We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard)
Ranked #22 of 927 Hotels in Lijiang
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Authentic hotel in the middle of the old city. Super!! beds. Sympathic and friendly people.
Lijiang itself is very crowdy (mostly Chinese tourists). The Park at the end of the old city with a view on Dragon Snow Mountain is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneKerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    36
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
52
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for a week, lovely traditional rooms, the ladies spoke a little English but very helpful in many ways, even walked us to bus stops that we wouldn't of ever found. There is a sister hotel the zen garden wuyi yard, the lady here speaks very good English and was very helpful in organizing a car ect. I would suggest stay in lijing for a couple of days them head to she shue about 20min taxi ride it is quieter town with still lots of bars ect

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Zen Garden Hotel is located on the hillside above Lijiang, which makes it a much better place to stay than down in town. Lijiang is very touristy, busy and loud at night until midnight so it was nice to stay somewhere quiet to get away from the crowds.
The view is great, especially at night! And the garden and common areas are just beautiful, like "old China" probably used to be.
Rooms are ok and comfortable, and the staff is friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NTinDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is located at the top most part of the old town, hence offering a great vantage view of the town, There are many other hotels/ inns along the climb up, but Zen Garden offers the best view.

The staff are always friendly and quick to offer tea whenever I sat at the reception area. It is built in Naxi style and looks very well landscaped and decorated.

The room is very well equipped with wifi and cable connections. Even the bathroom is well furnished with shampoo, shower cream, toothbrush and toothpaste - all in generous sizes. The towels are the whitest, cleanest and fluffiest you can find - beating those of international 5 star hotels.

They sometimes offer you a yummy biscuit made of sunflower seeds - I was told it's their house specialty. In-room wifi is unstable, so I usually go to the reception area. That's when they always greet you warmly with tea. You can use their computer at the reception too.

The old town is full of extremely loud bars and even tho the hotel is located right on top, you can hear the noise, so be prepared to get some quiet only after 11.30 pm. Walk softly and don't bang doors in the morning - you can hear everything in this house.

The hot water shower is very hard to regulate - so be very careful. It is either cold, or extremely hot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuoCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This might be the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in ! If I were to live in China I would search for a house looking like the Zen garden Lion Mountain Yard. It is a beautifully restored ancient building with lovely antique furniture and charming little courtyards and fishponds. It rises above the noisy center of Lijiang and it feels like an oasis of calm. We felt so great in this hotel with its very friendly staff that we stayed in the hotel much of the time just to relax in the courtyard drinking tea with their great sunflower cookies. Our room had a good bath and shower with pressure !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilin, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lijiang is a colorful lively tourist centre but after the first half day the tackiness and above all strident and overamplified music in every restaurant drove us mad! To retreat to the peace of the Zen Garden was bliss! The tasteful natural simplicity of the place was a refreshing contrast to commercial hotels yet we had all we needed plus extra surprises like fresh oranges rice cakes and unlimited tea at 5pm, and zither playing over breakfast. The staff were so very gentle, attentive and friendly. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Zen Garden (Lion Mountain Yard) is one of the most beautiful hotels we've ever stayed in. Staff carry your cases up the many stone steps to the hotel, which is on Lion Hill overlooking the rebuilt Old Town of Lijiang.

Rooms and guest areas are in exquisite taste with traditional Chinese furnishings, the staff - mostly local Naxi women - are welcoming and charming. There are courtyards with flowers and fish ponds.

In our room there was a heater - necessary in February - covered with small rugs. It was only when the rugs began to smoke that we realized the heater had a hotplate on top too !

The hot water in our room was only lukewarm when we arrived, and remained that way until we complained. Then someone was summoned and in a couple of hours we had proper hot water. We were the only occupants during our stay and the suspicion remains that they hadn't bothered to turn the thermostat up before we arrived.

So why only three stars ? There are pleasant verandahs outside the rooms. But it's impossible to enjoy them in the evening because of thumping disco music booming up from the Old Town below. It's not until the disco music stops at about twenty to midnight that there's any peace, even inside the rooms.

Not the fault of the Zen Garden of course. But a misery, unless you're really into thumping, booming, Chinese rave music.

What a pity.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBM056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
Lijiang Woo Bay Hotel
#16 of 927 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gucheng District
Lijiang Spiritual Utopia Hotel
Huifeng Inn Shuhe
#20 of 927 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard)

Property: Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard)
Address: No.37 Shuangshi Section, Xinhua Street, Old City, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lijiang
#15 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard) 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zengardenhotel Lion Hill Yard is very well situated in the center of the Old Town of Lijiang, next to the main entrance of the Weng Chan temple, with an unrivaled, riveting panoramic view over the roofs of the Old Town Dayan. The Zengardenhotel Lion Hill Yard is a private owned Boutique Hotel with in total 16 rooms on two levels. We provide 12 x Deluxe Standard Rooms, 2 x Chinese Antique Suites on the top with excellent views and 2 x Special Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Zen Garden Hotel (Lion Mountain Yard) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zen Garden Lijiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing