We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grasshopper's wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grasshopper's wedding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

At checkin Front desk clerk was not seeming interested in volunteering information on the hotel 's parking or any other relative information. I was a little annoyed because once we got to room keys did not work so had to go back down to desk. Once we got settled into room later that evening. We noticed dried food that had not been vacuumed around sides of bed. Room smelled a bit musky and old. Beds were amazingly comfortable. (I'm all about a good bed). Wouldn't be a choice to stay again but this was hotel chosen for wedding guest. Had a special rate for wedding guest otherwise i may have been even more disappointed. Rooms are actually nice just need to be cleaned.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fittravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager, with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. I apologize that your stay was not exceptional. That is certainly not our normal standard of service because we consciously strive for excellence daily. Please call me at the hotel so that I may speak with you personally about your stay because your feedback is valued because you are a valued guest. I hope you are not discouraged from staying with us again. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    204
    133
    82
    40
See reviews for
126
90
45
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The pillows were too soft. The sink needed service with liquid plumber. Other than that it was not my best stay at a Doubletree, but it fit what I had to do. The cookies was a good signature. They were given upon request. Carpets need to be cleaned and there could be some imporvements with the scent throughout the hotel. My friend worked at one that put the scent in the vents. Just a small neutral scent .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager, with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham. I appreciate you choosing to stay with and your feedback is very important. I apologize that everything was not in working order in your room. We would have been more than happy to fix those concerns. If you come back to visit with us please contact me so that I may help make your next stay even more enjoyable. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Was shocked about paid parking... The carpeting was not clean, especially between the two beds...looked like it was not vacuumed in forever... Charge to get on Internet from your room.... Never did get connected even after two men came to my room to assist... Bed was too soft....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 701janices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I do apologize that we did not meet or exceed your expectation. Our brand standard is to provide excellence service. Please contact me at the hotel so that I may know in greater detail how we could have exceeded your expectations. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is old and dirty. The AC was broken, laud, and very dirty. Some of the electrical outlets did not work. It is ridiculous that you have to pay extra for internet and parking. The rooms don't have refrigerators, so when we asked for one they brought one that was old and dirty. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There is no refrigerator

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Circe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. This is not our normal standard of service. I would like to invite you back to stay with us so that we may have the opportunity to help you experience a great stay. You may contact me at the hotel so that when you make your reservation I can personally assist you with getting all of your needs met. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross City, FL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel was great location in proximity to the medical school at UAB. One request that would have been nice would have been a mini fridge/microwave to make it more home like, but I know that's not always possible. Sue (the bartender in the lobby) is awesome!! She always went above and beyond to accommodate me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. For your next reservation, we can put in remarks that you would like a refrigerator so that you may have it in your room when you arrive, complimentary of course. We are on the campus of UAB so anyone doing business with UAB or visiting the hospital will experience the convenience of only being a few blocks away. I hope you come back and visit with us soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is an older hotel near downtown. It is a little dated but still met all of my needs with the one exception. The lobby bar's prices were outrageous. Nearly $10.00 for an amaretto, come on. The rooms were clean and the restaurant breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jdarnall27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham. I am excited to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and had an enjoyable stay. Our breakfast is famous, for the taste and the high number of variety items we have for our guest to choose from. We have everything from salmon to biscuits and gravy. I hope you come back and visit with us soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We arrived at the hotel at the spur of the moment and the staff was accommodating in locating a reasonably priced room for my daughter and myself. The free parking in the garage was convenient. This hotel is very close to great restaurants if you choose to venture out. The room was clean, and spacious and the beds were nice and comfortable. They have a shuttle service to/from the airport which is very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hfd14379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham. I am so glad that our staff went above and beyond for you. At the Doubletree, we understand the importance of making our guest feel special. I hope for your next girls weekend you choose to stay with us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Property: Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing