We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterfront Inn
Ranked #331 of 2,484 Lijiang B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

we stayed in this lovely small hotel during a recent vacation to Lijiang. It was just wonderful. It is a classical local Naxi style building with a courtyard and all wooden structure. As it is on the top of Lijiang Old Town hill area, the view is truly amazing!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    36
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
68
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed in the Family room which is very spacious and has a little terrace where you can sit out and enjoy the sun. The hotel is very different from the modern ones we had been staying in, the furniture is all old and the building is a typical Naxi style house. The hotel arranged transport for us from the airport which was great as we would never have found the place otherwise! It is worth bearing in mind that it is about a 10 minute walk from where the cars can drop you and you have to go down about 10 steps at one point. The hotel is clean and the staff (Simon and his family, including Wanzi the dog) are lovely and really made our trip to Lijiang enjoyable. There is always a welcome from them when you get back. Simon organised a car to take us on a daytrip to Tiger Leaping Gorge and we could do our washing in their washing machine. It is a short walk to the hustle and bustle of the Old Town streets along a pretty stream. It is a great convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyMasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The hotel was in a beautiful old building, with wonderful rooms. I loved the heated mattresses and our room had fantastic furniture. The staff was so incredibly friendly and spoke English exceptionally well. We came to Lijiang from hiking Tiger Leaping Gorge and stayed for one night. When my husband became very ill over night, they let us stay in the room well past check out time so that he could continue to rest. This helped us tremendously in what could have been a terrible situation for him.

One detail, we stayed in the waterfront branch of this hotel, which is located very close to the interesting parts of Lijiang, but is very quiet, so the location is really ideal; however, we arrived in the evening and the hotel was difficult to find in the dark. We ended up calling the hotel from a restaurant to get better directions, so try to get a good map if possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We arrived at 2am after a disastrous flight with China Eastern (lost our luggage, missed our connection, completely unhelpful.... avoid them at all cost!) The hotel staff were waiting for us and helped us with our bags in the dark. It was our first hotel on our trip and after our flight we felt we had walked into an oasis of calm. The view was great and when we finally walked down to the Old Town we were pleasantly surprised at what was there. It was an easy walk and there was lots to see. The rooms were comfortable, large and clean. The bathroom was big and new. My only critisism was I couldnt open a window. The sun was pooring in and it was lovely but got a bit hot in the afternoon.

Room Tip: They all have a view of the old town I think but the upstairs ones have a slightly better view. I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in this lovely small hotel during a recent vacation to Lijiang. It was just wonderful. It is a classical local Naxi style building with a courtyard and all wooden structure. As it is on the top of Lijiang Old Town hill area, the view is truly amazing! Location wise, it can't be better than that if you don't mind some steps walking uphill. Also we found in most cases, the car can take us directly to Lion Hill peak area through a road in the back of the hill. So this did add convenience given most places in Lijiang old town don't have car accesss and we watched people dragging their luggage for a long way before reaching their places to stay.

We booked a room with view and only found the room is much bigger than we expected. The private balcony attached with our room is huge too, and it had been our best spot to watch all the roof tops or relax ourselves on the comfortable deck chairs there. The bathroom is fairly modern and very clean. The bed is the best we had when traveling in China. We also experienced some excursions organized by hotel staff, and we enjoyed them as well. Strongly recommend this little place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank helen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

It was a great surprise to us when we passed by the tea's Lion Hill property while wondering around at the peak area. From its location we guessed the view out there should be not bad. When we walked in, it turned out to be really wonderful! This made me decide to move in the next day and took one of the view suites there. And we never regretted. The experience had been terrific!

We especially enjoyed the cozy feel and warm, friendly service at this small hotel, in addition to the great view. The manager in residence is a young Local Naxi girl, English-speaking and very helpful in our various requests. The suite is very spacious and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay there, and hopefully we can return again some time in the future!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Can't really recommend this place. They stuffed up our booking, the rooms downstairs are noisy, and the breakfast the worst we had in China.
Poor value, compared to places nearby which looked better, and way cheaper.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark and sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetea, Management at Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
We already reported problems this review to TripAdvisor and hope the person could provide evidence he or she actually stayed in our hotel. Due to our small size, we basically know every guest in person. We never had any guests remotely close to this "mark and sue h" with such vague claims. This person also wrote a bad review on another high-ranked inn in Lijiang in similar way. We welcome competition but please behave in a decent way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
2.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#1 of 921 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#2 of 921 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 921 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lvye An Jia
Lvye An Jia
#1 of 2,484 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Inn

Property: Waterfront Inn
Address: No.101 Chongren Alley, Qiyi Street, Dayan Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 2,484 B&Bs / Inns in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing