We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My worst review ever! Not up to Wyndham Standards In My Opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Birmingham Inn & Suites
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We are Wyndham Rewards members and this was my second visit to this Wingate and have to say it is not up to the standards I am used to finding at most Wingate by Wyndham hotels, my first stay was 2 years ago and has gotten worse since then; I should have read recent reviews before booking rather than going off my memory of previous stay. Great location, very close to family and convenient to restaurants, entertainment, and shopping. Front Desk personnel were friendly upon check in, but most of the time the front desk was unoccupied; personnel were in the manager's office; one time the young lady was actually in the breakfast area at a table full of course work while directly in front of the TV. Plenty of protein options at breakfast - thank you! Our room was a 1st floor handicap room, and it seemed to have been a prior smoking room from the odor; room ready for renovation, worn out; has a big walk in shower, cannot move shower head, wedged against ceiling, lots of water ends up on the bathroom floor probably because the curtain is short and shower head position, this is a serious slip hazard and the shower stool is rickety, could end up in a law suit if not replaced. There is not a safe to lock up valuables. Very small refrigerator which had seen better days, and there was not a microwave in the room. Window screens were torn (we did not open the windows though), air conditioner temp difficult to control, either really cold or warm despite the setting. Iron in room had old moldy water in it which if used would have ruined shirt (checked out iron on towel before use, black gunk sprayed from steam holes) there was not a replacement iron available (all rooms booked). Supposed to be a non-smoking facility, however, people permitted to smoke next to front entrance (there needs to be a designated smoking area, gazebo). Both printers in business would not print, staff had no idea when they would be operable. HBO not available despite staff belief it was supposed already to be fixed. Not enough towels provided for 2 people (you would think a handicap room would have extra towels). We will not stay at this Wyndham property again unless it is renovated, and we will ask when the last renovation was completed the next time we come to B'ham; hopefully there are other Wyndham properties we can use, if not the is not a lack of competition in the area. Would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Bring extra blanket to stay warm. Bring your own iron. You must hold the toilet handle down throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel from June 17th till 20th in room 208. At the check in the young lady was not very friendly, actually she was rude. The room was alright, but the HBO did not work. I went to the front desk and the same lady told that they would fix it the same day.
The warm items at breakfast were 2 days in a row the same. In the morning we spoke with a male at the front desk and he apologized for the HBO channel not working. He would make a call to see that it is fixed that day. Guess what, nothing changed. It was only on the 19th that HBO worked. They installed a Cisco system. There was no new channel listing and a few other channels gave a 'no signal' message.
When we opened our door of the room we had a clear view on the front desk. Most of the time there was nobody at the desk, even when there were people waiting. When we could not find the laundromat, we went to the front desk. I waited a long time, people entered and left the building but no one came to the desk. Only when I jelled the same young lady came from behind the wall. For those who look for the laundromat, it is on the second floor behind a door with the sign 'storage'.
When we wanted to check out, there was no suitcase trolley at the main gate. They told me to wait until one would become available. I saw one standing behind the front desk full of cables from the Cisco company. Only after a while they fulfilled my request to be able to use it.
I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmarilisVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Birmingham Highway 280
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Birmingham Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Birmingham Inn & Suites

Address: 800 Corporate Rdg, Birmingham, AL 35242 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Birmingham/Inverness)
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £54 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Birmingham Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Birmingham Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Wingate Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing