We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Linden Centre”
Review of The Linden Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Linden Centre
Ranked #1 of 490 Hotels in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Linden Centre”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at the Linden Centre from January 25th-February 21st. This was for a program called Microcampus. This was when a group of 16 students got selected to travel to Xizhou, China. We would research a topic of high personal interest while we were here. When we stayed at the Linden Centre, all of the staff was extremely helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and very warm. The rooms had enough space to put all of our cloths and other personal items. Overall, I had a phenomenal stay at the Linden Centre.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Apoorva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    54
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
180
137
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Linden Center has been a home for me for the month I was staying here in Xizhou during my Microcampus trip. The rooms are very comfortable and homey. The food is amazing and the kitchen staff take care of your every need/request. The overall staff are really sweet and nice. They are very friendly and the Linden Center has a great atmosphere. Bryce Linden (son of owners) is also very nice. He has become one of my great friends. My stay at the Linden Center was spectacular and I am definitely coming back!

Room Tip: Everything thing was amazing, the second court yard rooms are smaller and the third court yard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Owner at The Linden Centre, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are so proud of your group's recent stay at the Centre. We usually do not host school groups in our main complex, but your group was mature beyond your years! Our education projects, like your unique program with Shanghai American School and our current semester-long program with Sidwell Friends, are a way of giving back to the local community. Your service learning projects, based on intensive study of a local villager, tradition or structure, are creating an invaluable digital library of the traditions of the region. Each of you are contributing to one of China's largest oral tradition projects. The Linden Centre team (and guests) are so lucky to be able to participate alongside you in this creative and sustainable project. Thank you again for your contribution to China's historical preservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Linden Centre the definitive learning experience! This establishment has been awarded the best hotel in Dali and I can see why. I stayed here for 4 weeks for a school trip called Microcampus and this was the perfect place for it.

Room Tip: 3rd courtyard has bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Linden Center is great. I was there with my wife and two kids (aged 1 & 5) and had such a great experience. If your looking for a family friendly place to stay in Western China this is the place. If you wanna veg out in your room and watch t.v. this is probably not for you. The staff is super helpful and friendly and the facilities are beautiful. I felt a great sense of community during my stay. We made great use of their playroom for kids full of toys and books, a reading library stocked with books on art, history, etc, the Ping-Pong/Billiard room, the bar, the television room, bikes, and gym. In the dining room, the staff was super friendly and the food was amazing. Top notch!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our family of four stayed at the LindenC for four nights and really had an amazing time! The LindenC gave us the opportunity to go slightly off the beaten path (that is, beyond old town Dali) in a family friendly environment. Our children are still quite small (ages 2 and 5), and it was so safe and comfortable for them to toddle around the courtyards or play by the small fish and turtle pond. Not to mention relaxing bike rides along Erhai Lake. In between activities, the children could unwind in a kids' playroom upstairs or catch a film in the movie room. We had excellent experiences with all of the staff - from the travel curators who help to propose activities for your itinerary to the lovely dining room staff. The rooms are very comfortable (even heated at night when it can get a little chilly!) The owners and staff are quite open about talking about their experiences in China which I found quite fascinating along with their knowledge of the Bai/Xizhou community.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMama2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

The Linden Center has done a lot to make people feel at home. It was quite luxury experience there, not only because of the facilities, the environment, but also the people there. Anyone coming will experience the comfort, but I want to say more beyond the experience. Lindens are doing amazing work to benefit locals. They trained local Bai and try best to employ locals. The most touching story I've heard is about Aling in the kitchen. She is so confident and proud of herself. I believe it's the very thing responsible travel should do and can do, to empower local, especially women. And Lindens are trying to spread this impact to help more destinations and people. We should be part of this positive impact!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Peng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Owner at The Linden Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very proud of our interaction with the local community. In fact, our neighbors feel as if they are part of the Linden Centre team, this is how proud they are of our efforts. As we grow, we realize that there are so many more things that we can do for Yunnan. We thus are hosting numerous experts and scholars in sustainable development, environmental protection, and micro-financing. We cannot stop the indiscriminate destruction enabled by businesses attempting to 'cash in' from mass Chinese tourism. We see it around Lake Er, which suffers from cement and steel structures that have no connection to Dali cultural traditions and only exacerbate the lake's pollution troubles. We can, however, persevere in supporting efforts that preserve and inspire. Everyday our guests and I share with the villagers. Our Centre is not closed to them, like other newly constructed 'old' hotels. At the Linden Centre, our villagers are part of the team that enchants you every minute of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at the Linden Centre just before X'mas '13 and were blown away by the warm hospitality of Brian Linden and his wonderful team! The Centre itself is a carefully restored heritage property of traditional Bai Architecture and has charming courtyards, beautiful columns & corridors and a fabulous terrace overlooking the rice fields,against the Himalayan backdrop.

We were there on Christmas Eve and participated in the famous annual 'snow fight' at Dali Old Town. I must mention the incident that happened this evening, after the snow fight. We missed getting on to the bus that was organized by the Linden Center, after the snow-fight and were very impressed that one of the staff came looking and located us in the mayhem and organized a cab, at their expense, to take us back to the hotel! Its gestures like these, that elevates the position of a hotel, from good to excellent, in terms of hospitality.

Our room was very comfortable and we loved the sky lit breakfast lounge! We enjoyed the horse carriage ride to Erhai and the walking tour of Xizhou village with Anne-Liese. Thank you...Brian, Jeannie, Craig, Juliet, Andrew, Helen, Seb, Candy & Anne- Liese...for an enriching experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meeta666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Owner at The Linden Centre, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear friends: thank you for spending Christmas with us. Your girls were quite the hit (target) at Dali's yearly snow fight!

With over 50 employees for 18 rooms, we are proud of our ability to provide personal service and attention. We do this in part because of the setting of Centre. Because it is a nationally protected building, one of only a handful open to overnight guests in China, we have focused on preserving its original grandeur. The Centre is clearly one of the best examples of pre-revolutionary architecture in SW China, and we have carefully incorporated comforts without destroying its charm. There are tens of thousands newly constructed hotels in China, each trying to out compete the other by spending money on gimmicks. We believe that our buildings and its setting offer China's most appealing alternative to soul-less, nouveau rich- targeted monstrosities.

Thank you again for being a part of the Centre experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dali hotels
15.0 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
17.3 mi away
Seclusive Life Erhai
Seclusive Life Erhai
#41 of 490 in Dali
2 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 490 in Dali
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#7 of 490 in Dali
171 reviews
11.2 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#10 of 490 in Dali
252 reviews
18.8 mi away
Grand Bay View International Hotel Dali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Linden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Linden Centre

Property: The Linden Centre
Address: No.5 Chengbei Village, Xizhou Town, Dali 671004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dali
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Linden Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linden Centre is a meticulously restored courtyard mansion in the pristine Yunnan village of Xizhou. Great care was taken to preserve the beautiful Bai architecture of this nationally protected cultural heritage hotel, while modern conveniences including heating and air conditioning were added to ensure guests a comfortable and absolutely unique stay. In this elegant setting, connect with the local ethnic cultures that make this part of China so special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Linden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Linden Centre Hotel Dali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing