We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”
Review of Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterfront Inn
Ranked #432 of 2,626 Lijiang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights April 2012. I should have stayed for 7 but I had to change hotels as I found the walk up the hill and especially the steps to hard after recent surgery. The owner Kevin and his manager Jenny were so kind and understood the problems. Kevin even arranged for his driver to take me to the hotel I am now at. That said the hotel is beautiful, the views are wonderful and my suite (Pu er) was fantastic. Lots of room, really nice bathroom, comfortable sofa to sit on and the view over Lijiang old town was fabulous. The bed was large, soft and every where was spotlessly clean.
You could sometimes hear the music from Bar Street but this wasn't a problem. I agree with one of the previous reviewers, you do need to be fit to stay at this hotel but if you are then go for it, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: If you can choose one of the suites for the amazing views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bheh1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Waterfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

As a family of 5, with 3 boys in their early twenties, this ticked all the boxes. We stayed on Lion Hill, in attractive spacious suites arranged in a courtyard style, overlooking the old town and mountains in the distance. Kevin the owner speaks excellent English and was extremely helpful both before and during our stay, helping us plan our excursions and booking our guest house in Tiger Leaping Gorge. The walk up from the old town would not suit the old or unfit, but the hotel has two other sites down in the town. The one slight disappointment was the 'western' breakfast - bacon and egg with fruit and excellent coffee, but rather dull bread. We loved our stay there and BenBen the dog completely stole our hearts. We would all 5 recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneFromTwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is our second time back to this lovely place. Last time was in 2010 summer and we were with parents staying at the Waterfront property, and we enjoyed the time there. We were told by many people that Spring would be even better season with beautiful flowers everywhere and few tourist crowds in the old town than in summer. And they are right!

This time we chose the Lion Hill Peak location, and which is even more impressive than the Waterfront. The view from our private balcony is amazing! We enjoyed so much sitting in our lovely, spacious panorama view suite and could just stare at the endless roof tops of Old Town all day long. The weather had been better as well, no rain, and everyday great sunshine & blue sky. The staff were friendly and treated us as repeated guests, which I am sure they may have many. A lovely stay, and we may return again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susany508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have traveled extensively all over China over the last several years and this is the most disappointed experience so far. While one should not expect mich from a room that cost less $40, it was certainly not as represented.
If one googles the words "definition of a boutique hotel" a few definitions come up but none that correspond to this low end hotel. Their website talks about character and there was none of it. It also mentions the tea theme. Did not see is anywhere. Actually we were not even offered any teawith the breakfast.
Now about specifics. First, their website is poorly designed. It is one very long page making it very difficult to compare their various rooms as there are no navigation options. It is also not possible to book online. You need to call, which we did. We booked two non-consecutive nights as we hiked TLG. A couple of days after booking they called us asking for prepayment of the room. We did so reluctantly as we would not normally not do this. We asked for an email confirmation which they refused to send. They send us a SMS. We called for an address or directions which we never received. We asked it via SMS but they simply stopped responding.
Upon arriving in the Lijiang old town we called the person we had corresponded with to get the address. She gave us an address and we tried looking for the placefor quite awhile (the old town is a maze). As we speak mandaring we asked directions along the way but could not find the address. We tried calling back but the person was not picking up the phone. After several tries she finally took our call but this time told us that the address was not that of our hotel but the place where she is. She then asked usto call another person who was at our location. The person asked to met him at a certain bridge (again, thank god we speak mandarin and could ask directions). He then walked usto where the "hotel" is. I use quote as the place does not look like a hotel. It is a small residential unit with about 4 or 5 studio units in a residential building. There is no sign at the entrance mentioning the name of the place. No reception either. The place is handled by a student who worksthere for free in exchange for a free small room. That room is the office it seems. The room was prepaid so we paid 60RMB for the breakfast and 160RMB for the bus tickets that they had secured for us (face value of the tickets is 50RMB, good markup).
The good:
The student was friendly and helpful so was the maid
The shower had shampoo and body soap (although you need to read chinse to knowwhich one is which)
The room had some heating and an electric blanket
The hair dryer was powerful enough
There was two bottles of water
There is wifi
The bad:
You have breakfast outdoors and it is pretty cold in early April
The breakfast is definitely not worth the 30RMB per person. My western breakfast consisted of one egg, two slices of bacon and two dried slices of white bread with no butter nor jam. The western breakfast was a bad congee and some chinese bread. We were not offered anything to drink so we drand our water.
The furniture was of poor quality and tasteless. The bedside table was broken although repaired when we returned for our second stay.
The water kettle was broken
There is no light in the stairs and it is very dark at night. I used my mobile phone to find the stairs.
The bahroom is very dark. The only working light is in the shower. Not easy to shave and put on makeup.
There is no place to put your toileteries other than in the sink at there is no shelf space. Or you leave them in the room when you need to use the sink.
There is a bar nearby with music late into the night so, no early bedtime.
There is no view from the room or balcony. You are looking at the rather unattractive back of another building. I will post photos later. On the hotel website there are no photos of the room that we occupied.
The place is hard to find even with the map that they gave us. When w went out for dinner after check-in, we hard a hard time finding our way back to the main area and got lost a few times. We figured it out eventually despite the fact that there is no hotel name over the door.
This "hotel" has three locations. The others are possibly better but we cannot recommend the "Sun Deck". It is best avoided and it is not aboutique hotel nor does it match the representations of the website.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetea, Management at Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

First of all, all our rooms / suites at our 3 locations we offer free, good quality loose leaf green tea in the room to all our guests, and we serve tea as our welcome drinks during reception as well. Western breakfasts come with either coffee or tea, even though most guests chose coffee, which may be taken by our staff by default.

Sun deck is our smaller property with mostly standard rooms with room rates around US$30 per night (except the Sun Room & Roof Deck 301, which is one of our very popular feature rooms) to provide an economy lodging option to our broader customer base, and our Lion Hill Peak & Waterfront properties have our most feature rooms especially our very popular large-size view suites with either the panorama view of the old town or suited along the crystal-clear central waterway at the heart of old town. Yes, there are clearly distinctive differences among these properties that are catered to different segments of customers. Actually the decision had been made to spin off the Sun Deck from the rest of The Tea Boutique Hotel.

Finally, for most enquiries, please book via email, which has proved to be very efficient & effective with many details clearly explained and easier for future reference than calls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed in this boutique hotel in a recent trip to Lijiang & other parts of Yunnan, and it had been a wonderful experience to us. The view from our private balcony was amazing, and we especially loved the 2 deck chairs on our balcony, which we enjoyed a great deal. What a wonderful view! The suite was nicely appointed, simple but tastefully done with good mix of the old and the modern comfort. Staff there had been very helpful too and English-speaking. Even the cute pet dog was so friendly and we missed all these very much after return to the crowded Shanghai!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

It was a lovely stay at this small hotel on the peak of Lion Hill, which overlooks the Old Town and offers stunning view right from our balcony. We arrived after the Lunar New Year holiday peak season, and then tourist crowds got much less. It was really quiet during day time, when the view was also most beautiful. Lijiang is such an amazing place, especially when most of China, including Hong Kong SAR now, couldn't even see a clear sky. Everyday we were so delighted by the truly blue sky and wonderful sunshine during vacation in Lijiang. The view from our panorama view suite just so beautiful with such back drop.

The staff had been very kind and helpful, including the housekeeper that is a local Naxi lady. We could speak Putonghua so communication is not a problem, and the home feel here had made our stay very comfortable. We could only hope to return again some time in the future before heading back to the polluted Hong Kong. Sure we'll miss the blue sky and night stars here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We just got back from a long trip in China, and Lijiang was one of our highlights. The stay at The Tea Boutique had contributed to our very positive impression on Lijiang, even though many people thought it is getting a bit touristy for this remote part in China. As ethnic Chinese, we loved to see the traditional part of China, and Lijiang offered rich experience in this regard. The panorama view suite we stayed simply offered stunning visual impact to reinforce this, and the lovely, impressive, endless roof tops in traditional grey bricks we saw from our wonderful balcony drew such a contrast with the high rises in Beijing, that used to be traditional as well. We loved our suite so much that we could stay there the whole just staring at the view while sipping the nice local green tea provided in the room. Certainly a place to remember, and strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniela q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.0 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
0.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 941 in Lijiang
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 941 in Lijiang
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#6 of 941 in Lijiang
918 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
0.0 mi away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Inn

Address: No.101 Chongren Alley, Qiyi Street, Dayan Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 2,626 B&Bs / Inns in Lijiang
Price Range: £23 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing