We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard)
Ranked #23 of 940 Hotels in Lijiang
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful oasis”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This might be the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in ! If I were to live in China I would search for a house looking like the Zen garden Lion Mountain Yard. It is a beautifully restored ancient building with lovely antique furniture and charming little courtyards and fishponds. It rises above the noisy center of Lijiang and it feels like an oasis of calm. We felt so great in this hotel with its very friendly staff that we stayed in the hotel much of the time just to relax in the courtyard drinking tea with their great sunflower cookies. Our room had a good bath and shower with pressure !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    36
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
52
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilin, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lijiang is a colorful lively tourist centre but after the first half day the tackiness and above all strident and overamplified music in every restaurant drove us mad! To retreat to the peace of the Zen Garden was bliss! The tasteful natural simplicity of the place was a refreshing contrast to commercial hotels yet we had all we needed plus extra surprises like fresh oranges rice cakes and unlimited tea at 5pm, and zither playing over breakfast. The staff were so very gentle, attentive and friendly. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Zen Garden (Lion Mountain Yard) is one of the most beautiful hotels we've ever stayed in. Staff carry your cases up the many stone steps to the hotel, which is on Lion Hill overlooking the rebuilt Old Town of Lijiang.

Rooms and guest areas are in exquisite taste with traditional Chinese furnishings, the staff - mostly local Naxi women - are welcoming and charming. There are courtyards with flowers and fish ponds.

In our room there was a heater - necessary in February - covered with small rugs. It was only when the rugs began to smoke that we realized the heater had a hotplate on top too !

The hot water in our room was only lukewarm when we arrived, and remained that way until we complained. Then someone was summoned and in a couple of hours we had proper hot water. We were the only occupants during our stay and the suspicion remains that they hadn't bothered to turn the thermostat up before we arrived.

So why only three stars ? There are pleasant verandahs outside the rooms. But it's impossible to enjoy them in the evening because of thumping disco music booming up from the Old Town below. It's not until the disco music stops at about twenty to midnight that there's any peace, even inside the rooms.

Not the fault of the Zen Garden of course. But a misery, unless you're really into thumping, booming, Chinese rave music.

What a pity.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBM056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Zen Garden Hotel, it has such character and charm with a balcony where we sat every evening playing cards and drinking tea overlooking the old town. The staff were absolutely wonderful, able to organise trips for us and recommend places to visit. Super breakfast with a range of fruit, yogurts and toast. I will be staying here again for my next visit to Lijiang.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drilla1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed five nights at the Zen Garden Lion Hill in October/November and are so glad we did. Old Town Lijiang is undergoing astronomically rapid change, and the town is now mostly a giant boisterous bazaar. The hotel – located on a hill overlooking the rooftops of Old Town -- was a welcome relief from the thumping bar scene, market stalls, and fast-talking salespeople. If you can climb several flights of stone stairs up the hill (all of Old Town is restricted to pedestrians only, with stone walkways and stairs), you will be rewarded with a multi-story gem of a hotel, with beautiful little courtyard gardens, bonsai, and tea rooms. Our room was on the second floor, spacious, comfortable, and clean; the breakfast was good – and you can order scrambled or fried eggs on request; and the availability in the lobby of tea and sunflower-seed cookies was always a welcome treat. The staff was friendly and accommodating even though their English was limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel was probably the cutest we stayed during our trip. Its location grants the best views of Lijiang. The decor and the design are typically Chinese and absolutely lovely. The room size was good, with a separate tea room.
Breakfast was good as well, with nice seeds biscuits we could not find anywhere else.
Our room had what we called the "cage bed" which was less than ideal considering one of us was sick and had to leave the bed in the middle of the night crawling on top of the other. The bed was little hard too. They have different layouts for each room so ask for one with a view - it's worth the extra cash!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel/inn is hiding in a side alley but in the center of the old town. quiet enough if rooms are booked on the second floor. the hotel staff was excellent and a small bed and breakfast feel to it. the staff for extremely nice and attentive. they went the extra mile automatically to help us arrange a birthday celebration for our family. they arranged a birthday cake upon our return from dinner and made our birthday celebration very memorable. highly recommend this hotel for lijiang. the rooms were very clean and up to date. the entire hotel is as seen in the photo.

Room Tip: choose the rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
Gucheng District
Lijiang Spiritual Utopia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bivou
#1 of 940 in Lijiang
303 reviews
Lijiang Woo Bay Hotel
#16 of 940 in Lijiang
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard)

Property: Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard)
Address: No.37 Shuangshi Section, Xinhua Street, Old City, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#23 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard) 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zengardenhotel Lion Hill Yard is very well situated in the center of the Old Town of Lijiang, next to the main entrance of the Weng Chan temple, with an unrivaled, riveting panoramic view over the roofs of the Old Town Dayan. The Zengardenhotel Lion Hill Yard is a private owned Boutique Hotel with in total 16 rooms on two levels. We provide 12 x Deluxe Standard Rooms, 2 x Chinese Antique Suites on the top with excellent views and 2 x Special Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zen Garden Lijiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing