We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Birmingham Double Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Huntsville, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Downtown Birmingham Double Tree”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel shows signs of being old and worn without improvements and updates. Be prepared to pay for internet and parking. Breakfast is served in the lower lobby but is expensive for the selection and is not included in your room stay. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful and hotel location for access to downtown amenities is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Double tree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I hope you come back and see and enjoy the rest of the sights that Birmingham has to offer. On the north side, there are many historical venues that are very interesting to experience. Also, we are doing several revitalizations around the hotel to improve our appearance. I hope you come stay with us again. Thank lyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    210
    135
    86
    44
See reviews for
133
92
47
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Easy garage access with elevator to room floors. Great breakfast. Even used pool which I never do. The staff were all incredibly polite and helpful. The service was fantastic. The hotel has no suites, one draw back. Our room was comfortable and clean. The ac worked great. Right in downtown, close to everything.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jak-cra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. We appreciate you staying with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you come back and visit and if you do contact me personally so that I may help ensure your stay is even more great and enjoyable. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The air conditioning unit was so loud that I had to turn it off to talk on the phone. The bathroom had not been cleaned. There were pubic hairs in the bath tub and fecal matter in toilet. The bed sheets were so hard and irrtated my skin. I have never had material feel so hard for standard hotel bedding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Double tree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I apologize for your stay not being satisfactory. Your feedback is appreciated and I will investigate these concerns further so that I may help ensure your next stay is more enjoyable. Please call or email me at medwards@columbiasussex.com so that I may have the details necessary to investigate your concerns you experienced during your stay. I hope this situation doesn't discourage you from visiting with us again.Thank you and I hope I speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel staff were excellent. Very accommodating and pleasant. However, we were surprised by the appearance of our room. It was very worn and showing its age. Also, a pair of flip flops had been left sticking out from under the curtains and the bathroom wasn't the cleanest. However, the pool is a nice respite at the end of a busy day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 569jenniferv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Double tree hotel Birmingham, Al. I am glad to hear that our staff made your stay exceptional. We are doing several revitalization projects around the hotel to improve all the qualities the hotel has to offer. I hope you come back to visit and we look forward to having you as our guest soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel was perfect. Our dr's appt was right next door and I got 2 cookies when I checked in:) Front desk was very helpful and since it was raining when I left for our appt., the driver of the hotel bus let me borrow his umbrella.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager at the Double tree hotel in Birmingham, Al. We appreciate you staying with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you come back and visit and if you do contact me personally so that I may help ensure your stay is even more great and enjoyable. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, VA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Business brought a colleague and myself to Birmingham for three days. Besides the hard rain on Monday and Tuesday, the time was well spent in business and relaxation. Hotel accommodations were recommended by VA personnel and met our expectations for service and location. Excellent place to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the the Double tree in Birmingham, Al. We appreciate you staying with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you come back and visit and if you do contact me personally so that I may help ensure your stay is even more great and enjoyable. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The staff as well as my accomodations were very pleasing. My bed was super comfortable. I had a wonderful view of the pool. I have to have my coffee in the morning, so I appreciated my speedy coffee maker with ample coffee supplies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank quinettef2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager of the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I am glad that you choose to stay with us and be our guest. I am also happy to know you enjoyed your stay plus the city festivities. Birmingham can have so many exciting events going on and here at the Doubletree hotel Birmingham we know its nice to come back from a long, fun day to a nice clean comfortable room. I hope that you come back to visit with us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Property: Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing