We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappoint stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Ranked #6 of 942 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The USD 700 per night room certainly didn't provide us with surprises we would like to have: Room Electricity Failure over the night; Stink from toilets ; Stain on the curtain and carpet ; Poor heating system; Limited breakfast choices. There are better choices in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank Jia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Jia L,
Thank you very much for your staying at Banyan Tree Lijiang. We are so sorry that you experienced a disappoint stay. I have been reported the details of above matters to the department concerned. We assure you that the necessary actions have been taken to ensure that similar incidents will not be occurring again in the future.
We are looking forward to welcome you again while you visiting Lijiang.
Thank you very much
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Lijiang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was my second visit to Banyan Tree Lijiang on one year. I wanted to spend time before the Chinese New Year as Lijiang would be too busy.

The hotel did even better than my last visit although it got older. The staff is very friendly and ever so helpful. The services are performed with dedication even though one can clearly see old and outdated equipment. Internet, Room facilities especially heating are such inconveniences. We had some difficulty with cold restaurant and room.

The Shuhe old town , from the last visit has got more thrash everywhere, more commercial. It is unfortunate too see the beauty of such places being compromised for profits. Government involvement is necessary to curb the uncontrolled development.

The Banyan Tree Lijiang remains the Grand old lady with charm and character amidst the chaos happening just outside. This is mainly due to the charming people who ensure that the hotel is meeting the expectations of the customers, whereas Lijiang doesn't anymore.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerdpathomyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear kerdpathomyon,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed during CNY and cannot compare to the previous hotel I stayed in Lijiang which was so called International but poor in quality. Banyan Tree is a good place with beautiful views of the mountain. Lots of space to relax in the room and enjoy the privacy. Breakfast was too crowded and messy but I think it s not usual.Friendly staff and also efficient but again, maybe because of the CNY busy times, sometimes they were struggling to serve everyone. The hotel has a fleet of Jeeps which are cool and also the Spa is fantastic.
Overall, great stay and we will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oswald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Oswald J,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I love the hotel a lot, we hv booked a four people house here with garden n pool. It's very spacious, clean, with nice aroma n music pre set in the room. Chinese restaurant provides small dishes food only! We hv to order a lot of dishes n order double portion. rmb 1100 for four people dinner is ok in other countries but too expensive in china! But food is good n delicious

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Leung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Leung C,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments posted on TripAdvisor.

I have shared your feedback with my associates and we are grateful for your your time taken to share your experience.

Kind regards,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

great location, great views. the rooms are extremely comfortable. the jacuzzi's are outdoor heated. the food is good, but the local noodle soup is amazing. the service is ok, staff are friendly in general.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear travelerkit,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Banyan Tree Lijiang has to be one of the most spectacular places on earth that you will stay at. We stayed in a Villa which I think is the only way to stay there. Even though the outside temperatures were sub-zero, the outdoor Jacuzzi is always around 38deg. Sitting in the Jacuzzi at sunrise with the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain so close you could almost touch it is an unbelievable experience. The first thing you see in the morning from your bed is the sun shining on top of the mountain.

The staff were amazing. Their English skills are great and they made us feel like we were family during our entire stay ... and actually even after our stay. We had some issues with our airline after flights were cancelled and the staff worked remotely with the airline until we had our problems resolved.

Overall an experience we will never forget.

Room Tip: The 'Shu He' ancient city (one of 3 in Lijiang) is probably the most attractive in Lijiang a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stujayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear stujayr,

We thank you very much for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang to spend your holidays here and we sincerely appreciate your enormously gratifying comments.

My associates and I are delighted that you had a memorable stay and a trip.

We wish you a very happy Year of the Horse and look forward to welcoming back sometime in the future.

Mind regards,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Banyan tree (BYT) Lijiang is located about 1km outside of the ancient city, i.e. within walking distance, but not when it is very cold outside. the resort is quite big, with golf carts transporting the guests around the resort. The rooms are nice and tidy, but they are nothing too exciting, especially considering the rich culture in Yunnan and how the decoration could have been more authentic. BYT Lijiang is a nicely designed piece of property but our general impression is that it lacks character, as it fails to capture the essence of Yunnan culture (speaking as a frequent traveler and big fan of Yunnan). The service is good but not any more impressive than the hotels that's 1/3 of the price as Banyan Tree. We had a comfortable stay but we would definitely try something more localized and authentic next time we come to Lijiang - which is an open ended question since Lijiang has got extremely commercialized.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Eva Y,

We thank you for staying with us and posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your comments and happy to note that your stay was comfortable, that the design is nice and that the service is good. We always share guests’ feedback with all our associates and they will be happy to see your feedback.

As for room rates, of course Lijiang offers numerous guest houses with various pricing options. With the facilities we provide and the safety and comfort that is appreciated by our guests, we accept that we may not be able to offer similar pricing as surrounding guest houses.

Thank you again and kind regards,

Michael Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 942 in Lijiang
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 942 in Lijiang
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
4.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#27 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range: £149 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing