We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for Maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Closed for Maintenance”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Quiet, pleasant atmosphere in a mixed-purpose location of office buildings and a shopping complex. Conveniently located at the confluence of two major highways with more shopping, dining, and office parks very close by. Room was clean and well appointed. What appeared to be a base-price room was equipped with a subcompact refrigerator; a welcome touch. Signs marked "Closed for Maintenance" were observed at one side entrance (no room key access, requiring one to walk around to the main entrance) and the pool/spa area (spa was closed for maintenance for the duration of this four night stay). On the first day, the television in the fitness room was not working (but was repaired by end of day). An unidentifiable electrical wire with some sort of electronic component attached was sticking out of the air conditioning unit. Staff were very courteous and greeted all guests who passed near them. Checkout was quick and painless. The monitor at a printing station in the lobby "wakes up" with an opening splash screen of all major airlines and a link to check in to whichever airline is selected. As with all Courtyards, breakfast is not provided gratis. At this location, a mixed grill was present with a Starbucks bar operating in the morning, a light lunch of sandwiches and related fixings at lunch, and just off the front desk were several refrigerated cases with snacks for purchase at the front desk available at all hours. Fitness room and business center are also open at all hours, but the swimming area closes at 11p. The fitness room was equipped with towels and a water dispenser of both chilled and hot water, but lacked antibacterial wipes to clean the equipment after use. Word has it that this location recently staged a well-publicized grand opening after undergoing extensive renovations.

Room Tip: The side of the hotel where the main entrance is located faces a major highway. Road noise is faint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rchrisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Richriss,

We appreciate your positive feedback, as well as the opportunity to report on the status of issues that you encountered. The hotel has been newly renovated and as the last piece of this renovation we are waiting on the arrival of our new room refrigerators. We are very excited about the addition of this amenity.
Our chief engineer is running through rooms to locate the exposed wire on the AC unit that you mentioned to resolve this oversight.
We were also able to get the part in for our side entrance so, guests do not have to walk to the main entrance when it is more convenient to use the side.
For the Fitness Room a checklist is in place for each shift to ensure that we do not run out of wipes and it is well maintained.
It is only through our guests eyes that we grow and exceed expectations. Thank you for this opportunity.

Best regards,

Beth J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    62
    38
    19
    12
See reviews for
47
34
6
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu/Austin TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is an excellent courtyard. We were upgraded to a suite which had a balcony. Very nice area close to the summit mall and Cracker Barrel Restaurant. Many other restaurants within 3-5 minutes. Staff here is first rate. The downside is you pay for breakfast at Courtyards, or eat out. Whirlpool was out of order, but heated pool was nice. Gym has two high level treadmills which we used. Plan to return to this property next trip to Birmingham.
Gold Marriott
Gold Hilton
Platinum Priority Club

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Contributor,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your loyalty to Marriott as a Gold Elite member. You will be happy to know that our spa is now open.

If a rate inclusive of breakfast is important to you, we do have packages inclusive of breakfast based on the number of people in your room. These packages with breakfast still allow you to stay at a rate that is comparable to those hotels offering a complimentary breakfast.

Thank you again for your time. We will share your experience with our management and staff.
If you find yourself in Birmingham we would love to be your lodging provider.

Best regards,

Beth J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel has been totally updated. The rooms look new and were clean. Management and staff were very friendly and professional. Would recommend as a convenient place to stay for a shopping weekend or driving over to Oak Mountain State Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Bp8790,

Thank you for the opportunity to host your stay in the Birmingham area. Your positive feedback is very important to the management and staff. We share all reviews with the staff in our daily meetings, success stories bring smiles to our faces. If you return to Birmingham we would love to be your lodging choice.

Best regards.

Sincerely,

Beth J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great- free- breakfast daily. Rooms are nice, spotless, comfortable bedding. Equipped with microwave and restaurant. Close to great restaurants and shopping. Very safe area. We have already booked to stay here again this year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear RSavell,

Thank you for taking the time to provide great feedback for our hotel. We love to hear from our guests. I will share with our team this success story by reading your review in our daily morning meeting. We look forward to hosting your stay for the Polar Express this year. Thank you for your loyalty.

Best regards,

Beth J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

This clean, quiet and well located hotel is located just a few blocks from summit shopping. The staff is beyond friendly, helpful and courteous. The food at the mini Starbucks is great. My daughter is attending UAB so i will be back again when I visit her.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom-on-the-journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Mom-on-the-journey,

Thank you for providing such great feedback from your stay. It is only through our guest's feedback that we grow stronger. It's great to share the success stories with our team.

We look forward to hosting future stays during your daughter's college years.

Sincerely,

Beth J

PS I love your name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We came to Birmingham to tour a winery and decided to spend the night so we chose the Courtyard at Colonndade. Our room was updated and very nice. It is in a very nice area close to the Summitt and some nice resturants. The only complaint that we have is our room was facing Interstate 459 so it was very noisy with lots of traffic all night long. So if you stay here, ask for a room on the other side. All the staff, especially Jeff at the front desk were very nice and polite.
Thanks,
Cindy

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Cindy S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel feedback from your stay. The hotel does have one side exposed to the interstate. Thesse rooms have a second window covering designed to block out sound. If you would like to follow up with your room information or dates of stay, I would love the opportunity to check the room you stayed in to see if the barier has been compromised. My sincere apologies for the interuption to your sleep.

We share all feedback with our associates in our daily meetings, Jeff will be acknowledged for providing great customer service. Please let us know if we can assist you in the future.

Best regards,

Beth J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The front desk receptionist Ms. Andrea was truly outstanding! She was very courteous and greeted myself as well as other customers with a beautiful smile. Her knowledge of the property as well as her initiative of going over and beyond her job scope made my stay a true delight. I would refer this hotel to anyone. If I am ever in the area again I will definitely be staying here! Thank you Ms. Andrea and Marriott!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Quinton B,

Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback for our Guest Service Associate. We love to recognize a job well done and we take our customer reviews serious. Your comments will be shared with all of our associate.

Please let us know if we can assist you in the future.

Thank you,

Beth J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280
1.0 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#24 of 79 in Birmingham
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suite Birmingham - Hoover
0.6 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Perimeter Park
0.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview

Property: Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview
Address: 4300 Colonnade Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243-2399 (Formerly Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade)
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade hotel is proud to share our newly renovated state-of-the-art lobby and stylish new guest rooms. Located just 25 minutes from downtown and the airport, this Birmingham, AL hotel is close to the University of Alabama at Birmingham. The exciting new features at this Birmingham, AL hotel include inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Internet access throughout, access to the latest news via our GoBoard and The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® offering enhanced breakfast, dinner and beverage options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Birmingham Colonnade Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Courtyard
Birmingham Marriott
Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing