We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Experience the Banyan Tree Lijiang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Ranked #5 of 927 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, New York, USA
1 review
“Must Experience the Banyan Tree Lijiang”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We just returned from a three week once in a lifetime trip to China. After running around Beijing, Xi'an and Guilin, the visit to Lijiang was a welcome change. The "private" villas at the Banyan Tree Resort are spectacular. The bedroom is magnificent, the sitting room is charming and has all the amenities, and the bathroom is beautiful and very luxurious, right down to the heated floor in the shower. We wish we had a few more days there to enjoy the top notch spa, restaurants and ambiance of the resort. The staff can't do enough for you. You must experience the Banyan Tree Lijiang.

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa that was a few hundred feet from the restaurant where people can sit outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank IraMaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear IraMaurer,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    246
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
136
217
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel is so nice, and you can stay on the peaceful condition without any noise.
You can enjoy the very fresh air having the breakfast with the good service.The hotel
Reception service are perfect and they will do the necessary for the quest.and we wish
We will stay more nights in that hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MThomas-AGM, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Edward,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your very encouraging comments.

It is gratifying to learn of that you have had an enjoyable stay and I have shared your positive comments with my colleagues, who are very happy that they could contribute to your positive experience.

We wish you all the very best and hope to see you again, when you have the opportunity to return.

Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkk, thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Thank you Banyan Tree Lijiang.....We’ll be back!
Just came back from the Amazing Banyan Tree Lijiang. Lijiang was the last stop for us having travelled quite a bit in Sichuan, Beijing and eventually Yunnan. I had done my research on Banyan Tree and knew about it but what I actually found was an amazing resort so well positioned in one of the most beautiful settings. On arrival we were met with friendly resort staff and within a short time was checked I to a Mountain Facing duplex suite. The place was so serene and breathtaking, one can only feel it when you are here.
We were on the way to the restaurants in the evening when it was still bright as the sun set is late. We were admiring the views and contemplating whether we should go to the Shuhe old village which our driver had suggested. Then we met a gentleman who happened to be the General Manager and when he realized I was Thai he spoke to me in Thai and very quickly he had managed to convince us to stay in house. We had a Yunnan menu at the Chinese Restaurant which was excellent.
Breakfast quite frankly was not what we would have expected as the room was crowed and the food was “okay”. However, the resort offers so much, in terms of nature, friendly people taking care of you, breathtaking views and more, the food was not a major issue. We just did not bother to do any sightseeing, except one quick escapade to the Old City.
We really would like to complement the management and the team for maintaining the friendliness and care which is seen everywhere. This could be coming from the leadership as having met the GM we immediately realized that he was an absolutely caring person. The Villa we stayed was delightful, with comfortable beds and facilities. One evening we just sat on the balcony admiring the breathtaking mountain views and chatting away; before we knew the bottle of Chardonnay was gone :-)

Thank you Banyan Tree Lijiang!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerdpathomyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear kerdpathomyon,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Amazing resort best service grate atmosphere not enough wards to express the beauty of the resort and outstanding service. A feeling of relaxation very good restaurants , both the Chinese and the eastern . We had some problems to expire the visa and they did the best they could to help us without asking for extra fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana293984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MThomas-AGM, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Dana,

We are delighted to see your comments ad together with my associates we thank you for spending time with us and sharing such wonderful experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Lijiang or if you need assistance with another Banyan Tree property, please let us know.

Kind regards and all the very best.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

To put this into context, we are Amanjunkies and like these villa resorts above hotels. For the higher rate per night you have your own villa and typically 5 star service from restaurant, reception, house keeping etc. Banyan Tree says they compete with Aman resorts but after this stay we can only conclude they are not even close.

In this resorts the villa's are nice but start to show their age. Details are off compared to Aman, cable connections visable, fridge which hardly works, paint and wood works not in super state, nothing to offer for kids. Again, this is 5 star resort so one expects top quality.

The bigger disappointment without doubt are the restaurants. Service is difficult and the food was very disappointing. We had local and Western food. Western food was poorly prepared, local was okay. We had the famous hair in the meal as well as pizza from the freezer which I prepare better at home. Not 5 star at all of course and a big surprise.

What was interesting was that they hardly showed interest in us. Food complains were listened too but no follow up. Our son got a bit sick and not once did anybody ask how he was doing.

Bottom line, they have a nice property but it is not managed as crisp as one would expect. Staff is kind but lacks experience and oversight. Aman is coming to town anytime, worth while to put it next to each other.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wereldreiziger987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MThomas-AGM, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Wereldreiziger987
I have read your comments with disappointment as my team and I have definitely not met your expectations and did not create a positively memorable experience of your stay with us.
I have very seriously taken each of your comments and have discussed with the Chef and his team about the various mishaps,\ and the quality issues. Unfortunately, with your negative experience, we will make quick and major improvements in this area. The service issues as well have been combined and we are certainly making positive changes to ensure that we do not fail again in this area.
In terms of the general product and the upkeep of the property, may I mention that we are going through a systematic maintenance program and in a few months to come, most of the obviously visible deficiencies would be rectified while the company is also investing in larger and more costly and larger upgrading plans.
Our Hotel Manager Jeff Wang met with you and apologized and explained the situation and we hope that we still could have an opportunity to have you here again as a guest or perhaps in another Banyan Tree property somewhere else. In this case I am happy to make arrangements with our respective colleagues to ensure that you certainly do leave with a memorable experience.
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comments.
Michael Thomas
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Iconic Pagoda greets you at the entrance! Catch it during the sunset period and you will be in awe of its beauty. With the backdrop of the Jade mountain, one can surely be soaked in the serenity and beauty.

The Front Desk Personnel Mr Roy Zhong was very service oriented. He went beyond his call of duty to fetch us to our villa when we could not find any staff during the heavy rain on one night. I am sure many of the staff there are gems as well. During our check-in, we also had staff who helped us orientate around the place and our room. Our check out was also very well handled with staff who carried our luggage to reception.

The buffet spread was excellent and the restaurant overlooking a big pond with lotus.

Everyday, during our stay from 5pm-8pm, there is a 1 for 1 cocktail at their bar. Spend time there if you are free!

There is also a tennis court, but you may want to take time to walk around instead! It's a lovely place.

Of course, the entire villa was very luxurious. The use of jucuzzi with the feel of jade mountain at the backdrop is simply amazing. In fact, the bed is facing the mountain, and if you are staying there, you can consider opening the door slightly to catch a glimpse during dawn. Very lovely!

Excellent place for great photoshoots, especially with nice furnishings in the room and great scenery outside the rooms.

Nearby, 10 min walk, you can have shopping and dinning experience:)

Excellent for honeymooners!

Room Tip: Villa is good enough :) ensure that the trees does not block the entire mountain view. Those who c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AidanEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear AidanEmily,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Pleasantly surprised with a "Happy honeymoon" welcome on the bed. They sent a Happy Honeymoon Cake and red wine in the afternoon as well. Didn't expect them to remember that since I emailed 3 months earlier, asking about the honeymoon package (which they didn't have during that time but replaced it with a romantic highlands retreat package).

The place was clean, beautiful and the service was excellent. They gave us a brief introduction to the place and our room as well. The spa was good and the ladies were professional. Worth trying it! =)

And, if you prefer not to take the taxi every time you leave the hotel, bus 6 stops right at its doorstep (1 yuan per ride), goes round the new town area and even reaches the edge of Lijiang old town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Aryssa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Aryssa,
We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay at the Banyan Tree Lijiang. I have shared your positive comments and experience with our associates and they are grateful for your very nice feedback.
We at your memorable resort, wish you much happiness and all the very best and look forward to see you sometime again in the future.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 927 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 927 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
3.9 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
4.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Property: Banyan Tree Lijiang
Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#24 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing