We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager was nice rooms were not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Birmingham/West
Ranked #59 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 28 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinn14951, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Birmingham/West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Raven M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinn14951, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Birmingham/West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Old property and on the decline. Needs a lot of updating and maintenance. Clean on the surface, but needs a good down-deep scrubbing. Black, moldy, dusty grime on the bathroom exhaust vent was the glaring issue, but there were others of note too. An indifferently staffed "Popeyes" chicken place was the only place to eat in the vicinity. I have stayed in worse places, though this place is not far above them. Find someplace else if you can.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The sheets were clean and the dude at the front desk was kind and helpful. It all goes down hill from there. There were bugs, but they were not bed bugs. The room was dirty and run down. The mattress was soft and saggy. Huge stains on the blanket and bedspread. There was black hair in the sink and tub and on the coffee maker. Not worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Lowell H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the 2013 Hair show there in Birmingham. Walked into the room and the smell of animal urine was apparent. Room was neglected and had tape under pictures to hide holes. Pictures on the wall had hair and what looked like mold on the frame and under the glass. Bathroom floor had a hole in the corner of the wall. Chairs in the room were filthy and stained. Hated to but got settled in because it was a last minute place that had a room. Went to bed and upon waking felt my skin itching and pulled back the covers and had BED BUGS crawling on the cover and mattress. Went to the office they said would have to wait till 8:00am to speak to the manager on staff. Had that staff worker come to the room to witness these bugs on the bed. Management in the morning said he had never heard of this problem before and that he was sorry for the inconvenience. We could get our money back for the site we booked from. He had no real concern of this problem at all. I am still mortified!!!! I do have video on my phone of the bugs crawling on the bed, the pictures on the wall and of the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: Do not ever come to this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srmatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. First off the room smelled like dog pee and stinky armpits....there was a burn hole in the bedding that went through all the way to the sheets....so either the maid did it or the sheets were not changed.....When we woke up we saw a bug crawling on the bed then lifted up the sheets and there were bed bugs. We immediately let the manager know of the problem which he didn't seem like it was the first time he heard of this due to his reaction. If it was me I would be calling the pest control service right then and there and I would want to come check out the room to see how bad the problem was. If you have recently stayed here.....you might wanna burn your clothes and check your mattress at home!!

Room Tip: Do Not come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terria652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#53 of 80 in Birmingham
83 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#51 of 80 in Birmingham
105 reviews
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#45 of 80 in Birmingham
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Birmingham Highway 280
7.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#58 of 80 in Birmingham
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Birmingham/West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Birmingham/West

Address: 905 11th Ct W, Birmingham, AL 35204-1806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £51 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Birmingham/West 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Birmingham/West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing