We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet courtyard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landscape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Landscape Hotel
Ranked #8 of 462 Hotels in Dali
Dali, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quiet courtyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Landcape hotel was initiated by a Bai gentle men. It is located at the center of the ancient city of Dali, but not noisy at all. The hotel is specially arranged in tranditional Bai courtyard style, clean, comfortable and romantic. There are carved doors and windows together with potted flowers, just like a home away from home. If you feel tired, you may sit down and enjoy a cup of Yunnan coffee for free in the open air bar in the yard. In the morning, if you are not in a hurry, you may also go to the Yu'er garden to join Taiji practice with the local people just stand by the hotel. Moreover, the tranditional Chinese massage offered by the mute in the hotel is super great.

Room Tip: 1. No lift to rooms, better ask the bell boy help with big sac. 2. Not take the rooms near the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yangruhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    127
    58
    13
    5
See reviews for
21
81
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dali, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I got to admit, the rooms are very nice. They have all types of rooms where you can get a good discount on Chinese New Year. I liked the peaceful atmosphere and the breakfast they served there. The only problem is the noise made by the shuttle buses when they come during the night and make quite a bit of noise. You can also rent one of those RV's nearby as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latrobe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here in October 2013. Weather was a bit damp with the temperature around 20 degrees Celsius.
The room was comfortable but a little dark as our window backed onto a narrow area between buildings, but we never spent much time in the room so it wasn't a problem for us. The staff were courteous and helpful. Nice courtyards and an outdoor coffee area to help yourself if you have a voucher. Sure you could purchase also. Limited English spoken by the room staff but usually managed to get my message across and the housemaid spoke good English. Only one hiccup with a dodgy key card to get into the room which was replaced only to have another do the same. Reckon it was the door not the card.
The room, bathroom and bedding were clean with sit down toilet in the bathroom and a shower and hand basin. There were other public toilets near the restaurant area of the hotel that were squat type but very clean.

Breakfast was mainly Chinese type but there was fresh fruit available. Consisted of hot dishes like noodles, cabbage, dumplings, eggs, etc, steamed cakes, sweet cakes, congee and hot green or black tea.
The location is central and the old town main shopping area only just around the corner. Plenty of eating places about and the nightlife only a couple of streets away. Enjoyed my stay in Dali.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoarderLatrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel in May 2011 for 3 days, then for another 2 days in November 2013. The rooms were clean and comfortable - not too hot in May and not too cold in November. I actually stayed at another cheaper hotel first in 2011 (one recommended by a local travel agency) but the general condition of that one was so poor (e.g. squat toilet, no water pressure...) that I walked around after the first night and found the Landscape Hotel by chance. It was like going from the slum to the high-rent district. I liked it so much the first time that I returned to it 2 years later. I particularly liked the courtyard arrangement - which gives a sense of spaciousness. My positive first impression has not changed. It's located right in the center of the walking streets in Old Town - and convenient to shops, restaurants, bars and night life. Since I was going to Shangri-La (with sub-zero temperature in November) from Dali and had no winter clothes, there are some clothing shops a few doors away that sell inexpensive winter gear. As I recall, the receptionists spoke limited English - however, it was not a deterrent to a nice stay. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: I prefer the upper (second) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asiacentury2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September. It is in a great location for wandering around the old town and the courtyard style adds to it's charm. Although the rooms will soon need updating, they are clean and a reasonable size. The staff are very helpful and attentive. No elevator might be a negative to some travelers but porters are available at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolanog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
1,030 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

stayed here for one night and enjoyed the unique atmosphere.
hotel design is based on local traditional style,make me feel relax and easy.
there are a lots of yunnan blue batik stuff all around,
showing me the shining point of their culture .
no elevator,had to bring my suit case by hand...
Anyway,Renting a bicycle to take a look around old town
was so comfortable,highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is in the middle of the old town, within the walled section, so really convenient for wandering the cobblestone streets and getting home after dark. The hotel is a little old, and has been extended so there are several buildings which provide some courtyard-feel walkways to the restaurant. Rooms were clean, service was good, breakfasts were good. Happy with the stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzzaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dali hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
0.3 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#7 of 462 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 462 in Dali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#6 of 462 in Dali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yinfeng Hotel
Yinfeng Hotel
#5 of 462 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landscape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landscape Hotel

Property: Landscape Hotel
Address: No.96 Yuer Road, Dali 671003, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dali
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Landscape Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Landscape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landscape Hotel Dali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing