We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST EVER”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #66 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 10 November 2013

this is the worst experience i have ever had, the room door would not close all the way. Plus the sink and tub was clogged up. When I tried to call the front desk no one answered, and I called back several times no answer. The next day upon checking out I told the front desk about what was going on. He didnt seem to care and said there was nothing he could do about it. Then gave me a card for the GM and his email. The worst experience ever and customer experience needs to improve. If you cant maintenance your building than your customer service should be excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

When we got to our room, there was a 3 inch gap where door did not meet door jamb. Smoke alarm was beeping, front desk sent someone up to fix. After husband took a shower, sink filled with shower water. Room could have been cleaner. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have stayed in a lot of hotels in my 40 years. This is number 1 in the worst category. All the reviews that are listed are true. We seen it for ourself. Shady people hanging around, man outside was talking to the washing machine, carpet was filthy. Took my shoes off and was in the room for 10 minutes and they were black, pulled sheets back there was hair and pubic hair there, both beds. Half the lights didn't work. Do not stay here! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jamar J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

When driving in the lot you get the impression it will be a nice stay based on their office building is large and decorated nicely but when you get passed that and actually see the motel rooms I started to second guess this stay. When we parked and walking to our room the up keep outside was in need of repair and walking passed the pool even in the dark you can tell it was in need of repair even before seeing the sign for repair. Well opening the door to our room the light switch did not work and most of the other lights flickered when you turned them on. The tub had standing water in the bottom due to a leaking faucet. The deadbolt to our door was hard to lock. Pay a little extra to stay elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lil_duley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#44 of 80 in Birmingham
390 reviews
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#54 of 80 in Birmingham
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#50 of 80 in Birmingham
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#59 of 80 in Birmingham
434 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tourway Inn
Tourway Inn
#48 of 80 in Birmingham
40 reviews
7.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 275 Oxmoor Rd, I-65 Exit 256B, Birmingham, AL 35209-4705 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham)
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £43 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Howard Johnson Birmingham
Birmingham Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing