We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend big Think big...”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #66 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I used my wyndham points or triprewards for a free night. I requested a smoking room with a King bed because frankly large amounts of people in one room may tear things up. There was no ashtray, and front desk had none. These rooms cost more than the doubles but they keep the sheets, floor, bathroom cleaner than they would for rooms that hold larger amounts of people. They advertise all the rooms with microwave and fridge but my room had neither. I have noticed that nonsmoking rooms look and smell better and that regulation smoke alarms must not work. It was better than I expected for me and my partner. The pool was clean but the appearance of the buildings hidden behind the trees was so horrible. I would suggest motel6, sunsuites on lakeshore dr, or studio plus on state farm parkway if you want something that looks better at the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackbettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2009

My family and group made reservations there to attend a funeral. Part of the family were only going to stay the weekend.. While me and my kids were going to stay there for a week. It was the worst place ever. I DO MEAN EVER!,Start out we requested a refrigerator and microwave since we were going to be there a week. It was not in the room. There were four of us in the room and four was noted on the reservation. They left only two sets of towels We had to go purchase our own towels and cleaning supplies it was filthy, When we called to complain they were ignored. when we left to go to the funeral and returned there was a refrigerator placed in the room It had bugs in it!! not to mention the bugs that were crawling out of the cracks in the wall in the bathroom. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy and that is a fact. It is ridicious!!!!The microwave when they finally brought it to the room . the guy had to tape up the front of the microwave because the glass front was broken so no one one would get cut. I called for a vacuum to vacuum the floor myself because no one vacuumed. DO NOT STAY THERE !!! I PROMISE DO NOT STAY THERE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forrealwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Since your stay, we have made several improvements to our property, including new beds and we are currently updating the rooms. New staff has been hired and trained. We hope you come and visit again, and see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We are doing a road trip around the US so we have to stay in budget accommodation.. it has been hit and miss with the Hojo chain .... This one was horrible... filthy mattresses - dirty and even a lone peanut in mine.. together with a hair on the pillow... It has put us off staying at this chain for the rest of our trip. It was very cheap.. but you can get just as cheap but cleaner

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottnjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for your review. Since your stay we have made many changes to our hotel, including new beds, updated rooms and new staff. If you are ever back in the area we would love for you to stay with us again and see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
13
Reviewed 11 February 2006

Hotel is filthy, building looks new from a distance but it is old. Rooms are old. Breakfast is terrible.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. Since your stay, we have made several changes and updates to the hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again so you can see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia
15
Reviewed 21 February 2005

This is the worst hotel that I have ever stayed at. There was alot of partying going on all night long...got very little sleep. Just an overall filty hotel inside and out. If you are looking for a $40.00 hotel then stay there. You pay for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our Howard Johnson. At any hotel, if there is ever a noise complaint please call the front desk and inform the clerk. Since your stay we have made many changes to the property including new clerks and updated rooms. We hope that you will stay with us again to see our progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, Ohio
311
Reviewed 27 August 2003

With a location right off I-65, the hotel is very convenient. Many good places to eat nearby. (Try Jim and Nick's BBQ just down Oxmoor, on the other side of I-65.) The hotel has nice curb appeal, and the common area is lovely, but the good experiences end there. We booked on a manager's special at $42. The first room was non-smoking, and we had specifically asked for a smoking room. So, we had our room changed. The new room was old and beaten up. No extra plugs for use. Stained bed sheets. Dirt/debris under the second sheet. Slept on top of the covers.
In the morning, broken beer bottles were strewn throughout the grounds.
Would not recommend this one at any price

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our Howard Johnson. In the years since your stay we have made a few changes on the property, including new beds and updated rooms. We hope that you come back and try us again, and see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanada_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
3.9 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 275 Oxmoor Rd, I-65 Exit 256B, Birmingham, AL 35209-4705 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham)
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £40 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Howard Johnson Birmingham
Birmingham Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing