We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Rob and Laura Petrie would have expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #59 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What Rob and Laura Petrie would have expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I went to Birmingham for a Saturday night ghost hunt in Sloss Furnaces, and this hotel looked like it was the IHG property with the shortest drive from Sloss at 2:30 in the morning. I reserved an executive king because it was only a couple of dollars more per night than a regular king. The executive kings (#24 on each floor) are very spacious, with a couch (that admittedly wouldn't excite an interior designer) and a coffee table. It's the type of room Rob Petrie would have desired if he needed to take Buddy Sorrel and Sally Rogers on a working retreat for "The Alan Brady Show."

For today's road warrior, it has strong complimentary wifi. I had no problem surfing on my laptop while simultaneously streaming Davidson College's radio station through the WDAV app on my iPad. The TV only had 34 channels, though, and it's dish rather than cable - so that means The Weather Channel doesn't have local segments that can help you anticipate what it'll be like outside.

Evidently the restaurant offers a breakfast buffet each morning, which has the same items found at a Holiday Inn Express breakfast but better tasting. And at less than $9, it's a much better value than ordering breakfast off the room service menu. If I'd known the Hardee's across the street was co-branded with Red Burrito, I'd have gotten dinner there Sunday night. The best thing about dinner in the hotel restaurant was the staff. They seemed genuinely interested that customers had a pleasant wait. I have to admit, the food has to have been prepared fresh because there's no way that the order would have taken that long using a microwave.

At check in I was surprised the front desk clerk didn't want to see my driver's license or swipe my credit card. This was also the only hotel I've stayed in as far back as I can remember that I had to produce my computer printout in order for the front desk to find my reservation. At checkout I appreciated that a different desk clerk sensed i might just be turning in my room key and asked me that before she left to handle a request by another guest at the counter.

Undoubtedly this is the closest hotel to the Sloss Furnaces, but it's also quite convenient to downtown Birmingham. Messer Airport Highway is a straight shot to the Sloss Furnaces and, via US 11, downtown, and leaving downtown via Fifth Avenue North brings you back to the Holiday Inn Airport via Messer in minutes. If I make a return trip to Birmingham, it'll probably be to take part in a Sloss Furnaces ghost hunt. And as long as this hotel is an IHG property (or, if not IHG, Starwood), it'll be my first choice.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the airport and I-59, but during my stay a continuous fan blocked the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellINever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear WellINever,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. As for the issues you have encountered at the hotel, we regret the lack of confidence this has caused you. Your comments have generated a permanent documentation of your experience in this office. We regret the poor experience and negative impressions you may have had. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    81
    91
    63
    56
See reviews for
77
64
33
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We decided to try this hotel since we were flying out the next day and it was close to the airport. We dropped off our rental car and waited for the shuttle bus to take us to the hotel. After 20 minutes I asked a Marriott driver and he said they did not come regularly so I called. The driver was pleasant and picked us up. The lady at check in was grumpy and failed to tell us where the amenities were and looked disgruntled when I asked. A chinese lady was wandering the halls, she had no idea how to find her room, the girl had given her the internet code but she couldn't find her room. I helped her out. The lights on the elevators were mostly burnt out so you did not know your floor. My husband had to use his shoulder to open the door of the room, it had warped and was too tight. I had a swim, the pool was OK, rather cold. Then I had a shower in the bathroom, which was stained with fingerprints, water marks and I couldn't open the door to get out. My husband tugged on the door to let me out, again door was warped. There are no choices for food, so we were stuck eating there. The food was poor and hardly anyone in the restaurant. Lots of staff walking around aimlessly. The waitress brought us apple cider instead of draft beer. My husband's catfish was horrid and my beef sandwich really tough. Sleeping was poor, the beds were hard. It is a shame, this hotel has lots of potential, just needs TLC. Not what I expected from Holiday Inn after staying at two others this trip which were great!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I offer my sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. I welcome you to contact hotel management so that further discussion can be had to regain your trust and patronage to Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent the night here the end of July after several days at Lewis Smith Lake with family. We chose it because 1) it was near the airport and we had an early flight out and 2) they had connecting rooms, which we needed. After a 15-20 min wait due to having been sent to room types that were not what we had reserved, we finally arrived at the correct rooms. The rooms were attractive enough, but one wall had obvious signs of significant water damage. The bathrooms had been remodeled but the counter space was quite small. Beds were fine--not the Westin, but perfectly serviceable. Because we were tired, we decided to have dinner at the restaurant. That turned out to be a mistake. The service was friendly but extremely slow. We waited more than 45 minutes after ordering for our food to arrive. 30 minutes into the wait, we were informed that no one could find any fruit in the kitchen for the kids' meals. The server said they use leftover fruit from breakfast for dinner, and no one seemed to know where it was. When our order arrived, it was reasonably tasty. but the fried chicken, which had been recommended by the server, was literally floating in grease and the vegetables were pretty cold. We grabbed a quick bite from the breakfast buffet the next day. Unfortunately, the quality and variety of food available was not commensurate with the price charged. In sum, the hotel met our needs, which were basic, but the restaurant was very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChileAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear ChileAddict,

Thank you for your taking the time to evaluate our property. I am pleased to learn you appreciate our hotel location and room accommodations. Our goal is to provide superior customer service and a unique stay to all of our guests. However, i apologize if you found the service at the restaurant and quality of food that was served to be less than satisfactory. I appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate people and department.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope you will allow us an opportunity to better serve your needs in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I am a IHG rewards member however, this booking was a last minute bid on a discount website. I got a deal for $55 and you get what you pay for. The hotel location is commensurable to the airport but not in a desirable location. The check- in was good and room was remodeled. The bathroom is like a European size with the shower tightly nestled beside the toilet. When you get out the shower your foot is almost in the toilet. The next morning I went down to breakfast which was good however I am not sure if it cost or not. The morning of our departure the fire alarm went off around 7:40am. Following that lovely wake up call after trying to get some more sleep housekeeping begin to knock every thirty minutes from that time until we checked out. So, I would say this isen't the worst hotel and not the best especially if you want to get rest.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuthernBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear SuthernBell,

Thank you for staying with us and for being an IHG Rewards Club member. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here for one night because my evening flight out of BHM was cancelled. The good: all employees I encountered were very friendly and personable, the elevators are fast, free shuttle to and from the airport, and free wifi. The bad: very slow service in the bar and restaurant, nobody seemed to know what they were doing, carpets in the hallways need to be cleaned/replaced, overall upkeep is poor, doors need to be replaced or repainted, thin walls. This hotel looks to me like the franchise owner is just riding out the cash inflow until his/her franchise agreement expires.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. In regards to your concerns in our F&B department we have addressed the issues and made changes within the department. We hope that you return as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

It's 4:15am. I'd love to be sleeping right now, except every vehicle that goes by on the highway sounds like they're driving directly through my room. No exaggeration. Fitness center is 4 cardio machines (one broken, no sign to let you know). Ordered room service, they said 20 minutes, it took 1 hour, 15 minutes. Got hit up for money by a homeless guy near the parking lot. I wouldn't stay here again if it was free.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SoxWin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport. We regret that your stay was anything less than perfect. We are in the early stages of a complete renovation so we do hope that you will return as our guest in the future and experience the service that you have come to expect when choosing Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Nearing $100.00 per night, this hotel is not worth the money. I had to change rooms three times due to a heavy smoke filled hallway(by the staircase, even though it is allegedly a smoke free facility), stagnant smoke smelling room #2/not clean room. There were cob webs in the ceiling corners, tacky substance on the headboard, a large portion of the wall was covered in crayon design from a child, & mildew in the bathroom. Room #3 was "whatever" after having to move 2 precious times. The woman who came to provide me a new key argued that it did not smell like smoke which was just annoying because regardless of whether or not she could smell it and be affected by it...I could. Not worth the money for the conditions of the rooms. Plus, breakfast is not included as that only applies to Holiday Inn Express:/

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiemoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We regret that you experienced so many issues during your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly, we welcome your feedback and would like the opportunity to win you back as a guest during future travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#46 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Fultondale
Days Inn Fultondale
#1 of 7 in Fultondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 5000 Richard Arrington Blvd, Birmingham, AL 35212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spectacular Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is known for the highest in quality service and accommodations. Located just 1 mile from the Birmingham International Airport, just off I-20/I-59 and I-459. We are consistently top rated nationally in overall guest satisfaction. This hotel offers a smoke- and pet-free environment with beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Offering meeting rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people. Our hotel features complimentary airport shuttle service, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness facility. Stay and Fly Packages are available. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is close to the history that makes Birmingham unique. Whether you are visiting Birmingham on business or pleasure, you ll find our hotel staff is here to accommodate all of your needs. We are centrally located, placing our hotel minutes from downtown and convenient to many attractions and business locations, such as Barber Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, Civil Rights Museum, 16th Street Baptist Church, Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Alabama Adventure Theme Park, Splash Beach Water Park and Five Points South Entertainment District. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers exceptional service and accommodations you have come to expect and deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing