We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mingya Confucianist Hotel
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Qufu
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Right in the middle of town & you can do everything on foot from the hotel. Good value for money.Clean rooms with bathrooms. Avoid rooms on south side of hotel overlooking Dongmen Street: the street is noisy at night with karaoke/night club noise till past midnight. Earplugs a must!
We were told breakfast was at 7 , but no staff turned up til 7.30, which was a pain as we had an early train........

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking Dongmen St on the South side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

First of all, there is a lack of decent hotels in Qufu. There is a gossip that they are building large international hotel there. If so, the situation will be different soon. At now point you may try your luck with QueLi Hotel, but most possible it will be all booked.
Mingya Confucianist Hotel is extremely dated, worked to the bones, and dirty. I recommend to take comfortable clothes for sleeping – you will not want to undress there (bedding is grey-colored, with holes from time, completely worn. Comforters are with blood and urine stains. Have your own towel at list for your face. To have you own pillow is also a good idea. I have been very glad that I made complete vaccination before my trip – this is the case you need it. Thyphoid, tuberculosis, hepatitis – they all stayed it this hotel before you.
Tip: try to find something more decent, if you can.
Location is great, however. So, go for the evening stroll, have a dinner in QueLi Hotel (we did it twice – great!), have body and food massage there as well. Get drunk, really – it will help.

Room Tip: Chose a room in different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelDweller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Great location in the center of town and a short walk from the attractions and food street. The quality of the room was above-expectation; the torn and stained bath towels were not. Breakfast buffet was Chinese food only (veggies and rice gruel, etc). Free in-room Net. Their tech guy solved my connection issue quickly! Minimal English. Qufu was a bore, though. Visit nearby Jinan instead, which is modern, clean and filled with interest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I've stayed in this hotel for long periods during the summer for the past two years due to work.

Pros: 1) The location is excellent. It's within walking distance to the Confucius Temple. There are plenty of taxis and rickshaws available in front. For 6 kuai, you can go to KFC, which also happens to be located right by the mall where you can buy food, toiletries, clothes, anything. There is another chicken burger place a block from the hotel on the main street. 2) The rooms are clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. Definitely up to western standards. 3) Most of the staff are friendly and willing to help. 4) The hotel restaurant has tasty food. It's pricy for Chinese standards (about 15-30 kuai per dish) but much more clean and convenient than eating out. Good watermelon juice, veggie dumplings, tomato/egg, and eggplants. 5) The breakfast spread is decent. Not much change on a daily basis but there's enough variety (congee, breads, rice, veggies).

Cons: 1) The air conditioners don't work well in a lot of the rooms. In the summer, this will be a problem since Qufu can get scorching hot (past 100 degrees/40 degrees C.). You can ask for a fan if you happen to be in one of these rooms. However, there are rooms with a separate air conditioner attached to the wall (instead of the usual central air), and these units work great. If heat is a problem, ask for these particular rooms. 2) The first floor rooms can get more humid, and they are also located near the hotel bathrooms, which often smell like sewage. The second floor is ideal. 3) One housekeeping staff yelled at us for asking for fresh towels everyday. That attitude is unacceptable in any hotel. I normally use the same towels but towels take longer to dry here due to the humidity. 4) I really don't like the watermelon they put out for breakfast. They are cut so thin and once, I bit into a spoiled slice. 5) The hot water comes in and out during the day. 6) Depending on where your room is, you may be directly across from a karaoke/club. If you need silence to sleep, switch to the other side because the music may keep you up. 7) Mosquitoes! This hotel attracts lots of mosquitoes. Make sure you use the plug in repellent and change the blue chips daily. I also avoid having my room cleaned daily because housekeeping keeps the door open while they clean, and that's when mosquitoes will find their way in. 8) This year, the internet was a problem for some reason. It wouldn't work at times. If you call the front desk, they will send a man who will fix the IP address. If you have a Mac and it doesn't work, you are out of luck b/c not many people in China know how to operate Macs.

I wrote a lot of cons in this review but that's only because I was there long enough to recognize all the problems. For a Chinese hotel, Mingya is quite nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peregrine424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I spent one night at the Mingya Confucianist Hotel in early May. The hotel is very well located in the heart of Qufu. My only complaint about the room was that the mattress was uncomfortably firm, but that is not uncommon in China.

The staff were outstanding. Special thanks to "Miss Jo" who spoke English and could not have been more helpful. The non-English speaking staff also went to great lengths to make sure I had an enjoyable stay - andI did!

The breakfast buffet consisted primarily of Chinese foods, but there was a young man who prepared fresh eggs. I had an excellent dinner in the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Location is perfect. Across the road from the Confucius Mansion. While the hotel was clean, there were some mosquitos in my room so my nights sleep was disrupted. The hotel's parking bay for buses is in the middle of the hotel, so this causes a lot of noise early in the morning with the departure of Chinese tour buses, and arrival at night. The free breakfast was not very appetising for a westerner, typical Chinese buffet breakfast of cabbage, cauliflower, steamed buns, rice, eggs. Computer in the room was very handy also.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaAusExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qufu hotels
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Qufu
0.3 mi away
Queli Hotel
Queli Hotel
#2 of 110 in Qufu
105 reviews
0 mi away
Mingya Xingtan Hotel
Mingya Xingtan Hotel
#14 of 110 in Qufu
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fuzi Binshe Family Education Culture Boutique Hotel Qufu
0.7 mi away
Guotie Hotel
Guotie Hotel
#27 of 110 in Qufu
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
7 Days Inn Qufu Sankong
7 Days Inn Qufu Sankong
#23 of 110 in Qufu
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingya Confucianist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingya Confucianist Hotel

Address: No.8 Gulou North Street, Qufu 273100, China
Region: China > Shandong > Qufu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Qufu
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingya Confucianist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mingya Confucianist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing