We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Club Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Birmingham
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Club Lounge”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Club Lounge had wonderful, fast and great service!!!! The nice kind host Mrs. Carolyn was very helpful and was able to answer any questions that I had!!! I was in town for the Magic City Classic Weekend!! This was a great choice to join the club lounge on the 17th Floor! The Club Lounge was clean, bright and the food was 5 star tasting!!! I will be back next year !!!

Thanks,
Classic ASU Student!!
Rock-on!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willie4413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear willie4413,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated. We were so proud to acknowledge Carolyn for her excellent service. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    270
    227
    106
    77
See reviews for
155
129
57
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gonzales, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived at this hotel to attend a Women's Travel show at the Convention Center next door. We were expecting a package that we needed for the show. The front desk was not able to find the package even though we had verification that it had been received by the hotel. We were very frustrated by this and determined to find it. We were assisted in our hunt by Thomas Tolliver. He was relentless in his search and even hosted us for dinner and drinks while he searched for our package. Thomas was successful after a 7 hour hunt and it is hard to admit, but had my office marked it properly it would not have been such a challenge. My thanks to Thomas and all the others at the Sheraton for all their hard work and help in locating this package. The hotel experience was a great one that I will not forget. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great service, hospitality and great customer service.

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper. If you are, ask to be placed away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Sharon S,

It sounds like you had such a memorable stay with us. Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team, especially Tom!

We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

First, all of the staff were great. Very friendly and efficient check in and check out. Could not have been nicer. The attendant in the club lounge made me feel at home. Sheraton should be proud of these folks. Second, the hotel is pretty tired and it looks like they are going through a renovation like most Sheratons these days. Best I can tell the room was redone maybe 5 or more years ago and it shows its age. Just worn out and a bit tattered. Third, the hotel itself is one of those big atrium types that is past its prime. The workout room - while renovated - was too stuffy and unfair conditioned to get a fierce work out in. My recommendation is that you stay and the very new Westin right next door. The rates are comparable, the rooms are a bit smaller but certainly ok, and nothing beats new.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurorunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Eurorunner,

Thank you for the great feedback. There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us, and we are a bit disappointed that your stay seemed tolerable. Yet, we are happy our staff met all your needs during your stay and made you feel at home! We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hello...my name is Cynthia Nixon..i was in town visiting some relatives and had to make a last minute reservation...check in was a speedy process and I was elated at how friendly everybody was..after settling into my room and making a few phone calls I decided to explore the hotel not knowing it was also connected to a convention center..as I was crossing the street to the convention center I kind of got lost..i ran into an employee whose name is Anisha (hope i spelled it correctly)..she was coming out of a side door and asked could she help..i explained what I was doing and with a smile she asked if I would like a tour...i didn't want to hold her up from doing her job so I told her I would try again later..she explained that she had just clocked out for her lunch break and it would be just fine.. Before I knew it we were on our way..there was the arena,concert hall,exhibition halls,the piazza and she even took the time to show me the new uptown..it was alot for only thirty minutes..she showed me great dose of southern hospitality and I am grateful..please send her my best wishes and let her know I appreciated her taking time out of her day to keep me entertained..i will definitely be back..Cynthia Nixon

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atrysum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Ms Carolyn was very helpful for my three kids and I as we walked in 5 minutes past 8 pm from a 6 hour drive. The food was partially put away but Ms Carolyn gladly offered to put food back out and went downstairs for more fruit.As a gold for life member and platinum for many years, situations like this are the reason I remain a spg member.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Greg W,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and for writing a review about your stay. The popularity of our frequent traveler program was demonstrated during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed here for a conference and after reading the reviews was very nervous. I stayed in the Atrium building and it was fine. I heard other rooms were older. The gym was well outfitted but crowded. I was disappointed the pool was not open.

When I made the reservation I was given a club level room and quoted a room rate. The hotel sent the reservation confirmation to my email--it indicted a club level room and did not say anything about other charges. When I checked out I saw on the first receipt I was given that I was charged a higher rate for the room AND there was a separate surcharge for the club level. I didn’t have access to that email and the receptionist was not budging at first. And then she said, "Well, did you use the club lounge." Sure but what does that have to do with you adding it to my bill when an additional charge was not my reservation and the reservation clearly states Club Level and does not have any wording on it saying there would be an additional charge. I told her what the rate was supposed to be from memory. Kind of surprised they didn't have this in their own data!???? She went in the back to talk to a manager and the charges were adjusted. In the meantime my husband found the reservation confirmation and it was still lower. I just decided to forget it.

I would stay here again for a conference but I would bring my reservation and evidence of the quoted rate with me. For the rate they tried to charge me I would have stayed at the Westin—for sure.

Hotel transportation to and from the airport was reliable. It did seem like most hotels provide this though.

I did have conversations with two exceptional employees. A nice doorman who worried about me running on my own after giving me directions and a handyman who walked me to wear the gym was located in an adjoining tower.

Excellent location if you are at a conference using the Convention Hall otherwise on the edge of downtown with few restaurants.

Green Features: You have to indicate before 2 AM if you don't want them to clean your room to get the enviro credit ($5 off each night you stay if they don't clean your room that day).
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoLiketoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear ColoradoLiketoTravel,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and we are deeply sorry for the lack-luster service you received with the billing process; please understand that this is never our intention.

Your comments will be communicated to the Front Office management team. During the check-in process, every guest should be informed of all charges and fees associated with their stay. We clearly missed the mark on this and we are very sorry about any inconveniences this may have caused.

The time spent writing your review is appreciated and we hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus. Ohio
Level Contributor
315 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I travel for a living, have stayed in Sheratons for years, and honestly do not know how the chain stays in business. Poor service, annoying facilities problems, and management nickel-and-diming guests at every single turn would sink most businesses, especially in recent years. The Birmingham Sheraton took these traits to new lows.

Here's a summary of the end points.
1. When I entered the lobby on a weekday at 5:10 pm, 8 staff were buzzing around the registration desks; ONE was waiting on guests.
2. I was the speaker at a meeting for 200 people at the hotel the next day, and asked for a sleeping room near the meeting room. This is a ballroom and conference center ... and 3 staff members could not find any info in print or in the computer system about the meeting. The sales contact had already left for the day.
3. I finally got my room key 40 minutes after I walked into the lobby.
4. We were told guests couldn’t load their own luggage onto a bell cart and push it through the lobby; bellmen had to do that. Bottom line: 40 minutes for our luggage to reach the room.
5. Self park was $12, valet was $22. We opted for self. But we had lots of stuff to move from the car, we needed a bell cart, and were told that bellmen weren’t allowed to take carts into the self-park garage … so we had to switch to valet service.
6. The hotel charged us $20 to receive 2 FedEx boxes. I’ve NEVER been charged to receive a box!
7. Sheraton has to be one of the last hotel chains still charging for internet access in guest rooms and the meeting room: $9.95 per day!
8. The room was $207; by the time all the extras were added, the price was $275. For that, we got a room that looked into a solid brick wall and the HVAC equipment on the 3d floor roof of a connecting building.
9. The room had thin plastic cups for water and paper cups for coffee.
10. The television didn’t get half the channels listed, the remote didn’t work, a nice young man from engineering brought a new remote and couldn’t get it to work either, and the next morning the sound went out and the pictures were too pixilated to view on the channels we tried to watch.
11. The breakfast menu on our pillow offered a bowl of Wheaties, Cheerios, or Raisin Bran for $9.50; add the 22% service charge, taxes, and $3 delivery charge, and that’s $15 for a bowl of WHEATIES!! The “American breakfast”—2 eggs, bacon, toast, coffee, juice—was over $30 by the time all the extras were added. C’mon, guys. Even the Ritz Carlton charges less than that.
12. Sheraton no longer puts receipts under your door for rapid check-out. You have to stand in line. So add at least 10 minutes to your morning schedule. When it was my turn, I asked for a receipt. The woman working registration told me I couldn’t get it until I checked out and gave her the room key. It was 8:30 a.m., I had a late checkout, and I needed the key to access the room on my midmorning and lunch breaks!
13. The sound box in the meeting room was stored in a tight space under the projector and laptop. The space was enclosed with a taut cloth cover. I needed help adjusting the sound, so a young AV guy arrived. He struggled to get to the control box … and when I suggested he remove the cloth cover, he said he wasn’t allowed to. When I suggested he just put the box on a chair, he said he didn’t think he was allowed to do that either. I finally told him I'd take full responsibility if a manager showed up and complained about how the AV looked.
14. The batteries in the microphone died before the morning break [most hotels load fresh batteries in the morning; they last all day] ... so I shouted to be heard while someone else tracked down the AV guy again.
15. Meanwhile, my meeting coordinator was having his own problems. The printer didn’t work in the business center. And only one person knew the “workaround” for getting things printed.
16. He needed some copies made. Only one person was allowed to make copies.
17. At day’s end, he typically gets a bell cart to take all the boxes and luggage to the car. He was told he couldn’t take a cart to the ballroom—the bellman had to do that—AND the bellman had to stay WITH the cart! And, of course, the car had to come from the valet. So our normal 10-minute end of day turnaround took over 30 minutes at the Sheraton.
18. Oh, one last thing. When I finally got the receipt, it said “Bed and breakfast rate $207.” I asked the woman at registration about it. She looked up our room and said, “Well, yes, breakfast came with your room.” WHAT??? No one had said a word about that when I checked in—no vouchers, no coupons, no notice of any kind. And, of course, by the time I learned about it, I had no time to sit and eat.
19. Are you getting the picture here? Top down command-control in an organization where those at the “top” seem to have NO idea what kind of experience they’re creating for guests walking into their hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear peebs777,

I'm terribly sorry to hear about the issues you have highlighted here. This is certainly far below the standard of excellence we pride ourselves on. I can imagine how disappointed you must have been when your expectations were not met. I have used your feedback as a training tool for our teams to ensure immediate improvements are made. We certainly appreciate your loyalty to the Sheraton brand and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you we are much better than this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#15 of 79 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.4 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Birmingham

Property: Sheraton Birmingham
Address: 2101 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35203-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Birmingham Hotel has 123,000 sq ft of updated event space and is connected by skywalk to Birmingham/Jefferson Convention Complex. We're home to Birmingham's largest ballroom (25,000 sq ft). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Starwood, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing