We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a destination by itself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Ranked #5 of 928 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a destination by itself”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My sister and I stay in the lovely one bedroom villa for 4 nights.. It is in a unit by itself with entrance gate, private yard and its own jacuzzi with lounge chairs. Outside the villa unit, the beautiful grounds with trees and ponds along the walking path provides a serene and peaceful environment away from the hustle and bustle of the old towns outside. We get up early in the morning , take a walk to breathe in the fresh air and get ready for the tour of the day, At dusk, a stroll along the garden path, with the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain as the background, is as releasing as you can get in this historic town. Our villa is right behind the front office, so walking to the front entrance, the restaurants, the bar is quick and easy. The breakfast has wonderful choices that include flavors from different parts of China, the buns and dumplings from the North, small dim sum type dishes from Canton, spicy Szechuan foods, famous local Yunnan noodles, and cakes,, as well as Western pan cakes, cheeses, various type of breads, eggs cooked to order, bacon, ham, sausages, the usual. Dinner is at a different restaurant with a beautiful pond in the middle of the building. Menu includes many well prepared dishes. A good and healthy way to taste the famous local flavor using fresh ingredients with skilled culinary art. We contacted Lily Zhang of LiJiangXinTuo, as recommended by several reviewers of Tripadvisor. She arranged all the tours to the old city, the Lijiang Impression (a must see, and worth the extra cost to get the VIP seats, so you don't have to fight the huge crowd to get in and out , sit at the center stage with no one waking back and forth in front of you ), trip to the Jumping Tiger Gorge and visit local villages. She also arranged the airport transfers. We later found out, there are plenty of taxi to go to airport, and from the Lijiang Old City to the hotel. You must bargain to get a good price though if you do not wish to use the meter. Service at the hotel is impeccable. Front desk manager made extra effort to solve my problem with the cell phone using local SIM cards. When I called about my i phone 5 not able to fit the docking station (like most hotels, they are still using i phone 4 models), the hotel asked me what kind of music I like, and deliver numerous CDs for me to listen to. While we were touring the Old Town, we also check out the grounds of Crown Plaza and we believed we have made the right choice staying at Banyan Tree. Even though the villa is a bit pricey, it is worth every penny of it. We have stayed in many luxury resorts in different countries, this is definitely one we will come back to visit again.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view of the Jade Dragon Snow Mountain that is NOT blocked by the trees in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwanderor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Gwanderor,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    246
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
138
217
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The most disappointing hotel on our tour of Yunnan, and our least favourite..
We got off on the wrong foot when during a very slow check in the receptionist took a £300 deposit on our credit card, the highest we have ever had anywhere in the world.( Our stay was prepaid)
The rooms are lovely, spacious with comfortable beds and beautiful bathrooms.The upper floors have well furnished balconies with unbeatable views of the Snow Dragon Mountain.The resort is nicely set out.But it ends there. The gardens look uncared for, especially the numerous small decorative canals which appear dirty ,with no vegetation and a few miserable fish.The domestic and gardening staff shout to each other and converse loudly with each other in the grounds. Our meal in the Chinese restaurant was unimpressive and some dishes were cold or only lukewarm at best.The Asian restaurant is marginally better, but still not very good.The bread selection served with dinner was excellent though.Both restaurants have hard working Maître Ds who are fighting a losing battle with untrained staff. They are both to be commended for doing their best. Same story in the bar, willing but untrained staff. Breakfast was ok, but not of the standard one would expect for a 5 star hotel.
There were numerous irritations in the room, from providing toiletries bags containing the usual amenities, which on closer inspection were chargeable( the same item is free in the Banyan Tree in Shangri La) to my laundry being removed from a cupboard and sent before I was ready to do so,to coming back to the room at 5pm to find turn down had taken place, the room was fully lit, and the curtains drawn with well over two hours of daylight and lovely views outside.It all points to sloppy management and housekeeping.
This hotel may once have been in the countryside but be aware it is now in the middle of a half built housing estate, so there is noise from jack hammers and pile drivers throughout the working day.
Their sister hotel in Zhongdian is an example of how a hotel of this calibre should be run.A real shame as this could be a really good 5 star property ,no doubt it once was.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear IIewellynroger,

Thank you very much for taking the time to make your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

As much as we regret that your check in was slow and apologize for it, the deposit is standard even in another International hotel in Lijiang.

The toiletry bags within the Banyan Tree group are chargeable and this is also a fact for Banyan Tree Ringha.

It is regrettable that we failed in certain areas such as the less than expected quality of food and the early turn down. We have also taken note of your comments about the gardeners and will be going through corrective measures.

Once again, thank you for your time and comments and for staying with us.

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a beautiful room with a large balcony on the first floor with a stunning view to Jade Dragon Snow Mountain. But we found this large resort very soulless. Villas hidden behind high walls with sturdy doors, a long walk down "streets" to our villa, it was like being in a gated community rather than a hotel. Food quality was mixed, the "western" (an eclectic menu covering many cuisines not just western) restaurant being marginally better than the Chinese restaurant though the Chinese was more elegant. A fruit bowl in the bedroom contained just one apple and one orange yet the market in Lijiang was bursting with luscious looking fruit of all kinds. Staff were pleasant enough but uncomprehending, it needs better management. The lowest point came when one of the gardeners did that hawking and spitting thing as I walked past. I know that is a cultural thing that westerners don't get, but this is supposed to be a five star, international resort and that is unacceptable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear MyrtleWiltshire,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your valuable comments.

We are certainly different compared to a standard hotel, as you very rightly mention with Gated Villas and long walks. Our guests love the privacy that the Villas offer, the stunning mountain views and of course the beautiful landscapes with sumptuous space and the serenity that the resort provides.

Our restaurants offer an all Chinese menu as well as a selection of western and Local Naxi specialties as visitors enjoy local dishes besides Chinese and Western.

I have taken up your comments about the fruits and gardeners’ behavior seriously and we are going through an urgent training plan to correct this problem.

Thank you again for your comments.

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The key thing about this hotel is service. The service level is almost impeccable and kudos to the management team for hiring staff with the right attitude and providing appropriate training.

It's not just about attending to requests, but about proactiveness and anticipating guests' needs. Eg, when I asked to check out in the morning, they would send a buggy to pick up the luggage and asked if they could drop me at the resto for breakfast while they send the luggage to the reception. After dinner, they would ask if I would need a buggy. And I went to the spa reception to use its wifi (the wifi elsewhere was unstable), they would ask me to go to their comfortable lounge, and offer tea.

Wifi in the room is unfortunately very unstable. In room dining menu is too limited. And when I asked for directions to the nearby Shuhe old town, the lady at the reception was not very helpful. I suspect it was because they would rather I use their tour offerings !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuoCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear LuoCJ,

Thank you very much for your time taken to share your experiences and of course for staying with us.

We are happy that overall, you were happy with the stay and I have shared your wonderful comments with my associates
.
We truly regret that we could not meet your expectations with Wifi internet connections in your room. We have taken note of this and will be making rectification work immediately. As for the staff member who was not helpful, we have started making intense awareness programs to refresh our standards and attitude and thank you again for your comments.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was spacious, the bed comfotable. With our first stay we had a liitle garden, second time a balcony with breathtaking view.
We would go back there any time. Totally enjoyed our stay and the visits to the old city areas of Lijiang as same as the tour up to the 4500m high mountain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank dbjtrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear dbjtrara,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the moment we stepped inside our villa, we didn't want to leave. Each of the rooms/villas has been perfectly designed, exquisite views from every angle, with no detail left unturned. The staff is so attentive and helpful. An employee picked us up at the airport and stayed with us for one hour after the ATM machine "ate" my husband's card. He called security and waited until the card could be retrieved. A driver/guide accompanied us to a local Naxi village and personally toured us around town. The staff, the spa, the food, the setting -- among the best I've ever experienced! My daughter exclaimed, "This is where I want to go for my honeymoon." She's only 17 but already dreaming about the ideal location -- and we found it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Sherri C,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A beautiful and peaceful hotel. Excellent staff in the hotel and in the spa. The spa treatment I had was one of the best I have ever had! An amazing view of the mountains from the private garden in the villa, and the private hot tub. An amazing place to end a fabulous trip across Leaping Tiger Gorge.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private garden are super peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Liz H,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 928 in Lijiang
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 928 in Lijiang
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
4.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Property: Banyan Tree Lijiang
Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#25 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing