We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hostel run by very nice people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dali
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow Canary Lodge Dali
Ranked #119 of 1,313 Dali B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hostel run by very nice people”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

There was some initial confusion with our booking but Cici contacted me as soon as she realised and arranged an alternative hotel for our first night. Cici and the other staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel is a short walk from the main backpacker streets and is very pleasant.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The staff here are helpful way beyond the call of duty. I was ill so they gave me breakfast in bed and helped us book our flight with their card cheaper than what we could find on a chinese website. Also gave really great recommendations of what to do not only in Dali but on the rest of our trip, in Sichuan too. I would definitely recommend, unless you are allergic to cats!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flograhamdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Dali is a charming city without a doubt, but for a full out 'charmed' experience we suggest staying at Yellow Canary. Kiki and Cici are the sweetest, most attentive and at times downright hilarious hosts we've had while traveling. The location is the perfect distance from the main tourist range (about 10-15 minutes walk through pleasant parts of town- if you looke closely on the walk into town during the day on the right side of the street is a market). It is supremely easy to get to the lake by bus or the 3 Pagodas by using #19 or #4 (gets you close). We suggest getting to the Pagoda's super early in the morning if it is in your plans and budget - they charge about $20 USD per person. The domestic tourists start to show up around 9 or 10am but you can have the area to yourself if you get there early enough.

We stayed in the Tatami room and it was fantastic. The place looks tremendous, and the beds are super comfy. There is one Tatami with a squat and one with western style. If you have a preference than ask. The place is immaculate and quiet. Such VALUE! Oh and before I forget the food is extremely reasonable in price and tasty.

The final night the hosts asked if we'd join for dinner. My wife wanted to help prepare and picked up some new recipes! I can't speak more highly of our experience, and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

excellent! big room, a lot of room for common use. The best hostel I ever lived! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I contacted Yellow Canary Lodge through emails to confirm transportation and facility problems. They replied fast with useful information. There was a 4-hour bus from Kunming West Bus Terminal to Dali. The lodge offered a shuttle service to public bus terminals. It was convenient. The lodge was beautiful especially considering the price. Place was safe and dormitory rooms were very clean. A public space for tea was decorated by Chinese calligraphy. They could help book tickets which was a plus.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2012

fantastic place, enthusiastic and friendly stuff, cheap and yummy food!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Very nice place to stay. Friendly and helpful stuff. Food is nice. Very convenience to Erhai Lake. Beautiful wood house.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEEL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dali hotels
12.4 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 476 in Dali
574 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
12.0 mi away
Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Yinfeng Hotel
Yinfeng Hotel
#7 of 476 in Dali
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Jade Emu International Guest House
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Guest House
Dragonfly Guest House
#1 of 116 in Dali
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Canary Lodge Dali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Canary Lodge Dali

Property: Yellow Canary Lodge Dali
Address: Next to Caishen Temple, Route 214 and Lvyu Road, Dali 671000, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,313 B&Bs / Inns in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute wood houses, green vege fields, warm sunshine and blue sky. Yellow Canary Lodge is a natural and happy place that welcomes travelers from all over the world. The hosts of the lodge are two nice and warm-hearted girls cici and kiki. They used to be volunteer teachers in Yunnan and love this beautiful place, so they stay and build this lodge for a peace of happiness.Located next to old town Dali, backs on Cangshan Mountain with a very good view of Erhai Lake. 5 minutes by bike to South Gate (bike free for 3 hours/day at normal time) and bus stop is just in front us, Yellow Canary Lodge has a very convinient location to either old town or other famous sites.There are two types of rooms:Comfortable Tatami room with private bathroom and big french window4-bed Dorm with linen,locker,reading lights. Shared bathroom with 24-hour hot water and an open washing space with sunshine.We offer the following for freee!!-A natural green yard with veges and flowers.-Cute pond with waterwheel-Comfortable inside common area--All kinds of music.-Free wifi throughout the lodge-Learn Chinese for free-Plant veges with us!-Bike free for 3 hours/day at normal time-Borrow hair drier for free-Borrow hot-water bag for free-Books lend for free-Free travel advice-Free luggage storage-Free parking!-One free camping space (need book in advance)Pay service:-Laundry Service 10yuan/time-Bike rent beyond 3 hours, 10yuan/5 hours, 15yuan/day-Healthy and delicious Chinese and western food.-Many kinds of drinks include home-make drinks-Eat with us for 10yuan/meal-Dumpling party-Pick-up service-Ticket booking-Travel agency ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing