We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Good location. Staff was nice and price was great but kind of a small room. I think they need a better security presence for parking garage/hotel especially at $10 daily. Buffet breakfast was expensive and nothing special. I was given coffee in a dirty cup. Waiter was great though and fixed it!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager, with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We have security in our parking garage every night for our guest security. Our breakfast buffet offer over 15 different items and we have cooks that can cook to order based on our guest needs. So if you would like to contact me at the hotel to see how we can make it more exceptional we would be more than happy to accomodate you.We want your stay to be exceptional so your feedback is vital to accomplish that goal. I hope to speak with you soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay if you are attending anything at UAB. It is close to many shops and restaurants and within walking distance of the campus and hospital complex. The free shuttle service makes it very easy to stay without a car rental. Beds were pretty comfortable too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Marcy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager, with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. Its great that you had a chance to experience the 5 points south district that is only 2 blocks from the hotel. And yes, you are right, our 5 points south district have over a dozen of restaurants, lounges, and shops. Our shuttle service is happy to accomodate guests getting there, complimentary, for their convenience. And our cookie is internationally known and not only is it one of the most requested amenities worldwide it is special because the cookie is made only for Doubletree hilton hotels. Only those who have tasted it truly know what I mean. You can also go into any Doubletree, guest or not, and ask for a cookie and the front desk would be more than happy to give you one to enjoy. Our guest get to have a cookie when they first check in, then they are free to come back and ask for another. Also, our cookie is warm when we place it in your hand. Thank you so much for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Several times I have been snowed in at work in the past 2 years - I am a nurse at UAB Hospital Each time I have stayed at The Doubletree on University Blvd & 20th Street on short notice and was always able to be accommodated The front desk staff, housekeeping, restaurant waitstaff have always been more than accommodating... Each time I have not been disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager, with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. We understand that we are in the middle of downtown Birmingham and when tragic weather happens we have to go above and beyond to help our guest during such a stressful time. We are more than happy to extend our hospitality to you, UAB and other business when you need us to be there for you. We cant predict the weather but we can choose to smile and give great service no matter what the situation may be. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My fiancee and I recently stayed at the Doubletree by Hilton in the 5 pts district of Birmingham. It's right in the heart of everything, and as we were on a scouting mission for our wedding, it was very convenient to finding restaurants and photograph locations. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Sue, the bartender, is awesome! The rooms were pretty expensive for no free wifi and no refrigerator or microwave or anything extra in them. No continental breakfast even.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. Its so good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our guests enjoy the 5 points south district and find it very convenient since its located only 2 blocks from our hotel. I hope you come back and visit with us again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I and a few coworkers were stuck in town due to inclement weather. We needed to stay in town in order to be at work the next morning. We would have paid a lot more just to have a room. Instead, we were offered the corporate rate, greeted like queens, and received warm smiles on a very cold day. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I would highly recommended staying here even if I was not stranded! True Southern hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager, of the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham. I appreciate you being our guests. It was our pleasure to accomodate you when the city was surprised with the snow storm. UAB is like family to us here at the Doubletree because we are technically on their campus and we always have UAB as our guest for business and hospital visitis. So thank you and I hope you come and stay with us again. Hopefully, under better weather conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at the Birmingham Doubletree on Tuesday and Wednesday nights, Jan. 28 & 29. The hotel staff took in lots of stranded people (due to the first problem snow in 21 years) and handled things with compassion and class. Many hotel employees worked around the clock. We were two of the lucky ones who did get a room late Tuesday, and we thoroughly enjoyed the facilities and people. Those who spend the night in the lobby and banquet room were made as comfortable as possible with blankets and pillows. The national weather picture shows a similar storm coming Feb. 11 & 12, and I'm confident the Doubletree will graciously handle the overflow as it did so well in January. Thanks. G. Keller, Audubon, IA

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. Its not just about paying guests with us, its about anyone who comes through our doors being treated special. Anyone who comes through our doors are our guests whether you are paying for a room or not. So, especially for a tragic weather situation we are going to accomodate everyone who walks through our doors. The people who were stranded and that slept in our banquet space we didnt charge, we gave them pillows, blankets, water, etc. We care and we know how important it is not just to say you care but to show you care. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The staff at the Doubletree Birmingham is very friendly and welcoming. The food is great and the rooms are clean. The hotel is located in a great area and very close to local dining and nightlife. I would definitely stay at this hotel again the next I am in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jenise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. We try our best to give our guest great customer service. We want to be exceptional for you because you are our guest and we want to be hospitable. So, its great to know that we succeeded with our goal to give great service with you. I am also glad you enjoyed our food. We have excellent chefs who cook most items from scratch. We hope you will be back soon to visit. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Address: 808 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £84 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown Birmingham at DoubleTree by Hilton Birmingham, on the campus of University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Get down to business with BBVA Compass, Southern Company, Health South, Regions Financial Corporation, O’Neal Steel, Southern Research Institute – all located just steps from our door. Explore the city's James Beard Award winning cuisine, history, arts and entertainment that bring you back to Birmingham time and again. Located in the vibrant 5 Points South district the DoubleTree by Hilton Birmingham is just blocks away from Region’s Park, Uptown, Lakeside, and the BJCC Convention Center Complex. Navigating the city is a breeze with our complimentary shuttle service within a 1-mile radius and DART vintage trolleys. Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport (BHM) are 15 minutes away and readily accessible via our complimentary airport shuttle service. Our hotel in Downtown Birmingham is ideal for conferences, training, events, and celebrations. We feature a 24-hour business center and 15,000 sq. ft. of versatile meeting and event space including a ballroom, two boardrooms, and four breakout spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing