We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Lijiang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Ranked #5 of 922 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Chengdu, China
1 review
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

great experience.The front desk was very nice,gave us lots of advice to enjoy the leisure life in lijiang. The room was very clean and sweet.we had a wonderful time in Banyan tree,we will definitely came back with our families,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Einhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Einhe,
Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang. We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared.Looking forward to welcome you back to Lijiang in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    246
    47
    21
    9
See reviews for
133
213
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I think all of the staff in the hotel were very nice,they smiled to me and gave me their best service.I could feel that some of them serviced me what i want before i told them,so that they gave me some surprise. I will choose Banyan Tree if I go to Lijiang in the future.
Thanks for all the staffs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Wang D,
Thank you very much for the time taken and your very encouraging and positive comments. I will share your comments with our associates who will be very grateful that their work has been appreciated. We sincerely hope that you would visit Banyan Tree Lijiang sometime in the future and enjoy our facilities and services once more.
Thank you again and kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The receiving of guest from the front desk was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well positioned as they allocated a mountain view on the second floor. Waking up each morning overlooking the famous Jade Dragon snow mountain was amazing. The mountain looks different each morning and evening.
The service standards: not really up to par to the other Banyan Tree. Their command of English language is not up to standards for this kind of premium brand hotel. If one does not speaks mandarin, it is very challenging.
Food is a big problem because it does not fit the international standards. it is basically oily and salty and badly prepare. It just doesn't taste good regardless the presentation. This is the biggest challenge for the hotel. It is up to individual experience of food standards even though much had been said. As according to them, the Chinese tourist like it.
When you head up to any of the restaurants, do get a jacket more as their insulation is poor.

Room Tip: Take the upper level floor to have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Contented77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for the time taken to share your experiences and of course for staying at Banyan Tree Lijiang.

As much as are happy that you generally had a good experience, we are disappointed with the fact that your experiences with our Food and Beverage areas in terms of food quality and service, specifically the command of English were not met.

We hare shared your comments, positive and constructive among our team and we are taking urgent measures to rectify those areas that are of concern.

Hopefully if you would return sometime in the future, we are confident that you will see the improvements that we have made .

Thank you again and best regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our first stay in a Banyan Tree and it was a great experience. First we were escorted to our room which was lovely, only to look out over our balcony to see and hear major noise from a construction site next door. We went to Lijiang to escape the noise and bustle of Beijing and Shanghai, so we diplomatically told the clerk that this wasn't acceptable. After hesitating, he made several calls and ultimately found us an upgraded villa it a much better location. The layout of the villa with sliding doors to separate sitting, bedroom and bathrooms as well as windows was simply brilliant. We loved the spa music playing on the CD player and ultimately bought it. Breakfast had a wide selection of eastern and western dishes, but breads & pastries were not fresh. Staff were very attentive but there was defintiely some langugae barriers, especially at the bar, where I had to tell them how to make a martini (even though it was on their bar menu). Another downside is tha it doesn't have a pool. In such a beautiful setting, it would have been nice to relax by the pool in the late afternoon or early evening.

Room Tip: Check for proximity to construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus_D1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Marcus_D1130,
Thank you very much for your observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang. We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I can feel the view in my body~. it is my first time to Lijiang, I never been to a place such great and nice before. There are wonderful tours and Kindly people make me a unforgettable trip here. I am loving it.

Room Tip: Homelike feeling~
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Chih-ying L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Chih-ying L,
Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang. We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we looking forward to welcome you back to Lijiang in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved the settings and grounds of this beautiful property, overlooking the jade dragon snow mountain. We stayed in a one bedroom garden villa with jacuzzi and it was a lovely set up for our family of 4. Our young girls could fit in the study/annex, so it was like a separate room entirely, the only drawback is that because it is a study room, it does NOT black out like the rest of the room. Still our daughters slept in the night, and napped during the day without trouble.

The location is great, as it is walking distance to Shuhe old town, which is a charming town, the property also has an amazing spa, which we had gone to one evening for a couple-massage.

The overall service at the hotel was good, but the main restaurant Mingyue has pretty slow service, the F&B manager tries extremely hard and to his credit does a great job, but even when the restaurant has only 2-3 table of guests, it could take 30-40 mins for a meal to be prepared and service staff not necessarily what one would expect of the 5-star Banyan Tree experience. The chinese restaurant that is open only in the evening was for us a much better, service was quick and food was good. Ex- of that, the rest of our stay was very pleasant and we would certainly recommend this property for other guests to experience and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear StephBradshaw,
Thank you very much for your observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang. We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Resort has a beautiful view of the jade dragon snow mountain. We can see the mountain at the restaurants and in our villa. Resort is near Shu He old town too. There are eateries along the way to the old town.

Room Tip: Lovely and comfortable rooms. Master bedroom toilet is amazing big, comes with a big bath tub.Temper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Jasmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, General Manager at Banyan Tree Lijiang, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Jasmine T,

Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang.
We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Michael Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#1 of 922 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#2 of 922 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
3.9 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
3.7 mi away
Amandayan
Amandayan
#20 of 922 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Lijiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Lijiang

Property: Banyan Tree Lijiang
Address: Yuerong Road, Shuhe, Gucheng District, Lijiang 67410, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lijiang
#3 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#25 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Lijiang 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic charm, rich culture and sweeping landscapes of Lijiang, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. Located in the highlands of Yunnan province, the resort is adjacent to the Na'xi minority old town of Shuhe and only a 10 minute drive from the ancient Silk Road town of Baisha. Situated close to the base of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, it is surrounded by high peaks and hidden valleys, making it a photographers dream. Many unique experiences are ready to be enjoyed as you explore the back streets of the ancient towns, traverse the mountainous landscape to Tiger Leaping Gorge, Wen Hai lake, or take a cycle trek through the foothills to remote Yi villages. For a more leisurely experience, indulge in one of the many luxurious treatments available at the world renowned Banyan Tree Spa. With clear blue skies for nine months of the year, enjoy a breath of fresh air and escape to the tranquility of Banyan Tree Lijiang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Banyan Tree Lijiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Lijiang Hotel Lijiang
Banyan Tree Hotel Lijiang
Lijiang Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing