We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at any cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at any cost”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stove works when it wants. Refrigerator broken. Microwave stopped working on our 7th day. Toilet overflowed and it took me several hours to get everything required to clean up and sanitize the bathroom. Roaches. Floor is filthy you just have to see our socks. Sofa was just as bad. 2 washers and dryers in our building only 1 washer worked. Contacted desk about it and was told they probably already knew of it. The sign on the dryer is very old. The washers were both mfgd 1997. Took 5 hours to complete 3 loads. They also charge for Internet and if you elect to use their "free" service forget it, it's shoddy and you have to figure out how to log on every day.

I see the good reviews were early on in 2009. Perhaps something had happened since.

My wife myself and 2 babies stayed for 2 weeks. If we could find another suite anywhere else we would have left.

I attempted to contact the The Marriott executive branch and was twice transferred to the Residency Inn Customer Relations but no one answered the phone. After 10 minutes of ringing it automatically disconnected.

I served the US Army for 25 years and have stayed in about 1000 hotels and this wad the worst ever.

I expected a lot more from a Marriott family backed hotel.

Email to the Customer Comaint dept generated a we need to know what room you ari in to rectify the problem. Wary of retaliation I will not provide until I leave.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    39
    32
    12
    15
See reviews for
38
15
5
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bandera, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel is dated but clean. Supposed to start renovation in March 2013. The dishwasher leaked and one of the washers was broken. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is pretty good and had good variety but check milk expiration date! Our room was next to the elevator which was loud! Not bad for the price!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banderaaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Hotel is dated and worn. Rooms only have old queen beds... and a pullout of very poor quality. It was not comfortable for 2 adults to spend the night. There are much higher value rooms in the same price range with competing chains

Room Tip: Go someplace else.... you can get a much higher value room in the same price range
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We recently stayed at this location while attending a swim meet at the Birmingham Crossplex The hotel itself is older and the rooms could certainly use some renovating. There were some loose tiles in the bathroom and a few minor stains on the carpet, but nothing major. The beds were just fine and the room was clean when we arrived. The front desk staff used our names upon check in and quickly took care of any issues we had. It is located next to some good restaurants although it is right next to the Interstate. An average stay.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Disney6California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This place is showing it's age. It's still acceptable, but only because it's cheap. In a year or two this won't be a place to stay. It's clean, and we appreciated having a kitchenette, breakfast, and fold out couch. Downsides are random holes in the wall, the general feel of age, some of the breakfast was inedible and the location. Also, see the attached photo of the disclaimer for the dishes and cups which "have been washed but not sanitized." What in the world does that even mean? That doesn't inspire confidence in cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabUlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Like to stay at Residence Inns, even on business, because of the free breakfast and large spacious rooms. While this hotel had good value for the price, be careful of where you stay in the hotel. I had a room right next to an elevator and outside entrance, and all night long, that is all I could hear. The walls are definitely thin, including the ceiling. Heard the people upstairs quite readily as well. Fortunately, it was for one night. However, when I'm in the area again, i will not be staying here.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor and away from elevator/entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viera, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

I stay only at Marriotts because of the rewards program and because they are consistently clean....except for this one. I stayed here 5 years ago and it was fine. But this time I felt like I was in a Super 8. The room was not clean especially a grimy feel on the floors. The room stunk of cigarette even though it is a non-smoking hotel. The door was crooked so we could see the hallway near the bottom. The housekeepers played loud music in the rooms and yelled up and down the halls. We were afraid to use the dishes.
Now the upside. Anthony at the front desk was extremely nice and the ladies doing the breakfast were also nice. That's about it for positives. Marriott needs to do something about this property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Birmingham Homewood
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Homewood
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Wildwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood

Property: Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood
Address: 50 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7179
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Birmingham Homewood, AL hotel offers the convenience and comfort you need, whether you're with us for a short or extended stay. Located in Birmingham, Alabama, where great climate and southern hospitality reign, this hotel near Homewood, AL provides impeccable service and a welcoming environment. At our Homewood extended stay hotel, choose from studios, one- or two-bedroom suites featuring full kitchens with refrigerators, stoves and microwaves. Wake up to the smell of fresh coffee and a complimentary buffet breakfast. Take a morning or afternoon swim in our pool. Relax while watching TV or reading a complimentary daily newspaper in your room's living area. Or, mix and mingle during our hospitality hour while enjoying a beer or wine. Close to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, downtown Birmingham and cultural activities, our hotel is ideally located for both business and leisure travel. You'll feel right at home at our Residence Inn Birmingham hotel in Homewood, AL. Plan your stay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing