We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel for Business Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel overnight and it was very accommodating. The staff was nice, the building/room was nice and clean, and the environment was relatively quiet. I only disliked having to pay for internet but that's not enough to cause me not to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sonya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager for the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. We always love to have business travelers feel at home when they choose to stay with us. We understand being in the downtown area things can get hectic every so often. So we try to create a pleasant, comfortable environment for our business travelers so you can focus on what's truly important during your stay with us, your work. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you and I hope you come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The hotel is a bit older, and there wasn't an on-site restaurant (only a bar). It is within walking distance, however, to the Five Points area (couple of blocks uphill) where there are many restaurants and a few shops (and Starbucks). It is also near the UAB and downtown and tourist sites. I'd probably stay again, although I wish that their shuttle would take guests to locations within a 3 mile radius. However, the cab to my business location about 1.5 miles away was only $5.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager for the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. We try to always make sure our guests who are here on business are comfortable because we understand you need to focus. We try to accomodate as many guests requests as we can when it comes to our shuttle transportation. Our shuttle transport guests to the hospitals, airports and the 5 points south district restaurants, businesses and stores. I do hope you come back to visit with us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Exeptional service from Reservation, Check-in and Check-out. The staff is professional, knowledgable and helpful. Double Tree Will be our Hotel of Choice when visiting Birmingham. We will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Annye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. We appreciate you staying with us and its great to hear that our staff took care of you while you were our guests. We try to consistently go above and beyond for our guest because we understand we you have a choice and we want you to have outstanding reasons to choose us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We Stayed for 4 days in two rooms for daughter's graduation from UAB and did not have a very good room experience. reported the ac out in one room was never fixed. also the following are expenses you will incur! Parking is $10.00 a day! Internet is $10.00 a day! This hotel will nickel and dime you to death! No fridge in rooms, cheap coffeemaker and make sure your air conditioner works!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager of the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I apologize for the concerns you experienced during your stay and I apologize that we were not able to take care of your concerns. I will investigate the situation so in effort that it wont happen again. Please contact me at the hotel, you may call me at the hotel 205-933-9000, or email me at medwards@columbiasussex.com. I hope to speak with you soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I am a flight attendant and have stayed at this hotel 5 times within the last year and half. In the past, I have always enjoyed my stay, but have always thought it to be more "average". My crew called for the van at 14:18 and were told it would be 15-20 min. We called again at 14:41 and they hung up on my pilot, so he called back at 14:42. He called a third time at 14:48 and was told again by Megan in the customer service department that it would be 20 min. We were picked up at 15:08.

The van driver told us that he was not told about the van ride until just a few minutes before three.

The staff was very rude to us when we arrived at the hotel and asked to to step aside while they checked in other guests.

Waiting over 45 min for a hotel can that is no more than 12 min away from the airport with no sufficient excuse is very frustrating (especially when we've already lost 5 hrs of scheduled overnight time).

Aside from the poor customer service, I have always been very happy with my room and the gym. DoubleTree uses LifeFitness equipment which usually runs very smoothly and they have a great set of free weights and a few resistance (multi work out) machines. There's a few places to eat within walking distance and it's a cute little down, though I haven't done very much exploring around Birmingham.

I feel like the van situation could have been handled better. I would have prefered to be told why the van driver was unavailable to pick us up on time rather than be told 20 min after 20 min, only to have to wait an hour at the airport. Had I known about the wait, I could have got something to eat during my wait.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I am glad that your other times staying with us was good but I sincerely apologize for this most recent unpleasant experience. Please, the next time you come to visit please ask for me so that I may speak with concerning this experience. I certainly will investigate the situation so that it doesn't happen again. Again, I apologize and I hope you are not discouraged from staying with us again. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The room was really clean except the bathroom is not perfectyl cleaned. The front desk is busy to follow up the custmers questions and concerns, espically when it comes to using the internet at the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Gerges A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I apologize that we gave you the impression that we are too busy. We are always to take our time with guest to make sure there is understanding and to ensure you are fully satisfied with any questions you may have. That is not our typical service and please call and speak with me further about your concern so that I may get more details and I will correct the situation so that it wont happen again. I would like to invite you back so that you may have a chance to have a better experience and I will help ensure your stay is better. Thank you and I hope to speak with soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was in town on business. This hotel had excellent mattresses that gave me a better night's rest than I actually get at home.I slept wonderfully while being surrounded and supported by a multitude of pillows. The hotel also has an excellent fitness room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We try to always accomodate our business travelers because being in the heart of downtown we mostly attract business travelers so anything that we can do to make your stay comfortable so that you can work more efficiently, we do. I hope you come back to visit with us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Address: 808 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £85 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown Birmingham at DoubleTree by Hilton Birmingham, on the campus of University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Get down to business with BBVA Compass, Southern Company, Health South, Regions Financial Corporation, O’Neal Steel, Southern Research Institute – all located just steps from our door. Explore the city's James Beard Award winning cuisine, history, arts and entertainment that bring you back to Birmingham time and again. Located in the vibrant 5 Points South district the DoubleTree by Hilton Birmingham is just blocks away from Region’s Park, Uptown, Lakeside, and the BJCC Convention Center Complex. Navigating the city is a breeze with our complimentary shuttle service within a 1-mile radius and DART vintage trolleys. Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport (BHM) are 15 minutes away and readily accessible via our complimentary airport shuttle service. Our hotel in Downtown Birmingham is ideal for conferences, training, events, and celebrations. We feature a 24-hour business center and 15,000 sq. ft. of versatile meeting and event space including a ballroom, two boardrooms, and four breakout spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing