall guest satisfaction. This hotel offers a smoke- and pet-free environment with beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Offering meeting rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people. Our hotel features complimentary airport shuttle service, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness facility. Stay and Fly Packages are available. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is close to the history that makes Birmingham unique. Whether you are visiting Birmingham on business or pleasure, you ll find our hotel staff is here to accommodate all of your needs. We are centrally located, placing our hotel minutes from downtown and convenient to many attractions and business locations, such as Barber Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, Civil Rights Museum, 16th Street Baptist Church, Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Alabama Adventure Theme Park, Splash Beach Water Park and Five Points South Entertainment District. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers exceptional service and accommodations you have come to expect and deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing