We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warming Heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Ranked #5 of 927 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Warming Heart”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I can feel the view in my body~. it is my first time to Lijiang, I never been to a place such great and nice before. There are wonderful tours and Kindly people make me a unforgettable trip here. I am loving it.

Room Tip: Homelike feeling~
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Chih-ying L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Chih-ying L,
Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang. We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we looking forward to welcome you back to Lijiang in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    246
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
136
217
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved the settings and grounds of this beautiful property, overlooking the jade dragon snow mountain. We stayed in a one bedroom garden villa with jacuzzi and it was a lovely set up for our family of 4. Our young girls could fit in the study/annex, so it was like a separate room entirely, the only drawback is that because it is a study room, it does NOT black out like the rest of the room. Still our daughters slept in the night, and napped during the day without trouble.

The location is great, as it is walking distance to Shuhe old town, which is a charming town, the property also has an amazing spa, which we had gone to one evening for a couple-massage.

The overall service at the hotel was good, but the main restaurant Mingyue has pretty slow service, the F&B manager tries extremely hard and to his credit does a great job, but even when the restaurant has only 2-3 table of guests, it could take 30-40 mins for a meal to be prepared and service staff not necessarily what one would expect of the 5-star Banyan Tree experience. The chinese restaurant that is open only in the evening was for us a much better, service was quick and food was good. Ex- of that, the rest of our stay was very pleasant and we would certainly recommend this property for other guests to experience and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear StephBradshaw,
Thank you very much for your observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang. We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Resort has a beautiful view of the jade dragon snow mountain. We can see the mountain at the restaurants and in our villa. Resort is near Shu He old town too. There are eateries along the way to the old town.

Room Tip: Lovely and comfortable rooms. Master bedroom toilet is amazing big, comes with a big bath tub.Temper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Jasmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Jasmine T,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

As we entered, we were awestruck by the view of snow mountains and hotel landscape. The staff were very welcoming and catered to our every need. The pool villa with hot jacuzzi was most relaxing at the end of each adventurous day. The GM Mr. Michael Thomas needs to be praised for all the personal attention he pays to all the guests at the hotel, being a perfect leader of his team. The breakfast had a lovely display and selection, and we had one of the best codfish dish and chicken soup at the restaurant for dinner. Not to be missed is the spa session which ends at a big tearoom where you are served with your choice of hot tea and some fruits. The hotel tour service had an English speaking guide who was most obliging and helpful in showing us the city while imparting information relating to each place we visited. This has been the most memorable trip and stay at this amazing hotel. We would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Lijiang.

Room Tip: Go for the pool villas, they are worth the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Avtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Dr. Avatar,

We are very grateful for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang for your recent stay and also for sharing your very exciting experiences with the TripAdvisor readers.

It is gratifying to read such positive and delightful comments and no doubt our team and I are very happy that we could make your trip to Lijiang a memorable one.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again, sometime in the future.

Warm regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel paid attention to every details and very considerate. Every staff there was friendly to guests. When you lying in the yard of the guest room, you can see the beautiful snow mountain. I will definitely choose the resort again next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Doreen Y,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stay for 3 nights. Really value for money for dine in hotel restaurant,especially for BBQ, live band. perfect views for the hotel, excellent service make you feel home away from home. Friendly smile everywhere.good for family spend time here!

Room Tip: Spa Suite will be very good for your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wang s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Wang s,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Service is excellent, go beyond duty.
Staff is friendly & attentive & helpful
Location is near 1 of the Old City, about 10 mins walk
Must try out the Restaurants

Wonderful experience to stay, value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Anthony L,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 927 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 927 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
3.9 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
4.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Property: Banyan Tree Lijiang
Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#24 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing