We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were the tourist attraction! ”

Dali Foreigner Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$151.00*
and up
Private One Day Essence Tour in Dali
Ranked #8 of 64 things to do in Dali
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This street is where the famous cafes and guesthouses cluster along with souvenir shops and other interesting stores to create a little tourist paradise.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We were the tourist attraction! ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The street is called foreigner Street because before the new China it was the one street that foreigners were permitted to stay on so that they could be suitably monitored.

So being a family of foreigners having lunch in foreigners Street was highly entertaining for the chinese. They took our photos. They all did. Some of them even sat down at our table to have their photo taken with us! If you are bond and planning to eat here don't do it outside close to the street unless you have great patience or a great sense of humour....

As for the shops- bargain hard or go to a different Street where you will find the same goods cheaper. I wanted an embroidered cushion- on the stall on this Street they wouldn't go below 40rmb. Round the corner in a shop I got the same one for 25...

If you go keep your wits about you!

Helpful?
Thank rebeccaE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    120
    77
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You may be disappointed to catch an eye of foreigner here.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

May be my timing was not right when I visited the place. They are mostly all chinese from all over the country. I did not spot any foreigners at all here. Just a historical name and the place is so commerciallised amd restaurants, bars and shops.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davidng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No foreigners”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Haha, why is this called the foreigner street? It's a nice street with nice shops, but I only saw chinese people and no foreigners. Maybe that will depends on the season. But after all, it's an okay street:)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MMMM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The only tourist street in Dali”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Dali is an amazing, quiet and calm city where you can chill and relax very well. This and Renmin street are the only two street made for tourists, so you cannot expect anything less than extreme commercialized places.
Nevertheless this fact, you will be enjoying Dali even more, because you will be able to easily go far away from these streets and relax in your own isolated hostel.
Dali is far different from Lijiang, which is very touristic, crowded and noisy. But in Foreigner Street, these two cities are similar.

On Foreigner street, you can find every souvenir you would like to buy and also any kind of food such as local, Chinese and Western. You can also find a nice Chinese girl who sell home made juice done with pumpkin. Very good!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dali, China
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“6.5/10 Foreigner Street is some Overdo it Street”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Too many restaurants, jewelry shops and antique shops everywhere on Foreigner street. Any foreigner can go there to buy souvenirs and refreshment, but I wouldn't stay too long if I were you. There are other places where tourists would want to see.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dali Foreigner Street also viewed

 

Been to Dali Foreigner Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing