We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Friendly, Convenient & Immaculate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall
Ranked #62 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Richmond Hill, GA
1 review
“Beautiful, Friendly, Convenient & Immaculate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Per Mark: I am so pleased that I had the opportunity to stay in this fine hotel, tucked away in a spectacular part of Birmingham's hills. I hope to visit again, when the lovely, and tidy pool is opened. I found the staff to be as cordial and they were efficient, going above and beyond duty, to see that I got plenty of 'bang for my bucks," during my stay. From the minute I walked into the lobby, I was met with friendly and respectful hospitality. I believe the price to be reasonable, and I enjoyed speaking with all of the other guests I encountered during my visit. Many thanks to the owner, whom I found to be most sincere in his desire to assure all his customers enjoy security, rest, and convenience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    57
    66
    60
    84
See reviews for
98
58
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camdenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The young lady at the desk was very helpful getting room changed to first floor because it is easier with dog. Very clean. One of the best I have been in for pet owners. Loved the layout of the bathroom/vanity!
Great location. Many restuarants to choose from within walking distance. Will stay here again for sure. Stay in many hotels from Mo. to the Keys every year and this is one of the best for this price . And we do not stay in dumps..husband has been known to ask for money back and leave. Lol !
Stayed towards the back, so did not hear any traffic. Aren't most hotels on the Hwy. when you travel?
Kathy B

Room Tip: Rooms in towards back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toody703
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

the hotel and staff were awesome, especially for the price. I had only one complaint and its one you would expect from a more reasonably priced room, it was too close to the interstate and as such, was a little loud in the morning. So bring your ear plugs along and it's well worth the stay and the price. It even has blackout curtains that actually work! Anyone that spends anytime at all in hotel rooms understands just how rare and important they are!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor, not sure if that's good or bad :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toody703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed at the Days Inn Birmingham on highway 280. I was promised a no smoking room. They contintued to tell me that it was a no smoking room and yet there were ash trays in the toom. Why would there be ash trays in the room if it was no smoking? They charge extra for everything. The customer service was the worst that I ever experienced. From the front desk to the housekeeping! Even the manager was RUDE! No one would help me with my luggage even though they have nothing to do. I would never go back to that hotel! I do not recommend that anyone go there either!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

None of the rooms connect to the lobby, unlike in many hotels when a hallway connects at least one building. So to get to the free breakfast or fitness center, you had to go outside first. The fitness center has one treadmill, one elliptical, one stationary bike and one universal station, not a bad selection I thought. But the only machine I wanted to use was the treadmill, and it didn't work. The room was disappointing at their price point. The toilet worked intermittently, and when it wasn't in use, it often made sounds as if it was. The bathroom was large, but all the components were of very low quality (plastic, etc.). The toilet paper was 1-ply, but seemingly even more brittle than you would expect even from 1-ply. The carpet was a low commercial grade, and a dark grey color, so I couldn't tell one way or the other whether it was clean or not. The refrigerator had what looked like condensation drops on the inside back, but when I tried them wipe it off, I discovered that whatever it was, it was solid and wouldn't come off. Some of our neighbors were pretty loud and raucous outside their room at night, and since all the rooms face the parking lot, and the walls are apparently pretty thin, you're going to hear pretty much everything anyway. The main thing I liked about the room was the temperature control. The heat worked really well, and was quiet. I found out that there are lots of other hotels nearby (Homewood Suites, Fairfield Inn, Wingate, etc.), and any one of them would likely be much nicer. Next time I am in this area, I will be selecting one of those hotels, not this one.

Room Tip: Test the toilet before moving your stuff in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Please, by all means, DO NOT STAY HERE! We were treated HORRIBLY by both of the "ladies" at the front desk from the moment we walked in to the moment that we left. While checking in, I asked if I could change to a king-size bed, and the lady informed me that it would cost an extra $10 a night, and that I would HAVE to pay it in cash, because it was too "complicated" (????) to charge it to my debit card. So I had to drive in Friday rush hour traffic on HWY 280 (no small feat) to an ATM to procure the $20 in cash (with $6 in bank fees). I have a suspicious feeling that she was pocketing that cash and that Days Inn never saw it. THEN, we got assigned a room with a broken air conditioner and spent the evening tossing and turning. When we asked the NEW horrible front desk lady if we could change rooms, she treated us like two low-lifes trying to get something for free, and grilled us about what we might have been doing wrong to cause it not to work. (All we wanted was a cool, comfortable place to sleep.) Finally, she stomped over to our room, waved her hand in front of the A/C, declared that it "worked" and that she was NOT moving us, even though the hotel was mostly empty. Suffice to say, we are never, EVER going back to this place again. I would recommend going here ONLY if you and yours don't mind being treated like low-life scum.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DudetteAbides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit, mich
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

First this place is popular with contractors in the area. So at 6 am they are leaving. The rooms are well furnished and somewhat clean. Bathrooms clean, carpeting is not. i paid 63 a nite and I would not spend anymore. The continental breakfast, well cereal is ok. The biscuits were like a brick and dry. No OJ one morning, Computer not working in lobby. Beds were Very comfy! Pillows Very good. TV worked- lots of channels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avalonandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Birmingham Highway 280
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#42 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#54 of 79 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall

Property: Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall
Address: 4627 US Hwy 280 E, Birmingham, AL 35242-5039
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing