We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    64
    84
    90
    101
See reviews for
134
74
52
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were vandalized over $10,000 in theft at this hotel. Our stuff was even covered that you could not see what was in back of tinted windows. They busted both sides in back out. Even the glass from the vandalism was not picked up for over 28 hrs, some is still in parking lot. This hotel has no security, nor proper lighting for guest vehicles. The park at your own risk is hidden by trees and faded so bad you would never see it at night, barely in the day. We were approached by druggies, and there is prostitutes working out of hotel. The rooms need to be updated, along with the locks. Beware! 4-5 cars total got vandalized same morning. We only stopped here to relax for a few hours after long traveling.

Room Tip: If you stay secure everything, do not even leave valuables in the room, nor cars.. Not a place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMEDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeDee083, Manager at Red Roof Inn Birmingham South, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you so much for your response. I am aware of this situation and I want to apologize again. A few clarifications the property had two cars vandalized. And two is too many however this is the first that this has happened this year and that information is available in public records. The property is working closely w authorities to make appropriate changes to make sure these things are not a trend. Out of all the heartache you have faced the property is working with you, authorities as well as the insurance company. Also we have comped you two nights w dinner to help you make appropriate accommodation. Again sorry for the troubles you experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading the reviews for this hotel I was very skeptical about booking a room. Upon arrival (May 22, 2014) I was greeted by smiling faces and check-in only took approximately 2 minutes. My room was clean (towels,linen, etc), I always febreze my rooms as soon as I walk in (so they smell like home), all power outlets and appliances (LG flat screen tv, iron, coffee maker and lights) worked properly. The shower was clean (& water was hot) and I got new towels everyday. No outside disturbances and I slept in everyday of my 4 day getaway so I never made it to breakfast. Only issue is their key system, I was locked out everyday lol. Maybe I got lucky..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeDee083, Manager at Red Roof Inn Birmingham South, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time out to comment on your stay. These reviews utilize by management to better service our guest. We appreciate you taking the time to have the awesome comments and we are so happy to hear you had a great stay!

Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Mold, moisture in room. Dehumidifier in every room. Bugs from moisture.Filthy and stinky. Door locks do not work. Locked out of our room for 1 hour, finally had to switch rooms. The room they moved us to had no working shower. Everything is very outdated and needs to be updated. Socks were black after walking on the carpet for 2-3 minutes. Don't come here! The staff was very helpful and polite. They were the best part of the stay, or we wouldn't of stayed. Thankful it was just a over night stop over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeDee083, Manager at Red Roof Inn Birmingham South, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time out to comment on your stay. These reviews our utilize by management to better service our guest. We do want to say we apologize for the noise you experience while trying to sleep. Please help us in reporting those issues as soon as it occur so that we can handle the situation promptly. Thank you so much for being the better half of Baymont Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#42 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Wildwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#47 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hoover/Birmingham
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Birmingham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Birmingham South

Property: Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Address: 1466 Montgomery Hwy, Birmingham, AL 35216-3607 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Birmingham/Vestavia)
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Birmingham South 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel provides easy access to popular activities in the area. Visit the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, the Birmingham Zoo or the Alabama Adventure Water and Theme Park. Talladega Superspeedway offers exciting races, and the University of Alabama at nearby Tuscaloosa. Oak Mountain State Park offers great hiking, and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Oxmoor Valley is a short drive. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, rely on our Birmingham hotel for the convenient amenities you need. Enjoy a peaceful sleep in one of our standard comfortable rooms; microwaves and refrigerators are available in superior room types. Connect to free WiFi or work remotely in our business center. Take advantage of our stay active with a workout in our fitness center. If you are in need of some rest and relaxation, lounge in the sun by our outdoor pool. One well behaved pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Birmingham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Birmingham / Vestavia
Baymont Inn & Suites Birmingham / Vestavia Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing