We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice upscale Korean and Japanese place”

Ginza Sushi Bar & Korean BBQ
Ranked #388 of 947 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very nice upscale Korean and Japanese place”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

They blend of Korean and Japanese and score high points on both. The best sushi in Birmingham and the Galbi is addictive! The only Korean BBQ in the state that I know of. The owners are Korean and take pride in everything the serve.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank unmikcivpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Birmingham.”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This place always has delicious sushi. I've never had a roll that I didn't like, and I've tried just about everything on the menu. And the head sushi chef is very friendly and is very helpful to you if you want to try something new. I love this place. I never go anywhere else for sushi!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Still our favorite after many years. Sushi best in town, no competition. Noted comments in other reviews about service. Wait staff is much improved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BhmAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sushi, Sashimi, and More”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I confess, I am a sushi-holic. It's delicious and heart friendly. Ginza is my restaurant of choice. Don, the lead sushi chef, prepares a gorgeous plate of delicious food. He also learns very quickly the tastes of his customers. With very little input from me he will prepare my meal. Some of the menu highlights, beyond the usual fish and rolls, include monkfish liver and a spicy Korean seafood salad. The monkfish liver is rich and creamy. So rich that a small serving will usually suffice. The spicy Korean seafood salad is large enough to be a meal. Fish and other seafood are served over a bed of lettuce and shredded daikon. This is topped with a spicy red sauce that is just sweet enough. Another sushi favorite is the chirashi. Betond the sushi bar the Korean BBQ is good, especially if you aren't expecting anything like southern, hickory smoked BBQ. John and Jane, the owners, work very hard to ensure that customers enjoy their experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always the best”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Each time we have visited (since they opened), it has been wonderful. Our first choice is sushi, but it is all fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginza Sushi Bar & Korean BBQ also viewed

Birmingham, AL
Birmingham, AL
 

Been to Ginza Sushi Bar & Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing