We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel”
Review of Angelie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angelie Hotel
Ranked #15 of 192 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Were there during late spring but the weather very cold, they provide electric blanket and also heater in room. Nice and cosy hotel with no great expectation. Staffs are very helpful. 10mins walking distances from park. Definitely will stay in this hotel if ever go back to Juizhaigou.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Carey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    50
    46
    19
    6
See reviews for
21
54
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed our two-nights stay at this hotel. It is within walking distance of the park's entrance. The manager was very helpful. The beds were comfortable and the price in April was much more reasonable that "international" hotels that were further from the park. It met my expectations and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: As someone else mentioned in another review, it is quieter toward the back away from street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastTN89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent three night at this hostel in summer 2013 in an ensuite room. The place does not impress with any special knick-knack. Its a cozy hostel that perfectly servers its purpose. You'll find friendly staff and its one of the affordable stays in this region. As non-Chinese speaking we also enjoyed the airport pickup and the english speaking staff!
You can get some decent food at the inhouse restaurant and the JiuZhaiGou park entrance is within some few minutes walking distance.
If you plan on washing your clothes here be aware that there's no hot water to do so and only if weather's nice (i.e. sunshine) your clothes will be dry in some manageable time. The windows were not perfectly soundproof but after a day of hiking in the amazing parks you'll be so tired that you'll fall asleep in no time flat.
All in all I would recommend a stay here - especially if you are a backpacker: very affordable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid January. While visiting Jiuzaigou in the winter had it's own charms, staying at this hotel in the winter did not. Our room was freezing cold, even with the heater on full blast at 30 degrees. We could see our breath in the room and we had to sleep with the heating blanket on at full blast.

Our toilet also didn't flush properly. The tank had trouble filling up so every time we had to manually adjust the little lever inside the tank before using the toilet. The water is hot, but very little water pressure.

The wifi was also super spotty. While a lot of the signals had full connection, the network seemed to be down and we couldn't connect. The only connection that worked was 'SAM', based on the main floor. In order to get signal for SAM, we had to stand by our door or go out in the hallway. Because our room was so cold, it was hard to get out of bed to go stand by the door!

The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the entrance of the park, and a 30 minute walk to the bus station. Keep in mind there is no 24 hour reception! The doors are locked and chained overnight. So if you have an early morning (6 or 7am) bus to catch, make sure you let them know the night before or else you'll give yourself a heart attack thinking you're locked in!

There is a decent restaurant right next door and the owners are very nice. We went there for dinner all 3 nights we were in Jiuzaigou.

All in all, this hotel is so so. I think you can probably find a hotel a bit closer to the park and/or the bus station for the same price and one where the toilet flushes!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jiuzhaigou County hotels

seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Angelie Hotel for 2 nights at the end of October 2013 in an en suite twin room. The first room we were offered, near the front on the second floor, was very noisy due to loudspeaker music coming from next door. The owner's wife then offered us an alternative room right at the back of the hotel, no view but it was quiet- perfect! As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are cold and unfortunately our wall-mounted AC/heater unit only put out cold air. When we told the staff about this the owner soon appeared with a portable heater with which we were able to keep the room just about warm enough. As others have noted, the bathroom in our room also had a waste pipe from the sink stuck directly into a hole in the floor but we did not have any problems with smells etc. The bathroom and shower were adequate and clean.
We ate breakfast at the hotel both mornings that we visited the park (only 15 minutes walk to the entrance), the food was nothing special but was sufficient and quite quickly served which was the most important thing. Dinner at the Hotel was OK too, we ate here after our first day in the park when we were too exhausted to try anywhere else. On our second night we went to a nearby Tibetan restaurant (Abu Luzi) on the other side of the small river where the food was excellent. Each party of guests had one of the women from the restaurant sing to them at their table as a way of welcoming and thanking them for visiting the restaurant. It was a wonderful experience! Ask at reception for directions to the restaurant.
Although we did not need to take advantage of it, the Angelie Hotel is one of the few places we stayed at that will exchange foreign currency notes for RMB. Useful to know since we did have problems with the only 2 ATM machines we found which were both at the park entrance; one had no cash left in it and the other did not take our US or UK ATM cards.
Overall, this hotel was really great value; most hotels this close to the park are much more expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quitter but may not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Dull hotel, small rooms, small bathrooms, slow wifi, and breakfast could be better...but you're certainly not paying for more, so there's no complaint.
This hotel is suitable for backpackers and young travellers looking for a decent hotel close to the park. Rooms are clean and the staff is so-so helpful, which is good enough for the region.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hostel sits in an excellent location, very close to the park entrance. Rooms were a bit nippy during our stay but the electric blanket and small electrical heater provided made it quite comfy. The spacious bathroom however did resemble a freezer room. Staff was very friendly and the hostel provides excellent value for money. We did not encounter any of the ‘smelly bathroom’ troubles other reviewers mentioned.

Room Tip: Check the beds for electrical blankets and ask for a small electric heater in wintertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BvanderBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
0.0 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#1 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Grand Hotel
Jiuzhaigou Grand Hotel
#56 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#5 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jiuxiang Hotel
Jiuxiang Hotel
#14 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#2 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angelie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelie Hotel

Property: Angelie Hotel
Address: Pengfeng Village, Zhangzha Town, 623402, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 192 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Angelie Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Angelie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing