We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”

Huanglong Scenic Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Private Day Tour to Jiuzhaigou Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Valley of Huang Long, meaning "Yellow Dragon", has snow mountains, a large cave, Huanglong colorful lakes, as well as endangered animals, including the giant panda.
Orange Park, Florida
2 reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Just had another group of 16ppl go to Jaco Costa Rica and they we're amazed on how much fun they had. Food is excellent and they loved all of there excursions. Another great guys trip. I'm actually doing another in August!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ReyRey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    144
    35
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Worth the Effort”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We took the cable car up. From there it's a pretty easy one hour walk to the top of the valley. The valley is at 3,500m and you'll probably feel the altitude. Steady walking and you should be fine. Many people were wasting money on oxygen and so called 'medicine'. You can't acclimatise within the day, regardless of walking up or not! The cable car was 80RMB each to the top.

The scenery is simply amazing. Probably not unique in the world but in all my travels I've never seen anything like it. The blues and yellows and turquoise of the water looks great. There's so many pools and many waterfalls.

The walk back down took a bit over two hours.

Helpful?
3 Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best to visit in summer or fall”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We visited Huanglong on April 23rd. We flew from chengdu to Huanglong airport. There is an airport mini bus that takes tourists to Huanglong, wait at the parking lot for 4 to 4.5 hrs, and then drive the group to Jiuzhaigou. The bus will only leave when full. This trip was priced at Rmb100.

It took about 1hr to get to Huanglong. We took the cable car up, and walked down. Because it was over 3500 meter in altitude, some people get altitude sickness. You may opt to walk up, and not take the cable car, as it is easier to get used to the altitude.

There were only water in the pools at the top of the valley. However, the pools were not full. The rest of the pools between the top and the bottom were mainly waterless. After July, the pools would have reasonable amount of the water.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank yj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We departed from JZG via a cab at 0840 and reached HL at 1130. Paid RMB400 which cover the route from JZG-HL-Airport inclusive of waiting time at HL. Spend 4 hours at HL. The journey from HL to airport is about one hour.

it's advisable to eat something or bring along food/water before taking the cable car as there's no stall after that. As it was a weekday and about noon when we reached HL, there was no queue to the cable car. Infact, it was pretty quite even when we have reached the top. There's a need to walk 2950m to reach the next scenic area which is amazingly beautiful. After that, there'll be another 3190m to the exit. Along the way, you'll pass a couple of waterfalls/ponds. However, being there in Apr, these are all very dried and hence nothing much to see.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank JamHo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

badly, i been there on China national holiday. I have to wait for the cable ride to the top about 1 hr (too many ppl). After the cable ride then have to walk, you better bring some water because you won't find any shop nearby. finally after walked for 2 km, this place just worth and amazing to visit. Highly recommend !!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank numnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huanglong Scenic Valley also viewed

Songpan County, Sichuan
Songpan County, Sichuan
 
Songpan County, Sichuan
Songpan County, Sichuan
 

Been to Huanglong Scenic Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing