We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breath of fresh air”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Ranked #4 of 923 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a wonderful place and truly a breath of fresh air in China, both literally (blue sky and crisp mountain air in Lijiang) and figuratively as the service, design, and comfort were out of the ordinary here. The whole complex is beautifully designed and the chalets (2 floors each) look pretty and in tune with the rest of the ancient town. The ancient town which the whole complex is right on the edge of, by the way, which is a huge advantage. Just walk out of the back gate and you're there. I would personally say that the walk to the central square is a bit faster than generally suggested here, perhaps 10 minutes maximum, but that depends on the person of course. Besides, the quieter parts of the ancient town are closer and perhaps nicer as well.

The service is excellent and staff are helpful and try to speak English where possible. Drinks at the bar and the food might come as a surprise in terms of how expensive it is, but this is Lijiang for you.

Overall this place comes highly recommended, especially as the price is not that crazy.

Room Tip: Try to go for a deluxe room, and if you have the choice: room 2124. This room is on the edge of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Querijn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPLijiang A, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Lijaing Ancient Town and sharing your very exciting experiences on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you were impressed by hotel environment, service and design. It’s our pleasure to make your stay more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering the fantastic stay to our guests. Wish you have a nice day.

Yours sincerely,
Lydia Liu
Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    154
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
117
188
34
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Beautiful hotel located just on the border of the old town. I had a suite which was located next to the main building and it was simply magnificent. The room was huge with all the amenities you would want. Service throughout the hotel is excellent especially the front desk staff. Everyone is attentive to your needs and they strive to make you happy. My only issues is the western/thai restaurant which I really did not enjoy. Pizza made with dough that obviously came from the supermarket. The breakfast is excellent but the dishes they give you to serve yourself with are so tiny you can hardly put anything on them. For such an amazing hotel this should not be acceptable, but given the choices you have of restaurants in the old town it's not a major problem. All that being said, this is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPLijiang A, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your stay at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town and taking time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to learn that our great location, friendly staff and warm service have helped make your stay more enjoyable. We will share your valuable feedback with our Food & Beverage department, and definitely make improvements.

Once again, thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lydia Liu
Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is outstanding in all aspects and a pleasant change from the often surly and uninterested approach of many of the so called better hotels in China. Snow mountain provides a spectacular backdrop to an already great location. The Old Town backs on to the hotel and is a great place to wander; have a meal and a few drinks. The hotel is beautifully designed with traditional architecture and the rooms are superb; well appointed, cosy with a very traditional feel. We felt very welcome here, from our check in, the breakfast and bar staff and housekeeping, all made us feel very special. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and professional staff. This was true hospitality and we felt we were guests in a local house.
The spa is absolutely superb, the massage was brilliant; professional and very relaxing, one of the best after a long day in the Old Town. Lives up to its five stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPBConnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPLijiang A, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your stay at Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town and enjoyed the wonderful time with us. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel location, traditional architecture design and warm service. And we would like to recommend the Thai food and Yunnan signature delicious of hotel restaurant to you. Welcome you back to stay with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lydia Liu
Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Best Crowne Plaza hotel I have stayed in. The design and setting are fabulous and it is located very close to the ancient city of Lijiang.

The rooms are luxurious bungalow style in an immaculate garden style setting. I went on a business trip but this is certainly a hotel I would take my wife to on vacation.

My entire trip was organised by my hosts so I cannot comment with certainty on the booking, checkin and checkout procedure. However the staff I engaged with were very friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Make sure you allow at least two free days to visit Snow Mountain and the Ancient City of Lijiang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPLijiang A, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town for your recent stay and we are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back, and it is also our pleasure to have your families to stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
Lydia Liu
Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed at the CP after our visit to Diqing. This CP was just outside the Lijiang Old Town, and you could easily go into the old town through the back door or the door near our alley (I call it 5th Street because all rooms are Room 5xxx), You could call the concierge to book a ride, but the better idea would be walking and enjoying the awesome architectures and gardens.

I loved my room at the first sight. It was comfy, spacious, and stylish. There was a beautiful garden behind, and at this season, flowers were all in full blossom. We learned that it was rain season from June to September, so the umbrellas in your room could be useful.

Breakfast was great and had a lot of choice. If you are an IHG member, get the drink coupons and enjoy your drink at the lobby bar. If it is sunny you might see the magnificent Yulong Snow Mountain.

P.S. I took a visit to the Indigo (RMB400 more expensive a night) next door. It was smaller, more intimate, and more colorful. But smaller hotel means smaller garden. I would choose the CP without doubt. BTW, this Crowne Plaza will soon be "upgraded" into an InterContinental, and I guess the price would be much higher by then.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPLijiang A, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town, thank you for taking your time to post such nice comments on TripAdvisor.

We enjoy reading your review, and are glad that we could contribute to make your trip to our hotel a memorable journey. Meanwhile, I'd like to invite you explore the neighbourhood story of Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town and enjoy the colorful culture in Lijiang again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Lydia Liu

Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Absolutely wonderful, everything is above the expectations. Rooms, environment, situation in the LI JIANG old city, cleanliness, and employees everything is excellent. Breakfast perfect but restaurants just OK.
We also appreciated the terraces in front of the jade mountain.
The beautiful garden is open on the old city and easily you can enjoy your walk in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GABRIEL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPLijiang A, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town during your recent visit to Lijiang and sharing your precious comment with us.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the time at our hotel. I also want to take this opportunity to let you know that we will improve our restaurant.We look forward to your next stay with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Lydia Liu
Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was in this hotel for 10 days for a business training; the hotel is so BEAUTIFUL!!! Staffs are very nice and super friendly, the hotel is such a hidden gem; unlike the typical hotels of this chain, it runs at a very "low profile" style, it connects right next to the old town, but if you don't pay attention you will totally miss it. The hotel has like maybe 20 small buildings, each no taller than 2 floors, in between they build pools, running water like a creek, bridges, is like a mini-Lijiang. all the architech designed is fully harmonized with the old ancient town. It is not the typical gold, shiny, gem-deco kinda Chinese style..I felt in love with this hotel so I ended up extend my stay just to enjoy the harmony. the restaurant/cafe offers international food, and the terrace is probably the best terrace in the world, you can really enjoy a cup of nice coffee and have the full view of Jade Dragon Mtn right in front of you and with the sunlight changing during the day you will be able to see different faces of the moutain..enough have been said, pls go and stay there :-) The price is also super good for value, of course is cheap like a motel, but really really worthy.

Room Tip: I have my room in building 13 next to a small "lake" on 1st floor (European way, so maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minkbear F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPLijiang A, Director of Marketing and Communications at InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Welcome to Lijiang and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Lijiang Ancient Town during your recent visit. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your wonderful time with us. We will certainly share your comments with our colleagues. The hotel is located within Lijiang Dayan Ancient Town and only 20 minutes walk distance to the market square. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Lydia Liu
Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
3.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 923 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 923 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 923 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pullman Lijiang Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
0.5 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort

Property: InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Address: No.276 Xianghe Road, Old Town District, Lijiang 674100, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 923 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a sprawling 51,000 square meters of lush greenery, InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort is strategically located in World Cultural Heritage-listed Lijiang, Yunnan Province. It is the only international five star village resort hotel in Lijiang Ancient Town World Cultural Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing