We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service.”

A Bu Lu Zi Tibetan Restaurant
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Established in 2004, A Bu Lu Zi is Jiuzhaigou's only gourmet Tibetan restaurant. Ke Zhu is our highly trained head chef and he has created a menu which is a mix of traditional and contemporary Tibetan food. Zhuo Ma hosts the family restaurant and looks forward to welcoming you. Many people visit Jiuzhaigou and miss any exposure to Tibetan culture. We enjoy introducing guests to Tibetan culture through food as well as our Eco Lodge and Home Stay experiences. Our wish is that you enjoy your stay in Jiuzhaigou, our home, and hope that our mouth-watering food, Tibetan barley wine and entertainment will add to your experience.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service.”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We loved it here. Good quality Tibetan style food. Excellent tomato soup and mothers potato dish. This place is warm, welcoming and full of character. They could however do with having some wine for sale, as they have it listed in the menu but don't actually have any. The manager, Zhou is an amazing person and all the waiting staff were lovely. The Indian style curry was a bit bland and probably the worst thing that we ordered, as were the yak meatballs. Make sure you also order the Tibetan Barley beer. Watch out for the address as it has recently changed, so check with your hotel. Well done, Zhou Ma!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
“Something different for Jiu Zai Go”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Limited options for vegetarians as you might expect, and some of the listed options not available when we visited. Food was decent though on the expensive side. If you are introverts, or English, you might find the singing at the end of the meal a little embarrassing. All meant in good faith though so, probably a good experience for adventurous meat eaters.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KoroKaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“amazing food”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We visited this Tibetan restaurant on all 3 nights of our stay in Juizhaigou. The restaurant was located next door to our hotel, so was convenient for us. Better than the location, was the fantastic food that we were served. The food was first class, the staff friendly & the restaurant indicative of a traditional Tibetan home. The staff sang us a traditional song & presented us with a sash for good luck/health. On our last day we went with the owners to their home stay in an adjacent valley where we went horse riding, were given yak butter tea, homemade bread with wild honey & then served lunch, before being driven back to our hotel . An added bonus was that the staff spoke very good english, as very little spoken in the valley (including other restaurant menues only in Chinese) . Definitely recommend this restaurant if you visit Juizhaigou

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tibetan Treat -- Great Food”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here in April on our first night in Jiuzhaigou and enjoyed it so much we went back for a late lunch on another day. It is about a 15 to 20 minute walk from the National Park entrance heading back into town. The Tibetan restaurant staff are truly caring and make every effort to provide great food and service -- and they deliver. The food is fresh, tasty and Tibetan and little touches like yak butter tea and local wine offered at no cost toward the end of the meal make for good feelings. And the biggest surprise is that toward the end of the meal one of the servers will sing a Tibetan song for the table in a lovely voice -- a nice touch to end dinner. Much is said about lack of true quality dining options in Jiuzhaigou. But A Bu Lu Zi is the exception to that rule. It is rustic in a good way and a warm and pleasant place to eat--an oasis in a culinary desert.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,100 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The food at A Bu Lu Zi is fine and quite reasonably priced, but the service is outstanding. It is a stand-out in Jiuzhaigou, as it is not the usual run of the mill Chinese food. The Tibetan food is interesting and you can sample some traditional dishes. The Tibetan staff are gracious and accommodating. They give genuine, doting service. At the end of the meal, we were presented with a Tibetan scarf and a song from the waitress.

If you are in Pengfeng village, you should try it out - it is a unique experience and one you will not forget.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Bu Lu Zi Tibetan Restaurant also viewed

Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
 
Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
 

Been to A Bu Lu Zi Tibetan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing