We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The staff made this a pleasant stay. They always greeted us pleasantly and offered assistance. The breakfast was wonderful...Great variety and the hot sandwiches were especially tasty and filling. The building is a nicely renovated Amerisuites. You can tell it is not a Hyatt. We drove past the street a few times before we saw the sign neatly tucked away in shrubbery. It is conveniently located near great shopping and dining. Check your toilet before getting too comfortable. There were also noticeable furniture and carpet stains.

Room Tip: The first floor was surprisingly quiet, especially with dogs in the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penntrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    130
    65
    31
    22
See reviews for
192
104
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Good for trips. Only downside is that its location on 280 makes for a terrible morning commute, but that did not impact my review. Furniture seemed like it needed a deep cleaning, and much of the cleaning staff was quite loud mid-day in the hallways while I was doing some work. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusaurelius113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Right after we got there we learned that the pool was closed for winter. The website did not say that and I would have chosen a different hotel. Almost every time we went to the front desk we had to wait because there was a few people that one or two people were trying to help. The staff at the front desk was also the bar tender and resturant staff. We did order the food from the hotel and it was very good. I loved the way the rooms were set up!! what a great design.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redeffects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Got this place last minute but we were sold as soon as we walked in. Very nice all American staff even at 11 at night. Breakfast was warm clean and tasted good. Better than McDonald's. Water pressure and temp of shower wasexcellent

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My 3rd visit this year to this hotel and as usual I was very impressed. Front of the house staff was very accommodating throughout check-in, morning breakfast and evening return. Always greeting everyone with a smile and encouraging you to enjoy your day. Rooms are spacious, clean and beds are very comfortable. In addition, this property is conveniently located to some great restaurants. If you stay anywhere else on 280 your making a mistake.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmm77396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If I had stayed longer than a day, my rating of this hotel would be poor.

Cleanliness of the rooms needs to be improved across the board, and as I read other reviews I'm not the only one who feels this way. Pictures of Hyatt Place Hotels look immaculate, but once you're in the rooms you can see how the rooms are quickly wearing and cheap materials were used to construct the rooms. Consistently I have found rusted towel holders, hair on towels, dusty furniture, and stains on headboards and carpet. I promise you this has been consistent at the Hyatts I've stayed. There were issues with the bedside lights and clock in my room. The maintenance person struggled in resolving the issues. After having him in my room for a long period of time, I asked him not to worry about it as I was extremely tired. During the early hours of the morning the alarm clock went off. The clock displayed 6:00 a.m. but it was actually 4:00 a.m. I am a very light sleeper so needless to say it took a while for me to go back to sleep.

The light fixture/fan combination in the bathroom is very loud. I turned it off and used the light source from the vanity area. The breakfast is very limited. The good thing is that this hotel is located near many restaurants and great shopping.

The television although very modern, displays less than ten channels. I've stayed in hotels that have more channels than I wish to watch, this hotel has none that I'm interested.

Even though I had a "do not disturb" hanger on the door, housekeeping still came knocking.

The associates were friendly, professional and accommodating and the hotel is in a great/safe location. However, I probably would not be staying at another Hyatt Place Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritofExcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here from Sept. 13-Sept 16,2013. My daughter choose this hotel for me based on location, free parking, and price. It is located off busy US-280 south of Birmingham, but far enough that you don't hear highway noise.
I was pleasantly greeted when I arrived. The desk clerk quickly found my reservation and she asked if I had a floor preference. I told her I prefer an upper floor and I was given a non-smoking 6th floor. There are 6 floors. No complaints about the elevator.
My room had a sofa and ottoman. A sink and small fridge area with a coffee pot, and tea and coffee packs. One king bed that was very comfy, 42' hdtv, and connections for video console or camcorder. A closet with a full length mirror. Tub-shower combo. Bathroom sink with 3 smallish drawers on the side. A nice large window with blackout liners. And in my room the view from the window was trees and sky. Very quiet and peaceful. Everything was clean.
There is limited room service, but I didn't use it. There is a complimentary breakfast with a nice selection of items. There is, also, fast, free wi-fi.
This hotel is about 15 miles from Birmingham Airport. Ten miles from downtown.

Room Tip: Room facing the back looks out over trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness

Property: Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
Address: 4686 Highway 280, Birmingham, AL 35242-5094
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Hyatt Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing