We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Ranked #25 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Montana, Usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Highland a number of times and it is always a pleasure. The staff is terrific and they have great memories...many say hi to me by name, which is always nice after a long day of travel. The rooms are really nice - comfy beds, most are suites and have a separate living area and a kitchenette with microwave and fridge. And they allow pets! They also include a nice breakfast, including hot items every morning. Their fitness center is small, but I rarely run into anyone in it. The location can't be beat - they are close to many really great restaurants, the requisite Starbucks and still close to downtown. From a weary traveler perspective...feels like home!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you Kristine O for such an awesome review of our hotel! We are always so glad to see you! We are happy to make a wreary traveller feel safe, warm and welcomed! I will be passing your wonderful comments onto the staff, as they will be happy to hear~ Thank you again and we will see you in the very near future!! Renee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    115
    44
    21
    15
See reviews for
46
112
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is part of Choice's Asend Collection. The hotel has unique furnishings, great service, clean super breakfast and is centered near many great restaurants. If you don't chose their Valet parking you are limited to parking on the street or public parking garage.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We certainly appreciate the very favorable comments....thanks!! Please come back and visit with us the next time you are in Birmingham!! Have a wonderful rest of your day and thank you again~ :) Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was taking the Amtrak through the South on holiday and made Birmingham one of my stops. Having being stuck in very generic, chainy hotels for most of the way I wanted something a little bit different with a touch of originality. It was also important that I could walk to places I wanted to eat and see with relative ease. Needless to say, the Highland ticks all the boxes!

The staff are wonderful; polite and courteous but without being pandering or overly formal.They called me taxis, gave me recommendations and were basically just nice to chat to. Meghan at the front desk gave me a friendly welcome, answered all of my questions and was kind enough to check me in early. The icing on the cake was an upgrade to a suite, which brings me onto the lodgings...

My room was great, impeccably clean and full of personal touches (I thought the notes from the housekeepers were rather adorable). My bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom amply stocked with various toiletries that I'd forgotten! The décor and furniture, like the rest of the hotel, is quirky, original and very pretty.

When I wasn't enjoying the food and the sights in Birmingham I also had a couple of drinks at the bar which, thought small, had a nice, lively atmosphere. Both Kendra and Sarah were charming, friendly tenders (if you have a sweet tooth ask Sarah to make you a cotton candy martini!) who make you feel right at home there.

All in all I had a fantastic visit, the staff alone made it worth it. If I'm going that way again I shall certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VixxBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Oh my...thank you for such a fabulous review of our hotel! We are so very excited that we could help make your holiday a wonderful one! The "girls" will be so thrilled that you have mentioned them in your review....as I cannot wait to show it to them! Thank you so much again, as we certainly hope to see you again in the very near future! Take care~ Renee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

From the view of your hotel room to the quality of the furniture to the friendliness of the staff, the care put into the experience by the staff and developers can be seen. It was probably the best experience I have ever had with a hotel stay. The prices are reasonable for the location and a great value for the amount of accommodations and benefits you receive. Another great feature is the valet parking; your car is stored in a secure lot below the building. I will only stay here when I visit Birmingham from here on out.

Room Tip: Get a room high enough up so you can have the full view of the mountain and awesome architecture of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ths0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review of our hotel!! We certainly appreciate the kind words and will pass them along to the staff~ We are looking forward to seeing you again in the very near future! Thank you again! Renee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Highland located in the Five Points District when taking my daughter to UAB. The staff really sets this hotel above the rest. Sarah, Stephanie and Lauren went out to their way to make sure everything was just right and had me feeling like family after just two nights! I used the valet service (great guys) and though it is $16 a night, I didn't have to fight for parking, which was really helpful when driving back and forth to UAB multiple times. The proximity to fine dining is also a huge plus. If you stop by the wet bar, say hi to Sarah for me!

Room Tip: If you'd like to skip valet parking, weekend and and after 5 or 6 pm are free in metered areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review of our hotel!! We certainly love the staff here and the "girls" will be so excited to know that they have been mentioned in your review!! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the very future! Take care and thank you again~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is kind of a quirky location / hotel....in a good way. I would definitely stay there again despite some "glitches" that were understandable......like the TV station in the bar couldn't be changed because they were updating the dish? cable? There was also something the bar was out of.....can't remember.

It's charming and a little kitschy. The rooms were of a nice size, but as I informed the hotel, our room was very musty-smelling......unlike our kids' room.

They have a breakfast that we were not able to eat because we had leave for the airport so early.

Right down the street and around the corner are some fabulous restaurants.

Yes, I will be there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We certainly do appreciate your kind comments and will surely look into that musty smell~ Please come and visit with us again! Have a wonderful day! Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel Highland is located in the Five Points District which makes it easy to walk to some fine dining. The staff was excellent and the rooms were fine. It's an old building so the space/price is high. Nice lobby and bar, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you JRoser for your review of our hotel! We certainly appreciated your comments and look forward to seeing you again the very near future! Thank you again for for taking the time to tell us about your stay! Have a wonderful day~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
1.3 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB

Property: The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Address: 1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2605 (Formerly Hotel Highland at Five Points)
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Highland at Five Points South is located just minutes/blocks from UAB and right in the center of all the fabulous restaurants (including Highland Bar & Grill, Chez FonFon, Surin, Ocean, and Twenty Six, just to name a few) and entertainment venues! It is THE place to be while in Birmingham! Just minutes from the Birmingham Courthouse, BJCC, Kirklin Clinic, UAB Highlands and shopping areas! With 63 amazing rooms and suites, with affordable rates that include breakfast and WiFi...it is your "home away from home". Call today to book your reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Highland At 5 Points
Highland At Five Points Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing