We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lijiang Grand Hotel
Ranked #289 of 940 Hotels in Lijiang
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AVOID!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you like to shower in a filthy dark bathroom, or walk on badly stained carpets, this is the hotel you would enjoy. They cater only to very low budget groups and clearly their tour operators have ripped them off. It is not true that this hotel is the only one with best location. There are other smaller boutique hotels, much cleaner and equally as well located around the Old Town. Breakfast is not edible for most westerners, unless you enjoy plain toasts. Wifi is only available at lobby area while all other hotels offer it everywhere. This hotel is not fit for operations, and should be shut down immediately by health department. I was very unfortunate to be one of those poor souls who got cheated by their tour operator. Front office staff was mostly rude even when I spoke fluent Chinese.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miffychaton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
4
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

While this hotel is showing its age, for the price and location it is hard to pass up. Located right at the entrance to Old Town, and providing free parking for your private car, with security it was great for us. When traveling in your own vehicle it is important to find a safe place to park. Access to the parking lot is via a close section of Old Town, so you have to get a pass first for your car. But being able to park within just steps of the hotel entrance in a lot guarded 24/7 is great. The rooms are standard western style and they serve a very nice Chinese breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Great location right on the edge of Old Town but that is about it. In dire need of an upgrade due to no hot water, minimal heat, stained worn carpets, and lots of scrapes and marks on the walls. Breakfast is included but no meat of any description and the room was freezing. If all you are looking for is locaton, ok but, otherwise would not reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 154914Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lijiang hotels

Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

As previous reviewers have advised - this hotel is in a fantastic position -
but the hotel is very run down! Cold showers one morning & for the 1st
time ever we actually "on purpose" missed breakfast & bought at a local
cafe! Loved Lijiang & the position of the hotel but it really needs some
money (& love) spent on it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

From the outside, it looks promising. Terrific location, right in the center of the town, although it does get noisy at night with all the nearby karaoke bars and the crowds massing in the square. The lobby is decent enough, typical "Grand Hotel" style with marble facade. But the rooms are really depressing. Stained carpets, bottom-quality soaps, thin towels, skimpy toilet paper. No air conditioning that we could discern; luckily it was cool enough outside that we could open our window at night to let in cool air -- but were blasted by the karaoke racket.

Breakfast was a joke. Overcooked hardboiled eggs (split in half!), skimpy fruit, and bread.

Oh, and did I mention? The staff speaks no English.

Later I heard there was a Crowne Plaza in the old town. I never saw it, but it had to be better than this. Still, in the grand scheme of things (this being China) it was probably not as awful as other places might have been. So I'm giving it three stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docwatson_236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The location of this hotel right in the precincts of the old town of Lijiang makes it very easy to get to the tourist spots but the hotel itself is shabby and desperately in need of an upgrade- even a bit grubby in places. The hotel services huge coach parties so if you strike them at breakfast or the "international buffet" in the evening be prepared for a real scrum . Alternatively if you come abck in 30 mins they'll all be gone and there's still plenty of food.Staff pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500Chris500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I must say the location is wonderful (and easy to find if your group members tend to get lost, since they can just ask people where the iconic waterwheels are). The location is the only thing saving it from a "Terrible" rating by me.

Rooms: Filthy. I never let my bare skin touch the floors or carpets. Yuck. They weren't even cleaned well (on top of being ancient and permanently filthy) - there were things still out in the middle of the carpet (like a toothpick). I did talk directly to the housekeeper after the first night, and she did as best a job as she could do with the ancient carpets they have. The bathrooms were also moldy and permanently dirty. Others in the group had large chunks of hair sitting around in theirs. They smelled stale and smoky, as did the whole hotel. The towels and linens were "clean enough." I wasn't afraid to touch those, so we stayed, but they were worn and grey.

General atmosphere: Old, ancient, smoky, and filthy. I've only been in a couple of hostels and hotel that are worse.

Service: Fairly abysmal. They front desk was massively confused by my passport, asked questions, then still called later to get information on it (they had written down one of my cancelled Chinese Visa numbers, not my current one). Things were constantly running out at breakfast, or not turned on. It was hit or miss if they would actually get more when asked about it.

Breakfast: There were some OK parts - when fresh, the coffee was good. When on, the toast machine worked on the non-stale bread. There was some fresh fruit (some that needed checking first). There were pancakes and syrup (although they were lukewarm and ran out). There weren't always smokers nearby.

Location: Wonderful, as I said at the top of the review. Easy to access and find, BUT that location is NOISY!!! If you have rooms facing the front, you'd better have earplugs. The bars nearby BLAST their mostly-off-key singers so loud you can hear the whole show(s) from your room. If you are on the back side, you might survive without earplugs, but you can still 'enjoy' the show(s).

There are MANY hotels throughout the old city. There is no reason to be in this one unless you are forced to be. In fact, I was seriously considering paying to stay in a different one despite this one being included on the tour. As it was, I spent every moment I could outside the hotel, so put up with it for the second night. Do yourself a favor and find some quaint, quieter place down one of the cobbled lanes. The bumpy route you have to drag your suitcase across will be worth it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hope42morrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
2.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 940 in Lijiang
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
3.7 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 940 in Lijiang
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 940 in Lijiang
909 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
5.4 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lijiang Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Grand Hotel

Property: Lijiang Grand Hotel
Address: No.300 Minzhu Road, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 940 Hotels in Lijiang
Hotel Class:3 star — Lijiang Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing