We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall
Ranked #64 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Smells of cigarettes even in the non-smoking rooms. Had to run the air conditioning constantly to keep it at a reasonable temperature. Service was not friendly. Beer bottles left outside on steps.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn280_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Let me apologize first that your room had a smoky smell to it, we do ask that our guests please not smoke in our non smoking rooms for this exact reason. Also for the beer bottles outside on the steps. We hope that you give us another chance to make things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I requested a non smoking room but I could smell cigerett oder. My sons room did not have a phone. Breakfast was horrible, out of coffee, waffle batter, sausage. Eggs were terrible. There was mold on shower surround.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn280_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry our breakfast wasn't to your satisfaction, at times it does get a little busy and our Breakfast Attendant tries to get things filled as quickly as possible. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInn280_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInn280_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The breakfast was bad. There wasn't any plates until we asked for them. The link sausage was not done. The paper thin eggs were cold. The small eating area was filled with a girl's soccer team who were finished eating but taking up the tables while using their ipads and iphones. Other guests had to eat standing up or sitting in the lounge on chairs. Some tv channels were snowy like connected to rabbit ears. The sidewalk and parking area on the exit side of the entrance had dog poop everywhere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn280_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are currently in the process of upgrading our cable system and that is why some of the channels show a little snowy and I understand that this a big inconvenience to you. We do have geese that frequent our property due to a lake being behind the business next door to us so they do leave little surprises for us and we try our hardest to wash the parking lot and sidewalks everyday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInn280_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Worst hotel I've ever been in in my life and I've been all over the world. Dirty, stained sheets and comforter. Dirt on and in shower, trash in trash can. Tv didn't work room stunk like mold an there was goose and dog poop throughout the entire ( and I mean ENTIRE!!!) parking lot honestly the absolute worst. Corporate needs to pay this place a visit and clean house. I am fairly high up in a really huge company and this would Not fly in my establishment at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn280_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was so horrible. If you had came to the front office about the subpar conditions of your room I am sure that the front desk clerk would have been more than happy to either refund or change your room. As for the geese, we do have geese that frequent our property because of a lake behind the landscaping company next door to us and we do wash down our parking lot daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Birmingham Highway 280
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#43 of 80 in Birmingham
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall

Address: 4627 US Hwy 280 E, Birmingham, AL 35242-5039
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £42 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing