We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "only" choice”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #135 of 472 Hotels in Dali
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“The "only" choice”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is almost the only choice of a better hotel if you are staying in Dali.

The hotel is quite "old" and many furniture/fixture in the room are dated. If you are not that lucky and assinged a room at the end of a corridor, the condition could be even worst because the room is the smallest among all and once you open the door, you can find a huge TV cabinet standing right in the middle of the room taken up lot of precious space.

When check in, make sure that all towels in the room are clean to avoid unnecessary arguement with the hotel management when they asked for "cleaning fee" by the time you check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwcng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    125
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
21
28
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We staid in a room of a large size and styled in a way that perfectly matches the local culture and atmosphere, what we experienced as a pro. The room was well equiped with a convenient bathroom (bath and shower seperated), dvd player etc, comprised of two sections (sleeping and living) and had even access to a small private terrace. At the same time, staying in a five star accomodation, it's a petty to notice that there is no in-room wifi-facility (only accessible in the lobby) and that the water in the bathroom had a brownish color. The breakfast during our stay was far below standard, in terms of being smudgy, empty plates and bad service of the staff allocated to the breakfast area. Overall, mixed feelings after a stay with pro's and con's.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Seems lack of choice in Dali Old Town and it is the only local standard 5 star hotel. Hotel is big but the room is terrible. Was given a suite for family x 4 as hotel was fully booked but never appreciate that. Ventilation is bad as aircon supply stops between 1100pm - 7am. Asked hotel to provide a mobile aircon unit but it did not work properly. Be prepared for a restless night. Breakfast is far beyond normal expectation.

Encountered problem at check-out as hotel claimed that a napkin was lost from the room. Some 30 minutes were wasted unnecessarily in waiting for them to sort out the problem. It gives me an impression that the Hotel treats the guest like a thief!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongPaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dali hotels

Tucson
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed in Dali for 2 nights, and despite Dali being a highlight of our trip, this hotel was disappointing and by far the worst hotel of our trip. It desperately needs basic maintenance and redecorating.

Breakfast on both the Chinese and Western side was terrible (we didn't eat any other meals at the hotel). Through a mistake on the part of the hotel, we ate at both restaurants for breakfast......after apologizing profusely for their mistake the first morning, the hotel was going to repeat the mistake the 2nd morning but we simply argued with the hostess and won. However, we found that the quality of the food was the same - lousy.

The room was sad in that it needs some TLC, same as the hotel itself. The hotel is very large at about 500 rooms, so we think it just moves large tour groups through and doesn't care about what it provides in return. Again, we were very disappointed.

The best part of the hotel is its location to the old town in Dali. It's an easy walk to the center, and for that, we were grateful. We walked to and from both nights, and it was an interesting, pleasant walk.

I would not stay at the Regent Hotel again, though once again, we thought the town of Dali was one of the high points of our second trip to China.

Room Tip: Don't bother to book this hotel unless location is the only requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The room décor seems old and outdated but it is quite clean, huge and so is the bed.

I dislike having to go through the whole row of weird souvenir shops to get to the breakfast area.

I stayed at the 'snow' complex, along the corridors there are beautiful views of the mountains in the background.

Location is relatively convenient as it is like a 5 minutes drive into the old town of Dali which is really charming. But if I am ever in Dali again, I might chose to book a guesthouse which is inside the old town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is the worst hotel that I have stayed in our 8 days trip in Yunnan. We have stayed in 2 separate days(one when we travel from Kunming, before to Lijiang, and the other when we return from Lijiang). The first night there was the aircon stopped working altogether,which cause sleepless night for me. Though we complained and when back to this hotel again, the aircon did worked for a short while and at 1am I woke up due to the hot air again. The breakfast was poor as well. The only plus for this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fewGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
568 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

When I think of this hotel what pops up in my mind is the torn window sheer. I thought it was kind of odd that a decent hotel would let this go on instead of fixing it. Other than that our room was OK as a regular kind of hotel which our tour group used. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, nothing to write home about. You have to pass through the gift shop to get inside the restaurant and we were warned by our guide to be extra careful with that shop. Our room was right off the elevator and escalator near the main lobby, on the second floor. Easy to get to. The best feature of this hotel is that it was close to old town and it was very nice to be able to stroll around after dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dali hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
1.0 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#7 of 472 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
7.9 mi away
Grand Bay View International Hotel Dali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Seclusive Life Erhai
Seclusive Life Erhai
#12 of 472 in Dali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
N Du Hotel
N Du Hotel
#106 of 472 in Dali
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#17 of 472 in Dali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: East Section of Yu'er Road, Dali 671003, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Dali
Regent Dali
Dali Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing