We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview
Nearby Hotels
US$150
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Birmingham)
US$102
US$99
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
97
65
38
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
65
38
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskindoor poolroom was cleannice propertysummit mallhome away from homelobby areaa wonderful staywould stay here againstaff was very friendlyi highly recommend this hoteleasy accessbistrochristyelfconveniencesofa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a reservation for two rooms in June 2013 as we were stopping for the night on the way to Florida. We had been in the car for approx. 9-10 hours with a 5 year old. Our friends were meeting us there with their 3 kids. We assured the kids that they could go swimming when we arrived, however the pool was closed for construction and we were not told this info. when we made the reservations. The hotel manager promptly began to make other arrangements for us with another Marriott hotel. Unfortunately there were no rooms available at those hotels with a pool. She then made arrangements with the Drury Inn nearby which had a pool, The Drury Inn only had suites available but we did not have to pay anything additional compared to the rate quoted to us by Courtyard by Marriott. I have not seen customer service like this in a long time. We will definitely continue to be Courtyard by Marriott customers for future getaways.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Deanna S,

Thank you for the great feedback. We really hate to send someone to a hotel outside our Marriotts, but if that is what it takes to meet the needs of our guests and avoid disappointment, we would rather you stay with our competition one time to protect your Marriott loyalty forever. Your review has made it clear that it was a sound decision. Thank you for your time and loyalty to Marriott.

Our pool is open and ready for your return.

Best regards,

Beth J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I arrived with a group of people and at different times. The front desk person had everything ready to go and even handed us some candy bags and helped with late night snacks.

The rooms were clean, very comfortable and modern. The lobby and ambience was what we have come to expect of the Courtyard brand.

The next morning it was a little disappointing to see the bistro close at 10 am when we were trying to get something to eat on the road. This hotel may not be in a great location for someone who wants to be in Birmingham, but the city isn't that big and you can get around easily. If you are on your way to Tuscaloosa then you are in a great location because you will get on the 459 which will take you a good distance down to hit the 20 west.

Great hotel. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goeverywhere83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear goeverywhere 83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with our hotel. We have a strong focus on customer service and planning for the arrival of our weekend groups is a big emphasis. We love hearing success stories.

I do apologize for the Bistro closing time. We are planning to extend hours of operation for weekends that have late Alabama games, so that guests are not rushed and have the opportunity to have a late breakfast or early lunch before heading off to the game. We grow stronger through our guest's feedback.

Best regards,

Beth J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When we checked in, I thought things were going to be good. The front desk was operated by Jeffery Rhinehart who was super helpful. He was very nice and saw to it we were brought a blanket and a blow dryer (the room didn't have either.) We had a few ants on our pillows and in the sheets but they were dead and we were exhausted. The bed was great, slept well. Got up next morning and Starbucks was closed, no complimentary coffee or tea in the lobby (standard everywhere and we've been to many as we are platinum marriott members) and were told by Mary to use the coffee provided in our room. We could get the Starbucks drip coffee they had prepared in the back for themselves, but she had to charge us for it, and had no idea what coffee it even was (ie. Breakfast Blend, Pike's Peak, Sumatra) she said "what's the difference, it's just the regular coffee." We would even have to pay for tea bags, even though they are nowhere else! The one cup brewer in the room, with three pods, no extra sugar, no real creamer, no cups with lids, and no tea in the room. I'll sleep in a bed with ants lol, but don't mess with my caffeine. Mr. Rhinehart needs to retrain the whole lot of them on the day shift we spoke to. The evening shift was nice!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyKayAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear WendyKayAhmad,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our staff. This is an opportunity to provide training for our staff on the products we offer. You obviously travel a lot with our Marriott hotels.
First, let me say that your experience with the ants was unacceptable. We will be reviewing our bed inspection process with our inspectors. Again, thank you so much for sharing this information with me.
As for the coffee provided in the lobby, it is now a brand standard for Courtyard by Marriott that only Starbucks Coffee is provided. We also serve Starbucks Tea. The coffee made in the back was actually Starbucks coffee which we brew 24 hours a day so that our guests may purchase from our desk during times when the Bistro is not open.
The addition of Starbucks to our hotels meets the needs of many of our travelers who prefer specialty drinks as well as the darker roast drip coffee. In an effort to meet the needs of our travelers who do not wish to purchase coffee, we still offer the Barista Roast in your room free of charge. While we do not place liquid creamer in the rooms we are always happy to provide with just a phone call to our Guest Service team.
We want all of our travelers to have a great experience with our hotel and staff. We are here to serve and meet the needs of our guests. It is my opinion that we failed to provide you acceptable options during this stay. Our leadership team will review how this could have been resolved to your satisfation. Please feel free to reach out to me for further discussion.
Sincerely, BethJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Relaxing & attractive. Very updated. My only issue was the configuration of the room seemed very odd. Also, very little space at sink especially because fridge is under the sink & sticks out. No way 2 folks can get ready at the same time. The bathroom is very, very roomy

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tutunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Tutunc,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We love to share stories with our associates in our daily meetings.

I wanted the let you know that we are resolving the issue with our curent refrigerators which are too large for the space under the vanity. The last part of our renovation is the shipment of refrigerators that is due to arrive at our location. They were purchased based on the space available.

Best regards,

Beth J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

No complaints about this hotel. Great location near many restaurants and easy to get to off the highway. The hotel lobby is really nice and can tell it was recently renovated. Room was clean and loved the small balcony. There was a decent amount of road noise with the balcony door open, but was very quiet when it was closed. No free breakfast, but it is close to several good breakfast options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmyk2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth J, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear KimmyK2314,

It is great to hear from our guests, we know that everyone has a lot going on in their busy day so, it is extra special when someone takes time out of their schedule to share positive information. The management and leadership team share these comments both good and bad with our staff. They look forward to your sugestions and take pride in success stories.

Thank you,

Beth J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews