We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Disappointing stay Oct 7, 2013 completed a survey and correspondence with the manager over a room that was not clean; cookie crumbs in the seat cushion and hair all over the bathroom, Repeat visit on April 27th and check out on April 28th with notice of stay given to the manager; I was given a room that has not been cleaned. I had to carry my luggage back down stair and wait for another room assignment. Poor customer service and PR, I am looking for someone else to go for my stay during the week of June 10-13, 2014 on my return to Birmingham.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Ardie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. Allow me to sincerely apologize for no one getting back with you. There are a number a variables that could have happened but I am unsure as to what happened. You may call or email me if you like so that I may help ensure your stay is better. I will investigate your concerns but I would need to speak with you about them so that I am able to better understand the details. I hope you are not discouraged from staying with us and I would like an opportunity to invite you back to the hotel. If you choose to arrive to the hotel without contacting me first feel free to ask for me by name at the front desk and I would be more than happy to assist you with any of your needs. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    210
    135
    86
    44
See reviews for
133
92
46
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was beautiful and the location was great. But parking was $10.00, Internet was $10.00 and the breakfast buffet was $15.95. I was trying to save a few dollars and not go to another Days Inn where I could have all of the extra's free. Even if my continental breakfast was just coffee and donuts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deneen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager of the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us as our guests. We understand our guest have choices and being a downtown property is much different than a hotel on the outside of the city. Anything that I can do to make your next stay more enjoyable please just let me know and I will be more than happy to assist. Please call the hotel and ask for Michelle and it would be my pleasure to meet you and speak with you. Thank you and I hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, TX, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I must travel to Birmingham, AL from Austin, TX twice a year for medical reasons. I choose to stay to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton because it is centrally located, a very short drive to 5 Points and close to Birmingham landmarks and wonderful eating options, including theirRestaurant. I can relax knowing that the quality of my stay will be very high and my room and bed will be very comfortable. Although I don't use most of the amenities available, they are at my disposal! I highly recommend a stay at the DoubleTree Birmingham! Plus you get a warm cookie, too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stacy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager of the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. Thank you for choosing us as your hotel to stay when you visit Birmingham. We are so close to so many restaurants and landmarks and entertainment. Only 2 blocks from the 5 points district that has over a dozen of restaurants and entertainment facilities. I hope you keep coming back to stay with us and I hope every stay is even more enjoyable than the last. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great service and location in the 5 Points Area of town. Excellent WiFi and so close to the airport and St. Vincent's MC if you are working there. Break fast buffet was great and all the employees went out of their way to make you feel as if was truly the Hilton experieince we lovet to have. It is located in a great part of town where you can walk to some of the finest hotels in Birmingham with no concerns whatsoever. Could use a little updating in the decor and in the fintness area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager of the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. We sincerely try to make our guest happy and if they do have concerns we do try and "Make it Right" for our guest so they know we appreciate their loyalty. We appreciate your loyalty and I hope you come back to visit with us soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I'm up at 3:30am writing this because there is a woman next door singing Michael Jackson's greatest hits a the top of her lungs! Security is on the way.

Hotel is nice. Staff is friendly. Rooms are clean and updated. But...the noise from the street below and from next door rooms is just awful! Paper thin walls! I have not gotten a good nights rest yet because of the noise. Probably one of the worst hotel stays I have ever had.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rotorhead206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Double tree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I apologize that you didn't get a restful night of sleep because of noise concerns. I hope you are not discouraged from staying with us again. I understand how frustrating it can be when you don't have a good nights sleep. If you do choose to stay with us again please contact me so that I may be able to locate a quieter room for you so that you may have a more peaceful night. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I'm rather disappointed in this hotel. We picked it for its great location for UAB graduation. Check-in was as expected nothing out of the norm. The rooms are average, furniture is updated. Bathrooms show the age of the true age of the hotel, very small.

I'm on a HHonors floor but nothing really looks special about it to me. Same rooms I saw online. There isn't even a courtesy phone near the elevators. I had to go all the way back downstairs when our room keys didn't work. Well maybe the keys didn't work because the maid didn't want us to see the tornado she left in our room! The bed was striped bare and the comforter part in a chair part on the floor. Trash not emptied. We first thought "oh maybe she went to get something" but then we noted it was 4pm. We called downstairs. They gave the routine blurb that someone would be right up. 20 min later I finally went back downstairs and ask for linens to make my own bed! There were 6-7 folks behind the counter, one did speak up and say she thought the housekeeper was on the way. They finally ended up just going to get the linens and I have just made our hotel bed and cleaned up myself....at a hotel! And not one of the 6-7 people made an attempt at apologizing. They simply went on with what they were doing. Seems like they need to hire more housekeeping and not have so many faces standing at the desk. I won't stay here again, I do choirs at home, not when I'm on weekend getaways to hotels!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was a good place to stay nothing fabulous. The beds were small. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were extremely clean. I do noit feel they should charge to park your car at the rates they were charging. What happened to the all inclusive price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Property: Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing