We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to stay in Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Ranked #28 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to stay in Birmingham”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is kind of a quirky location / hotel....in a good way. I would definitely stay there again despite some "glitches" that were understandable......like the TV station in the bar couldn't be changed because they were updating the dish? cable? There was also something the bar was out of.....can't remember.

It's charming and a little kitschy. The rooms were of a nice size, but as I informed the hotel, our room was very musty-smelling......unlike our kids' room.

They have a breakfast that we were not able to eat because we had leave for the airport so early.

Right down the street and around the corner are some fabulous restaurants.

Yes, I will be there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We certainly do appreciate your kind comments and will surely look into that musty smell~ Please come and visit with us again! Have a wonderful day! Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    116
    45
    22
    17
See reviews for
47
118
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel Highland is located in the Five Points District which makes it easy to walk to some fine dining. The staff was excellent and the rooms were fine. It's an old building so the space/price is high. Nice lobby and bar, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you JRoser for your review of our hotel! We certainly appreciated your comments and look forward to seeing you again the very near future! Thank you again for for taking the time to tell us about your stay! Have a wonderful day~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
little rock arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We broke up a long driving trip with stays in Birminham each way and after being confused about lodging and locations, settled in this quirky eight story but small non-chain hotel which was affordable and near some very good restaurants. We paid 114 for the smallest room and when our kids joined us on the return, paid 170 for a two room suite. It is a very urban location and they rely on valet parking. I have a thing about paying for hotel parking and easily found on-street parking steps from the hotel. It was metered and fortunately our timing allowed us free 6pm to 8am parking. The decor is kind of quirky modern. The staff was kind of down home folks who were nice. The suite was really nice and spacious with wet bar, micro and fridge, huge sep bedroom and pretty good couchbed. This hotel is quirky and not perfect, but a welcome addition to chain sameness and we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you JimJade3 for your wonderful comments about the hotel! We are for sure "down home folks" as we hope everyone has an awesome experience with us while in Birmingham! Though not perfect, we do strive to make sure everyone is happy, happy, happy! We hope to see you and your family again in the very near future!! Thank you again~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Highland is very arty, the décor throughout is imaginative and colourful. Our light 8th floor corner accommodation, room 807, was huge - bedroom, lounge and kitchenette - with views of the city. The bathroom was fine too. The aircon was quiet, wifi free and the generous choice at breakfast was included in the room rate. Staff were friendly, helpful and informal.
The location is excellent. There are many good restaurants nearby (try '26'), adjacent self-parking at $4 per day was a bargain and it's just a 10 minute drive to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us here at The Hotel Highland! We love that particular room, as it is the only one in the hotel like that....and the view is wonderful! We hope to see you again soon in the Magic City and look forward to meeting you~ Thank you again and have a fabulous day Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson,MS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

They staff is really outstanding here. They really seem to go all out to make things nice and clean. The location was within walking distance of many great restaurants, which was a plus! Rooms are small but very comfortable beds and nice decor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripplannerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you Travel Planner Mom for sharing your experience with us here at the Hotel Highland, as we certainly enjoyed having you all with us! So glad to hear wonderful positive feedback that I can share with our staff, as we strive to make everyone's stay most enjoyable! Thank you again for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the very near future! Take care Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My now-husband and I had a block of rooms here for the weekend of our wedding. Renee was so helpful, accommodating and friendly. The rest of the staff was also extremely courteous and forgiving of our wedding shenanigans. The suites were large and Renee was thoughtful enough to put us on the same floor and even had my maid of honor's room attached to mine. Our wedding weekend would have been a completely different experience if we hadn't stayed at The Hotel Highland. Thank y'all so much for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jldixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
We are so excited that your wedding weekend was a huge success....we love it!! You must come back and see us sometime in the very near future....a mini vacation with no stress of a wedding! We loved having your wedding party with us, they where lots of fun! Congrats again on your wedding and we hope to see you again very near future! Renee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The rooms were very clean and the service was excellent. The area were the hotel is located is in walking distance to many fine eating establishment. The continental breakfast were more like a buffet. I only wish that the hotel had a swimming pool, however, they do have a small gym where you can work off some meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you Charles for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, as we are glad your experience with us was a good one, as that is our goal! I also wish we had a pool, however, I am not sure where one would actually go! LOL Have a wonderful day and thank you again! Come see us again....soon! Renee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.3 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
700 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB

Property: The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Address: 1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2605 (Formerly Hotel Highland at Five Points)
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Highland at Five Points South is located just minutes/blocks from UAB and right in the center of all the fabulous restaurants (including Highland Bar & Grill, Chez FonFon, Surin, Ocean, and Twenty Six, just to name a few) and entertainment venues! It is THE place to be while in Birmingham! Just minutes from the Birmingham Courthouse, BJCC, Kirklin Clinic, UAB Highlands and shopping areas! With 63 amazing rooms and suites, with affordable rates that include breakfast and WiFi...it is your "home away from home". Call today to book your reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Highland At 5 Points
Highland At Five Points Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing