We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An reasonable hotel charging reaonable rate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lijiang International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lijiang International Hotel
Ranked #92 of 921 Hotels in Lijiang
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An reasonable hotel charging reaonable rate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is one of the right choices unless you want luxurious international hotel standard. Hotel room is clean albeit a bit small but can comfortably accommodate 2 adults + 2 children but not too many pieces of bags. The two double beds is good enough for a family of 4 of reasonable size. Extra bed should be last consideration considering the size of the room and usually the matress of extra bed is very hard.

It should be note that the hotel cuts aircon around midnight and needs to open window for ventilation but the it could be noisy at around 7a.m. I can hear dog barking and workers start work involving heavy items moving in the early morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongPaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    50
    21
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

First image with this hotel was good: the grand Chinese style entrance, with a pond by the side, and the large and nicely decorated lobby. The guest room was spacious and clean, and the beds were comfortable for sleeping. However, the shower set of the bathroom was fixed which was inconvenient for me.

The restuarant for having breakfast was nice, the tall window brought sunlight into the restaurant, making the guests inside feel comfortable. There was a variety of food, but maybe because of the difference of taste, I considered the food of the breakfast just okay.

The hotel is quite near to Lijian Old Town, which is convenient for travellers. The street where the hotel locates has different restaurants, massage stores and entertainment venues, which on my hand could be considered as convenient but on the other hand these make the environment near the hotel more complicated and less safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was a most impressive looking hotel when we pulled up and the lobby is quite beautiful. They cater more to Chinese tourists than American. The breakast restaurant was filled with Chinese getting ready to leave on buses and we had a very hard time finding a place to sit. Food was just so so, and we really like Chinese food. The hotel is a an ok location, about a 10 minutes walk to the lovely old town of Lijiang. Room was comfortable. We didn't spend much time in it and did get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christeenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The ancient city gate in the front of this hotel is impressive and so is the grand lobby. Rooms are very spacious, nicely decorated and clean. The location is about a 5 minute walk from the Old Town. (Some may prefer to stay in the Chinese style inn in the Old Town but it could be very noisy there). Good breakfast being served in the dinning room. Free internet and in-room safe (not bolted).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbuk2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The hotel was booked as part of a flight+hotel package and it was not the cheapest hotel on the list. While the room itself was OK, old but clean, we had a big problem with the "damage deposit". The hotel asked for a credit card (or cash) to be deposited which was to be cancelled or refunded on check out. We double checked a number of times with the manager (Mr Zheng) that the card itself would not be charged and would only be used as a guarantee before we offer our credit card. Guess what? On check out, we found the card charged and COULD NOT BE CANCELLED because their machine was not working properly. As we have a bus to catch, we left a mobile number, and an email address for the hotel to contact about the status. Never once had the hotel bothered to inform us if the credit card charge had been cancelled or reversed. We had to check with our credit card company only after arrived home.

A word about the location... it is a full 10 minutes walk to the old town with nothing much to see along the main road or any resturants. I would suggest staying in the old town. We moved to the beautiful Lijiang Old Castle Hotel (see separate review) when we returned after a week in Dali.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabrinaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Nice hotel. Stayed here a couple of years ago and conditions have improved. The breakfast restaurant is very nice. Wish they would ban smoking in the restaurant. My room was nice, clean and it had a computer with free internet. They still offered an in room safe that is not bolted down and light enough to carry out of the room....hehe. Several foot massage places across the street. Easy to get a cab to Zhongyi market and Old Town. They only allow you to exchange a maximum $100 US per day, but there is a Bank of China in Old Town to exchange more. Staff spoke a fair amount of English, except for the evening shift.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room for a few more dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scharendijke, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

If have just visited the Lijiang International Hotel for 2 nights. I must say that before I have had booked the hotel, I didn't expect that my stay would be so comfortable.

The hotel has only been open for a few months and is build completely in 'naxi' style, one of the 56 minority groups in China. In some ways it is also been integrated in the hotel, like the beds (close to each other) and the interior.

The hotel is ideally located in the commercial street of Lijiang at just a 5 minute walk away from the Ancient city. While their are enough taxi's driving in Lijiang any taxi driver could find its way to the hotel. I paid for the taxi transfer from the airport to the hotel around 80 RMB and it took about 30 minutes.

The service of the hotel is excellent. All staff members are trying to speak English with you and even when it is getting difficult for them they are still trying to speak to you.
The restaurants in the hotel are reasonable, with a good mix of Chinese, Local but also Western dishes. Also the breakfast buffet is proficient, with a large variety of Western but also Chinese dishes.

On my second day in Lijiang I booked a tour with a local tour company with the help of the Hotel. Although the tour was in Chinese, the hotel made a great effort in helping me getting on this tour.

I will sure visit this hotel again in the near future.

  • Liked — The effort of the staff in making my stay comfortable.
  • Disliked — Like other hotels in China, a hard bed.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rlouwerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lijiang
2.5 mi away
Guanfang Hotel Garden Villa
1.9 mi away
Treasure Harbour International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lijiang
Hilton Garden Inn Lijiang
#14 of 921 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
N Du Hotel
N Du Hotel
#102 of 463 in Dali
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lijiang Golden Path Hospitality Hotel
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#1 of 921 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lijiang International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang International Hotel

Property: Lijiang International Hotel
Address: No.152 Jinxing Street, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 921 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lijiang International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Lijiang International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing