We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends on the room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairyland Hotel Dali Zhongheju
Ranked #7 of 1,306 Dali B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Depends on the room.”
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Don't stay in the back rooms. Stay In the middle or front, towards Yang Ren Jie. Do this and you will have a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baojieming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    39
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The hotel is in the heart of Dali old city with a very nice court.

For the same category, the chambers do not have the same quality. We had chambers N° 5, 11, 20, 22 for the same price, however, the chambers N° 5 and 20 are much more better than 11 and 22. We had the chamber N°16 as well, but most lightings did not work in the room!

The staff does not have the same level, all of them are warm, but some of them are not efficient.

The hotel is nice because of its emplacement and court, but still a lot of possible improvements.

I think it's a good choice for the quality / price ratio, but if I am back to Dali, maybe I will try to find a better one, or I will ask for the chamber n° 20.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ris0tt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Turn through the gates of the old town and follow foreigner's street till you come to a small lane lined with embroidery and silver stall. Turn in through a stone gate marked by lions and you'll find a mini court leading into the lobby. The staff are neatly turned out, efficient and very friendly. We spoke in Chinese but I think the stafff would have communicated in English had the need arisen. The standard rooms are simply but comfortably furnished, with a big carved traditonal wedding four poster being a striking feature of the trait room. Though people who like marshmallow mattressing may find the beds a touch frimer than they are used to, we slept like logs. Sitting out in deck chairs in the wooden gallery overlooking the corutyard is very pleasant and if you are the kind fo person who enjoys small details such as beasts carved amongst the eaves, you'll enjoy it.

The hotel is a nicely converted old building and whilst it has been adapted with modern plumbing (attractively done - although splashy showerers risk flooding the room and a glass and curtain screening may not afford sufficient privacy for some - you could justly add a zero to the price if things were otherwise I suspect), the walls remain wooden panels, which means the rooms are not hugely sound proof. However, if you are coming to enjoy the life of China then the sounds wil not be an annoyance but a characteristic of life in a well populated place. That said, the place is very peaceful. Beneath the odd sound of a laughing child or the footfalls in a beautifully be-lanterned stair, you will hear the silence.

It is well located. A watchtower-like upper sitting room allows one to gain a sense of perspective, seeing the gates of the town, its stupas and mosque minaret rising above the town roofs, with a glimpse of the erhai lake away below and the great rocky, tree-lined mountains behind.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful, arranging a car to take us to and from Wu Wei Si, a pleasingly leafy monastory which we wandered around for a relaxed hour. They also tracked down and arranged a visit to a centre of deaf and mute masseurs for a reasonable price, being very concerned that we should be well treated. Laundry was whisked away and returned in timely fashion.

I would definitely return. We didn't eat breakfast there only because we woke too late but we did sample cold beers in the evening, sitting under the shelter of the colonade roof as rain plashed musically in the leafy courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhuAnYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The Good (There's a Lot)

We stayed in this hotel during a recent Yunnan holiday which included Dali, Li Jiang and Shangelila. I booked this hotel based on the great experience I have had trusting other Trip Advisor members. This hotel definitely has a unique charm to it from it's Bai inspired architecture which is followed through from the hotels courtyard to the hotel's rooms. I found the hotel to be clean and well kept and it had a special rustic charm to it. It definitely has an enviable location in the heart of old town on "Foreigner" Street. We were able to walk to "San Ta" 3 pogodas park. It's price point is fair and overall this hotel is a good value.

The Bad (Only One, but a Biggie for us)

The building construction was such that the walls were absolutely paper thin. I could hear my neighbor's TV as if it were my own not to mention every other thing one would like to keep personal in one's life.

Summary

The noise was a big detractor for me, maybe we just got some really loud neighbors but the building construction didn't help matters. I rated this an average because there are some very redeeming qualities about this property.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hot_suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We really fell in love with this beautiful Bai Ethnic building. They did a great job in renovating this for hotel, keeping the great structure, furnished with beautiful carved furnitures, combine with the comfort of a modern bathroom.

Centrally located, just a short walk to the Foreigner's street and Reminilu where there are abundance shops, restaurants and coffee shops.

The staff are all very friendly.

After visiting the Old Town, the ancient wall and tower then walk into the courtyard of this charming building, you will feel like traveling back in time. Would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllensWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The hotel is centrally located in what the locals call Foreigner's St. in old town Dali. Bathroom facilities are Western-styled, immaculate and totally updated. This is a renovated building, but kept the Bai minority's "courtyard style" architecture. Each room is designed individually with different new Bai wood carved furnishing and lightings. The central courtyard is ideal for relaxing, after a day of sightseeing around Dali. The included breakfast is a mix of Chinese and Western food, perfectly adequate to start a day. There's a computer in the breakfast room for public use. The hotel is missing two modern day amenities, but in no way diminish its old world charm. There is no elevator, and no heating/air conditioning. Dali weather is supposed to be spring like year round. While we were there (in late October), night time was a little chiily. So we turned on the heating pad on the mattress for a little bit and that worked pretty good. The hotel was able to book bus tickets for us from Dali to Lijiang. I highly recommend this utterly charming old but new hotel in Dali!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echo168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This is quite a small hotel in the centre of Dali. It is a really lovely old building fully modernised with charming bedrooms and en suite facilities. The beds are rather hard but this is typical of China and other than that I have absolutely no criticisms whatsoever. Everywhere was very clean and peaceful. There is a central courtyard where you can relax with a drink or a conservatory offerring lovely views of the city. The reception staff do not speak much english but this was not a problem. Breakfast is a mix of chinese and western but it is easy to go to a nearby cafe where there is plenty of western food to choose from. Free internet.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dali hotels
11.3 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 472 in Dali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 472 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#9 of 472 in Dali
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yinfeng Hotel
Yinfeng Hotel
#5 of 472 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
166.4 mi away
Maison Suzanne
Maison Suzanne
#2 of 1,306 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
MTB Theme Inn
MTB Theme Inn
#3 of 1,306 in Dali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyland Hotel Dali Zhongheju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyland Hotel Dali Zhongheju

Property: Fairyland Hotel Dali Zhongheju
Address: No.31 Huguo Road, Dali 671003, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,306 B&Bs / Inns in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairyland Hotel Dali Zhongheju 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairyland Hotel Dali Zhongheju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing