We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No surprise great service over 3000m above sea level!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Ranked #5 of 927 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No surprise great service over 3000m above sea level!”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

It was my 2nd return to the Banyan Tree Lijiang and though it was for business conference this time, a suite instead of the fantastic villa; the service was top notch hospitable! Heartwarming welcome started from the reception, and the room was really big enough, with top notch international Spa ambience. The heater in the room and even on the bed was enough to make you sweat despite the cold in this winter. Nothing could have been a better finale this time than a 90min renowned Balinese massage and pampering.

F&B is not fantastic, so do not expect great Italian cuisine or authentic Southeast Asian Nasi Goreng. Chinese food serves at night is always a better bet, however, do not expect exquisite Chinese food in Yunan. If you wanna add to some adventure, go to the nearest Old Town, about 5min by cab, about 20min by foot (not advised at night due to lack of lights on the pavement) Walk deep into the Su He Old Town and you'll come across a stream of back to basic clubs, restaurants and outdoor Karaokes, enjoy leisure in its simplicity. Believe me, you'll get sick of the hotel food after 3 days. If you're dying for more experience, climb the famous Jade Dragon Snow Mountain at 4500m above sea level. We had a company adventure and it was totally awesome despite the heavy snow, the thin air and white visibility. Such grandness! Nobody can top the peak, it's sacred by the way.

Banyan Tree, thumbs up! Lijiang, very disappointed with the commercialization of the old towns now. I'll go straight to Shangri-La the next time, by that I mean the famous geographical location and not the hotel!

Room Tip: Though more expensive, the villa with its own courtyard and jacuzzi was worth an experience with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsacapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    246
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
136
217
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We too stayed in a wonderful room overlooking the snow capped peak (on the second floor so if stairs are a problem at 7000 feet, beware.). I was also looking forward to a soak in the large tub but it didn't work! Couldn't get the drain to stay in the closed position preventing me from enjoying a relaxing time before bed. The next morning I told the front desk about the problem, but when we arrived back at the room in the late afternoon nothing had been done. That's when the fun started ... Two young women from housekeeping arrived to verify that indeed the tub was not working properly (sometimes it can be the guest who doesnt knowvhow to operate the device) and then two young men from maintenance spent nearly an hour repairing/replacing the drain, and the housekeeping returned to clean up the tub. It was worth it! Breakfast buffet was comprehensive but not as varied as other 5 star properties -- the quality was just ok. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but had a drink in the bar one night, as expected a bit pricey but setting was delightful. Very few people. The location is a bit out of the mainstream which wasn't an issue for us as, we had a guide and driver (this was part of a longer Yunnan trip) -- it could be an issue for others. Lots of hotels popping up here -- each one better than the next.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Banyan Tree whilst holidaying in Lijiang. It's a bit far from the town centre which can be a plus or a minus depending on what you're after. For us, it was a plus as Lijiang Old Town can be very busy and rather touristy, The setting is perfect with the imposing Jade Dragon Snow Mountain as the back-drop. The resort is designed in the style of a town in ancient China with walled pavilions, goldfish ponds and gardens, creating a lovely ambience. Our room (which was very comfortable and tastefully decorated) included a sitting room, courtyard and spacious bathroom. I especially appreciated the deep bathtub as it was perfect for a long soak after a busy day of sight-seeing. The food was okay but not fantastic and is rather pricey. All in all, an enjoyable time was had by myself and my partner. It has also whetted my appetite for trying other BT resorts. P.S. We liked the BT signature his/her yukatas so much we bought our own set upon our return to Australia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maystravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in a room with an amazing view of Snow Mountain. Our beautiful room was clean, comfortable, and felt like home. The bath tub was very relaxing and the shower was perfect.

We had in room dining while there which was quite good given you are in the middle of nowhere in China. I loved that they provided different types of tea daily. The breakfast was very diverse and there was a lot to choose from.

The water area just outside of the dining room is really beautiful and tranquil.

The spa wasn't totally up to Banyan Tree standards because of the limited English. However, you really are off the beaten path at this hotel. Because of that, I think overall it was excellent. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hates_Flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is nicely designed, and in lovely setting, but needs to work on its service, and also its extra fees.

The food in the restaurant is nothing special, better to eat outside. And we found that when we hired a guide from outside (one we'd found through TripAdvisor), we got much better service from him, and also a better price (Banyan Tree's transportation costs are sky-high).

The location isn't the greatest for access to the old town of Lijiang, but in the morning you can enjoy a view of the mountains.

If we come to Lijiang again, we'd probably stay old town Lijiang or Shuhe.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife and I stayed four nights at the 160-room Banyan Tree Resort Lijiang which is designed like a gated community comprising single-storey villas and smaller units in the guise of 2-storey terrace houses. All units boast views of the picturesque snow-capped Yulong Xueshan ("Jade Dragon Snow Mountain").

An inexperienced staff gave incorrect information about spa services and pricing when showing us to our 2-storey Spa Suite (aka "Villa"). The complimentary WiFi was not working but everything else was in order, from the fruit basket to comfortable bedroom slippers, bottled water and bath amenities.

The upstairs bedroom with spacious balcony and en suite bathroom seems small in comparison with the cavernous downstairs which has a large lounge adjoining the dining area, a pantry with cooking facilities (including microwave oven, induction hob and crockery) beneath the staircase, a small courtyard with weatherproof wicker furniture, a spa room equipped with twin massage tables and en suite bathroom, and a large outdoor jacuzzi at the back. In front, the walled garden is pleasingly landscaped and features a table and four chairs, also of weatherproof wicker.

The Spa is very good, with the most sleep-inducing massage tables we have experienced.

Public areas like the Reception, bar and dining facilities are cleverly constructed with glass walls that accentuate the indoor aesthetics with beautiful outdoor views. The Mei Yue Cafe offers daily buffet breakfast with a wide choice of dishes to suit international and local tastes. We also enjoyed our dinners at the Cantonese-style Bai Yun restaurant. Prices were surprisingly reasonable; we paid much more for meals at local eateries outside.

The WiFi was fixed during our second day at the resort. Thereafter, everything proceeded smoothly.

What would have made it perfect? Heated toilet seats, precise temperature control for the hot water supply and larger TVs; the shower thermostat operates on a logarithmic scale and the two existing 32" Sony Bravia TVs in the upstairs bedroom and in the downstairs lounge, respectively, look undersized compared to the generous dimensions of the Spa Suite.

Out of curiosity, we visited the newer Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa which has 130 rooms, more than half of which are villas. Our conclusion: choose the latter for a Bali-like villa experience and stay at the Banyan Tree Resort Lijiang for the view.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

As an American living in Shanghai, it's important to get out of the city for fresh air and to regain your sanity. This is the place! Lijiang is absolutely beautiful and the Banyan Tree doesn't disappoint. We splurged and went with a Garden view villa, which also had a jacuzzi. The "house" is just lovely, beautiful finishes, lovely furniture and a really comfortable bed which had a view of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain The outdoor space is large and really well designed. The staff was really nice and very helpful. The weather was a bit cold but we enjoyed it and didn't have a problem with Mosquitos, which can always be a problem when in nature or in in the city. We chose two tours with a private tour guide because we like flexibility. They were a little pricey but totally worth it. There are so many beautiful places to see. We saw the Ligiang impression show, which was actually quite moving and then took the cable car up to Yak Meadow for a little hike (it's quite high up, so it's a bit harder to breathe) but unbelievably beautiful. The Banyan Tree is about 12 minutes drive to the ancient city which is crowded and touristy but really fun and totally worth visiting, you won't believe how clear the water is running through the canals. The old city of Shehu is just a 10 minute walk from the Banyan Tree and is great for trying local foods and the goods of the local Naxi people. I recommend this hotel and experience for people who want to experience nature in a luxe way. When traveling in China things won't always be like they are in the West so it's best to come with an open mind and some patience and you will find this is an unforgettable place with much to offer.

Room Tip: Go for the garden villa with mountain view, spacious and really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAgirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 927 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 927 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
3.9 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
4.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Property: Banyan Tree Lijiang
Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#24 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing